No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Victoria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bridge Street , Bradford, BD1 1JX
The Great Victoria Hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of Bradford's main attractions. The hotel offers complimentary car park and Wi-Fi to all guests.

Room information each of the 70 bedrooms is super stylish and individually designed with loads of original features. Each room comes complete with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a 2-line phone, great art, bespoke toiletries, and the best beds. Please see individual room details for a complete list of facilities on offer.

Travel information By train:
- The hotel is directly opposite the Bradford Interchange train station.

By car:
- Leave the M62 at junction 26.
- Head onto the M606.
- Follows signs for Bradford city centre.
Picture of Great Victoria Hotel, Bradford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful hotel
This is the former railway hotel in Bradford in the very centre of the city, and is a magnificent Victorian building with wide corridors and high ceilings - so an experience in itself. Staff very welcoming, room comfortable and excellent breakfast. Easy (free) parking just a short distance from the front door.

Reviewed by
Oliver S

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Bradford

Reviewed by
Debbie L

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful hotel
A beautiful old building that has been refurbished to retain its elegance. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Highly recommended and good value.

Reviewed by
Margaret H

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved this hotel. After booking the room we rang direct to reserve a specific themed room. Email confirmation was sent after we requested it. Upon arrival, we were given a different room to the one we had booked but once the email was produced, we were swiftly and efficiently transferred to the specific room we had requested. The hotel is beautiful and the room was lovely. Only negative things were for a premier room, the toilet paper was extremely poor quality and tea and coffee were quite frugal quantities. Also, the bar was not permanently attended by staff on a Saturday late afternoon/ in to the evening, which I would have expected it to be. Having to wait for the bar man to return was not great.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Great Victoria and would ok again if we were in the area.

Reviewed by
H Downes

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bradford
Very comfortable stay. Excellent food. Shame the breakfast isnt made to order anymore, but the buffet was nice. Where was the black pudding?

Reviewed by
Kaye H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised,
We stayed at the Great Victoria on a Friday night, as we had booked to see a show at the Alhambra.
The general appearance of the hotel was very stylish and in keeping with the period of the building, our room was on the first floor and was extremely spacious with all the facilities we required, with a very large and comfortable bathroom, the bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was informal in a lovely period dining room with plenty of options both hot and cold which were of a superior quality to the average hotel fare.
I will definitely be returning at some point, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends

Reviewed by
Gavin W

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
This was the third time we visited The Great Victoria.
Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff especially Armai on reception. Will definitely be coming back.

Reviewed by
s woodhouse

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nostalgic!
The Great Victoria Hotel has not changed much over the years, we enjoyed a comfortable stay, but were not impressed by the breakfast choice and quality, when we need to stay again we would not eat breakfast here!

Reviewed by
K Holroyd

From Burton Fleming, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great old style hotel
We were impressed at the appearance and oppulance of the building especially for the amount we paid. The reception staff were helpful and cheerful and the room was very spacious. The room was what i would call clean but my wife was not all that impressed. The one thing that let it down was the attention to detail in the dining room at breakfast. We waited for someone to come to greet us although the room was not crowded. There was only 1 table set up and that was set for 6 which we were given. People who came in later had to take the spare cutlery from our table and set their own table. We went for fruit juice and had to ask for glasses. When we went for the cooked breakfast we had to ask for the food to be replenished as nearly all of the dishes were empty. We were disappointed that the tea/coffee was from flasks and we were not offered freshly made drinks and along with this we were not offered toast. The low mark for quality of food / customer service is a reflection of our experience at breakfast. I would however stay here again.

Reviewed by
T U

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury Room????? You would get a cleaner, nicer room at Etap
Shortly after arriving at the hotel, we went up to our room (supposedly a superior top floor room) the first impressions were good, the room looked nice. But upon looking around and being in the room for 5 mins we noticed a very peculiar stain on the room and beams, to be honest it looked like dried blood among other stains also. Then we get to the bathroom, again it looked nice, then I caught my toe on the floor, I looked down to see the tiles were cracked from one side of the room. Right to the other side. The seal on the shower was dirty, tatty and falling off. Other than this there were marks on the pillows, a bed side table which was about as stable as trying to walk on water.
We went down to complain about these issues as well as the fact that the bed was not kingsize as advertised but a small double, to which the reception was aware of and question the information from their own website. We then decided we would like a refund, at which point the manager decided he would, but not directly, which meant we had no where to stay and no money to book another room elsewhere, which meant we headed home and ended our romantic getaway before it even began. He offered to ring the police if I wanted the refund any other way and was generally quite rude and UN caring. He repeatedly lied and when he was caught out he would just go silent and look away.
Overall this is by fat the worst hotel experience I have ever had and we will be notifying the due governing body regarding the breach in the sale of goods act with our findings.
Do not stay here.......do not stay here..............do not stay here......

Reviewed by
P Copley

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next