Reviews - Great Victoria Hotel

3

Bridge Street, Bradford, BD1 1JX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kaye H

  • June 2014

bradford

Very comfortable stay.

Excellent food. Shame the breakfast isnt made to order anymore, but the buffet was nice. Where was the black pudding.

  • Gavin W

  • June 2014

pleasantly surprised,

We stayed at the Great Victoria on a Friday night, as we had booked to see a show at the Alhambra.

The general appearance of the hotel was very stylish and in keeping with the period of the building, our room was on the first floor and was extremely spacious with all the facilities we required, with a very large and comfortable bathroom, the bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was informal in a lovely period dining room with plenty of options both hot and cold which were of a superior quality to the average hotel fare. I will definitely be returning at some point, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends

  • s woodhouse

  • May 2014

weekend break

This was the third time we visited The Great Victoria.

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff especially Armai on reception. Will definitely be coming back.

  • T U

  • May 2014

Great old style hotel

We were impressed at the appearance and oppulance of the building especially for the amount we paid.

The reception staff were helpful and cheerful and the room was very spacious. The room was what i would call clean but my wife was not all that impressed. The one thing that let it down was the attention to detail in the dining room at breakfast. We waited for someone to come to greet us although the room was not crowded. There was only 1 table set up and that was set for 6 which we were given. People who came in later had to take the spare cutlery from our table and set their own table. We went for fruit juice and had to ask for glasses. When we went for the cooked breakfast we had to ask for the food to be replenished as nearly all of the dishes were empty. We were disappointed that the tea/coffee was from flasks and we were not offered freshly made drinks and along with this we were not offered toast. The low mark for quality of food / customer service is a reflection of our experience at breakfast. I would however stay here again.

  • P Copley

  • April 2014

Luxury Room????? You would get a cleaner, nicer room at Etap

Shortly after arriving at the hotel, we went up to our room (supposedly a superior top floor room) the first impressions were good, the room looked nice.

But upon looking around and being in the room for 5 mins we noticed a very peculiar stain on the room and beams, to be honest it looked like dried blood among other stains also. Then we get to the bathroom, again it looked nice, then I caught my toe on the floor, I looked down to see the tiles were cracked from one side of the room. Right to the other side. The seal on the shower was dirty, tatty and falling off. Other than this there were marks on the pillows, a bed side table which was about as stable as trying to walk on water. We went down to complain about these issues as well as the fact that the bed was not kingsize as advertised but a small double, to which the reception was aware of and question the information from their own website. We then decided we would like a refund, at which point the manager decided he would, but not directly, which meant we had no where to stay and no money to book another room elsewhere, which meant we headed home and ended our romantic getaway before it even began. He offered to ring the police if I wanted the refund any other way and was generally quite rude and UN caring. He repeatedly lied and when he was caught out he would just go silent and look away. Overall this is by fat the worst hotel experience I have ever had and we will be notifying the due governing body regarding the breach in the sale of goods act with our findings. Do not stay here.......do not stay here..............do not stay here......

  • Lee O

  • April 2014

Wolf in sheep' clothing

The outside of this hotel requires upkeep.

Inside the hotel, at first look, it is relatively grand. Look closer though and your seemingly grand room suddenly transforms into a rather shabbier affair. The quality of fixtures and fittings is questionable and the paintwork rough. In short it was the hotel equivalent of a gig blagger/ligger that gets front row seats for free.

  • Keith Nixon

  • April 2014

One of our favourites

We had our wedding reception at Great Victoria 4 year ago and were really impressed by the staff and the service we received.

The hotel itself is beautiful. We especially like how each room has been designed differently in a boutique hotel fashion with very wide corridors giving a homely feel with lovely furniture placed throughout. The bathroom was very large with a free standing bath and large diameter shower head. Breakfast was very nice. We have been back twice since getting married even though we live 6 miles down the road and have never been disappointed.

  • D Birch

  • March 2014

My favourite hotel in England.

Beautifully designed. Elegance and luxury at affordable prices. Lovely rooms. Good service. A reason to go to Bradford if you needed one.

  • A STUBLEY

  • March 2014

Excellent Food, slow service!

Given the wrong room key on arrrival, had to go back to reception for the correct one.

Radiator not working on first night, but working second night?. Bathroom window did not close, could see daylight leaving a draught. Telephone not working, reported twice, not corrected. Slow room service, milk missing from tray, had to go and get it ourselves as no one to assist. Excellent bar food and restaurant. Seems to be no sense of urgency. No uniforms either, not professional. On check out we had been charged for breakfast that we didn't have. Receptionist struggling as new, did not receive help as senior staff were having a meeting.

  • Lorraine C

  • March 2014

Pleasant surprise

I hadn't stayed at this hotel before, but I would certainly return.

The room was okay (a little bland - too much white), however the staff were extremely polite and courteous, which really made it for me. I enjoyed the food in the bar, but didn't try out the restaurant.