No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Victoria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bridge Street , Bradford, BD1 1JX
The Great Victoria Hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of Bradford's main attractions. The hotel offers complimentary car park and Wi-Fi to all guests.

Room information each of the 70 bedrooms is super stylish and individually designed with loads of original features. Each room comes complete with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a 2-line phone, great art, bespoke toiletries, and the best beds. Please see individual room details for a complete list of facilities on offer.

Travel information By train:
- The hotel is directly opposite the Bradford Interchange train station.

By car:
- Leave the M62 at junction 26.
- Head onto the M606.
- Follows signs for Bradford city centre.
Picture of Great Victoria Hotel, Bradford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise
I hadn't stayed at this hotel before, but I would certainly return. The room was okay (a little bland - too much white), however the staff were extremely polite and courteous, which really made it for me. I enjoyed the food in the bar, but didn't try out the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, great hotel, great food but very noisy at night
Really pleased with the hotel after only paying £55 bb booking 2 nights before my stay. Hotel is a beautiful, victorian hotel. Modernised sympathetically so is elegant but clean and luxurious. Stayed for dinner which was also lovely though the restaurant was very quiet, probably to be expected on a Thursday. My only complaint was that the room,whilst extremely lovely (four poster, free standing bath in the room) was very light during the night as it overlooks a bus station and there were no black out blinds. Also, it was noisy. The noise from outside coupled with the wind howling down the chimney (the weather obviously not their fault) meant I hardly slept. That said, still enjoyed my stay and will stay again. I'll maybe ask for a room the other side of the hotel!

Reviewed by
Joanne B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay
Booked the night before I travelled. Don't normally stay in Bradford but would definately use this hotel again. Room was a bit sparsely decorated but had everything you needed. Great central location. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Kathleen M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely old hotel
A lovely old hotel and parking is a huge bonus. The room was large (room 107) and nice and clean. The bathroom however was a bit tired with cracked tiles and some mould building on the sealant around the bath. Also there was a gap between the shower screen and bath rim which caused a bit of a flood. Venetian blind also needs changing as it is broken. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ruth Price

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredible value for money
Beautiful room with free-standing bath and 4 poster bed - totally exceeded my expectations for the price

Reviewed by
A Ford

From Bungay, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
No phone to contact reception, apart from this everything was just grand. close to all you would need and opp the metro station for public transport users. Free parking which is perfect, take a front room (opp the courts) better view and very quiet no pubs restaurants etc. The breakfast is fantastic and the room was clean, room service were lovely and the communal areas were lovely too. Very impressive building absolutely worth a stay

Reviewed by
MICHELLE C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

faboulous
the room was the highlight of our stay this time it was elegent and well appointed. The food at the Christmas dinner was dissapointing as some of it was cold by the time it arrived on the table but on the whole my stay was excellent and we will be returning again in the near future

Reviewed by
jayne b

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bradford on a windy night
My experience was awful. The night I stayed was the night of a storm. The window of my room was not strong enough to withstand the wind and blew open in the early hours of the morning. I attempted to shut it, but it wouldn't close properly and just kept banging open. As well as the noise and general disturbance, it filled the room with freezing cold air. I called down to reception three times, but there was no answer. This all started at about 3am and I had to get up at 6am so, in the end, after about 90 minutes of trying to solve the problem myself and then trying to get through to reception, I barricaded myself in the bathroom and got about 20 minutes more sleep on the bathroom floor. In the morning, I went down to reception to tell them about all this - the lady on reception was very polite and, after conferring with the general manager, offered me £9 off my bill. I explained that I wasn't going to pay for it at all so she went to confer with the general manager again - he sent out another lady to talk to me. At no point did he deem it necessary to come out and talk to me himself - whilst I was talking to the second lady, I saw him scuttle out of the office and down the corridor. I think this is fairly cowardly. I am still waiting for money to be returned to my card for this stay.
As well as the above issue, I had also emailed the hotel in advance of my stay to request that I pre-pay for the room with the company card I had secured the booking with. I received an email saying this was fine. On arrival, however, they couldn't find any note of this and so I ended up having to pay with my own card - as mentioned, I am still waiting for this money to be refunded. The food available on room service is also ridiculously overpriced.

Reviewed by
Alice B

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury but noisy
My room faced over the bus terminal, and although very comforatble was extremely noisy. The blackout blinds didn't stop the light.

Reviewed by
s walker

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Victoria
This is a very convenient place to stay in central Bradford - right by the interchange and it also has free parking. Has free Wi-Fi. We stayed on the 4th floor where the rooms are apparently are better - but there is no lift up to the 4th floor. Customer service good and food also good. Definitely would recommend and would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Holland

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next