Reviews - Great Victoria Hotel


Bridge Street, Bradford, BD1 1JX

Price From 104.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (45)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Margaret H

  • August 2014

A wonderful hotel

A beautiful old building that has been refurbished to retain its elegance.

Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Highly recommended and good value.

  • K Holroyd

  • July 2014


The Great Victoria Hotel has not changed much over the years, we enjoyed a comfortable stay, but were not impressed by the breakfast choice and quality, when we need to stay again we would not eat breakfast here!

  • H Downes

  • June 2014

We loved this hotel.

After booking the room we rang direct to reserve a specific themed room. Email confirmation was sent after we requested it. Upon arrival, we were given a different room to the one we had booked but once the email was produced, we were swiftly and efficiently transferred to the specific room we had requested. The hotel is beautiful and the room was lovely. Only negative things were for a premier room, the toilet paper was extremely poor quality and tea and coffee were quite frugal quantities. Also, the bar was not permanently attended by staff on a Saturday late afternoon/ in to the evening, which I would have expected it to be. Having to wait for the bar man to return was not great. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Great Victoria and would ok again if we were in the area.

  • Kaye H

  • June 2014


Very comfortable stay.

Excellent food. Shame the breakfast isnt made to order anymore, but the buffet was nice. Where was the black pudding.

  • Gavin W

  • June 2014

pleasantly surprised,

We stayed at the Great Victoria on a Friday night, as we had booked to see a show at the Alhambra.

The general appearance of the hotel was very stylish and in keeping with the period of the building, our room was on the first floor and was extremely spacious with all the facilities we required, with a very large and comfortable bathroom, the bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was informal in a lovely period dining room with plenty of options both hot and cold which were of a superior quality to the average hotel fare. I will definitely be returning at some point, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends

  • s woodhouse

  • May 2014

weekend break

This was the third time we visited The Great Victoria.

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff especially Armai on reception. Will definitely be coming back.

  • T U

  • May 2014

Great old style hotel

We were impressed at the appearance and oppulance of the building especially for the amount we paid.

The reception staff were helpful and cheerful and the room was very spacious. The room was what i would call clean but my wife was not all that impressed. The one thing that let it down was the attention to detail in the dining room at breakfast. We waited for someone to come to greet us although the room was not crowded. There was only 1 table set up and that was set for 6 which we were given. People who came in later had to take the spare cutlery from our table and set their own table. We went for fruit juice and had to ask for glasses. When we went for the cooked breakfast we had to ask for the food to be replenished as nearly all of the dishes were empty. We were disappointed that the tea/coffee was from flasks and we were not offered freshly made drinks and along with this we were not offered toast. The low mark for quality of food / customer service is a reflection of our experience at breakfast. I would however stay here again.

  • P Copley

  • April 2014

Luxury Room????? You would get a cleaner, nicer room at Etap

Shortly after arriving at the hotel, we went up to our room (supposedly a superior top floor room) the first impressions were good, the room looked nice.

But upon looking around and being in the room for 5 mins we noticed a very peculiar stain on the room and beams, to be honest it looked like dried blood among other stains also. Then we get to the bathroom, again it looked nice, then I caught my toe on the floor, I looked down to see the tiles were cracked from one side of the room. Right to the other side. The seal on the shower was dirty, tatty and falling off. Other than this there were marks on the pillows, a bed side table which was about as stable as trying to walk on water. We went down to complain about these issues as well as the fact that the bed was not kingsize as advertised but a small double, to which the reception was aware of and question the information from their own website. We then decided we would like a refund, at which point the manager decided he would, but not directly, which meant we had no where to stay and no money to book another room elsewhere, which meant we headed home and ended our romantic getaway before it even began. He offered to ring the police if I wanted the refund any other way and was generally quite rude and UN caring. He repeatedly lied and when he was caught out he would just go silent and look away. Overall this is by fat the worst hotel experience I have ever had and we will be notifying the due governing body regarding the breach in the sale of goods act with our findings. Do not stay not stay not stay here......

  • Lee O

  • April 2014

Wolf in sheep' clothing

The outside of this hotel requires upkeep.

Inside the hotel, at first look, it is relatively grand. Look closer though and your seemingly grand room suddenly transforms into a rather shabbier affair. The quality of fixtures and fittings is questionable and the paintwork rough. In short it was the hotel equivalent of a gig blagger/ligger that gets front row seats for free.

  • Keith Nixon

  • April 2014

One of our favourites

We had our wedding reception at Great Victoria 4 year ago and were really impressed by the staff and the service we received.

The hotel itself is beautiful. We especially like how each room has been designed differently in a boutique hotel fashion with very wide corridors giving a homely feel with lovely furniture placed throughout. The bathroom was very large with a free standing bath and large diameter shower head. Breakfast was very nice. We have been back twice since getting married even though we live 6 miles down the road and have never been disappointed.