No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Victoria Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bridge Street , Bradford, BD1 1JX
The Great Victoria Hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of Bradford's main attractions. The hotel offers complimentary car park and Wi-Fi to all guests.

Room information each of the 70 bedrooms is super stylish and individually designed with loads of original features. Each room comes complete with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a 2-line phone, great art, bespoke toiletries, and the best beds. Please see individual room details for a complete list of facilities on offer.

Travel information By train:
- The hotel is directly opposite the Bradford Interchange train station.

By car:
- Leave the M62 at junction 26.
- Head onto the M606.
- Follows signs for Bradford city centre.
Picture of Great Victoria Hotel, Bradford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bradford on a windy night
My experience was awful. The night I stayed was the night of a storm. The window of my room was not strong enough to withstand the wind and blew open in the early hours of the morning. I attempted to shut it, but it wouldn't close properly and just kept banging open. As well as the noise and general disturbance, it filled the room with freezing cold air. I called down to reception three times, but there was no answer. This all started at about 3am and I had to get up at 6am so, in the end, after about 90 minutes of trying to solve the problem myself and then trying to get through to reception, I barricaded myself in the bathroom and got about 20 minutes more sleep on the bathroom floor. In the morning, I went down to reception to tell them about all this - the lady on reception was very polite and, after conferring with the general manager, offered me £9 off my bill. I explained that I wasn't going to pay for it at all so she went to confer with the general manager again - he sent out another lady to talk to me. At no point did he deem it necessary to come out and talk to me himself - whilst I was talking to the second lady, I saw him scuttle out of the office and down the corridor. I think this is fairly cowardly. I am still waiting for money to be returned to my card for this stay.
As well as the above issue, I had also emailed the hotel in advance of my stay to request that I pre-pay for the room with the company card I had secured the booking with. I received an email saying this was fine. On arrival, however, they couldn't find any note of this and so I ended up having to pay with my own card - as mentioned, I am still waiting for this money to be refunded. The food available on room service is also ridiculously overpriced.

Reviewed by
Alice B

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury but noisy
My room faced over the bus terminal, and although very comforatble was extremely noisy. The blackout blinds didn't stop the light.

Reviewed by
s walker

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Victoria
This is a very convenient place to stay in central Bradford - right by the interchange and it also has free parking. Has free Wi-Fi. We stayed on the 4th floor where the rooms are apparently are better - but there is no lift up to the 4th floor. Customer service good and food also good. Definitely would recommend and would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Holland

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Victoria, nice old building
Great start to our stay, plenty of free parking, fantastic old building, great entrance hall and a warm reception from a pleasant receptionist . Room was a little disappointing from such a grand old hotel but was clean, warm and functional, nice breakfast and for what we paid very good value for money, if we were ever to visit Bradford again would be first on the list

Reviewed by
Nicola E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
The Victoria Hotel was an altogether excellent experience, The room a mini suite with a lounge area alongside the bedroom. Décor in the lounge area wanted some attention but was not to bad.
Bedroom and bathroom both very good décor and condition. Hotel public rooms and attention of staff were all well up to standard.

Reviewed by
Donald Cross

From Chathill, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The hotel although very old was very interesting recording Bradford as an old woollen town with beautiful pictures in the reception area and around the hotel. The rooms had been refurbished still retaining the old world character windows etc. a very nice weekend all staff very helpful in spite of how busy they were dealing with functions. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Evelyn Hirst

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise
To be honest, didn't expect much from a Bradford city centre hotel especially one that looks like a tired old jewel. The public areas are however very good, and the rooms have all been tastefully renovated. A little small, but exceptional value for money especially if only staying one night or so whilst catching up with friends or colleagues.

Reviewed by
Marc Auty

From Goole, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
great hotel, very clean room, centrally located with free parking. Perfect for a weekend break to Bradford

Reviewed by
b cookson

From bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My favourite hotel in England. Beautifully designed. Elegance and luxury at affordable prices. Lovely rooms. Good service. A reason to go to Bradford if you needed one.

Reviewed by
D Birch

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place shame about the breakfast.
Good accommodation and position to city, rooms were spacious and clean with very comfortable bed,had slightly blocked sink ,reported when left, receptionist didn't make a note so probably wasn't fixed. No directory in room ,not sure if they do room service or any other service. Had breakfast about 8.15 ,full Yorkshire, apparently chef cooked it, no way, it tasted and looked dry with inedible tinned mushrooms which tasted stale and felt dodgy to eat, no chef would have been proud of that, weak coffee from an urn ,fresh fruit juice was cordial. Lovely Victorian station hotel just go out for food.

Reviewed by
K Canham

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next