No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlton Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
82-86 Osborne Road , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2AP
The Carlton Hotel is a budget 2 star hotel ideal for those travelling to the lively scene of Newcastle upon Tyne. The continental breakfast includes Tea/Coffee, toast, fruit, cereals, croissants, fruit juice, and jam & preserves making it ideal for those on the go. The Carlton offers limited, secured parking for guests in one of the safest areas in Newcastle. Situated in the heart of the select area of Jesmond, the lively Hotel Bar produces a wide range of food for both Hotel guests and the public; combined with the excellent metro and bus links to the city centre, the Carlton Hotel is the ideal base to explore Newcastle from. On site parking is available for guests, however is subject to availability.
Picture of Carlton Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for those wanting to go out for the night as it's situated above a night club. Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
J Hardie

From Bishop auckland , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

if you want good value the Carlton is hard to beat
Great location for us as my daughter lives off Osborne Rd.
We were up for our daughters graduation and needed somewhere for 2 nights.
The reception area is nothing special although there was always someone there.
The stairs and corridors are a bit tired, however our double room was very spacious as was the bathroom and very clean, with clean white towels provided.
The room had tea coffee and biscuits.
TV and WIFI. Parking at the rear for about a dozen cars.
The staff were very friendly.
Breakfast included, although it was continental, but ham and cheese available as well as the usual.
I was a touch worried about staying in 2* but this was supprisingly decent. The savings meant 2 nights in the the top restaurants. Highly recomended if you are looking for a handy base and somewhere to sleep.

Reviewed by
A Pugh

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ott on reception
The guy on reception gives you the hard line that isn't needed, it's not a 18-30s trip

Reviewed by
J Robson

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Budget hotel
Does what is says on the tin good clean budget hotel perfect for getting your head down if your out on the town in Newcastle friendly and lively not a place for anybody seeking a quiet holiday. Staff friendly rooms basic and clean and continental breakfast although not much choice was nice and filling. All told a great hotel for the money. And remember if your looking for 5* you have to pay for 5*

Reviewed by
Allan L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyment stay
We loved our stay, location was close to bus services and metro station.
Wall s were thin which we heard everything and floorboards but very satisfied with room . Only concern I have was they told us we were to be out for 11 am but my e mail stated 12pm .

Reviewed by
D Raybold

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
I got there there about 630 and found the customer service excellent when i got there..very welcoming and willing to help.....when i got the room it was actually a double which was a pleasant surprise.
The continental breakfast was plenty before a good days work.
Will go back there again !!!!!

Reviewed by
John O'Hara

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whilst my room was ok, it was let down by the smell of the bins - my room (400) was at the back of the hotel and there were bins outside in the carpark beneath..... being a hot weekend I wanted my window open, but I couldnt because the smell of the bins crept in and made the room smell like sewage.

Reviewed by
Kelly G

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and a clean place, I enjoyed it

Reviewed by
Ehab A

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and basic but friendly - beware, is a busy bar too so don't expect a quiet stay!
The front of the hotel looked great - much of it appears to be run as a bar/club and looks updated. Our room however, was straight out of the 80s! Stained carpets and headboards and a bathroom that needed a seriously good scrub. We had purposefully asked for a ground for room as my mum isn't good on stairs, but were disappointed to discover that our room was next to the gents toilets for the bar! Constant shouting and door banging until gone midnight! Would have been really angry is I had my kids with me. Staff were very friendly & helpful & continental breakfast was lovely, but this is not a family friendly hotel. Go if you fancy a good drink!! :)

Reviewed by
ALISON C

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The team there are great, I arrived early for check in and they accomodated me with no issue - putting me in a 3 bedded room compared to my paid single. Food was grand and facilities good. Location great. Cannot complain and will stay again! Thanks

Reviewed by
Ross M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next