No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlton Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
82-86 Osborne Road , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2AP
The Carlton Hotel is a budget 2 star hotel ideal for those travelling to the lively scene of Newcastle upon Tyne. The continental breakfast includes Tea/Coffee, toast, fruit, cereals, croissants, fruit juice, and jam & preserves making it ideal for those on the go. The Carlton offers limited, secured parking for guests in one of the safest areas in Newcastle. Situated in the heart of the select area of Jesmond, the lively Hotel Bar produces a wide range of food for both Hotel guests and the public; combined with the excellent metro and bus links to the city centre, the Carlton Hotel is the ideal base to explore Newcastle from. On site parking is available for guests, however is subject to availability.
Picture of Carlton Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Business Trip
1) After a hard days graft installing machinery, arriving at the Carlton at 7pm resulted in a full rear car park. After asking Derek on the front desk if there was another local car park, two of the Hotel Staff moved their own cars to accommodate our vehicles!
2) Reception and welcome very good, payment easy and quick.
3) Upgraded to a (perfectly cooked) full English breakfast the next morning at their sister Hotel (just across the road) instead of the Carlton standard continental breakfast!
4) Cracking pint of Guinness in the Spy Bar, friendly Staff.
5) Room clean and tidy, clean sheets, hot water, nice biscuits.
Great alternative to your usual clone type Premier Inn rubbish. Well priced for the frugal business traveller. Highly Recommended.

Reviewed by
Neil Hoban

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Hotel
All in all this was an excellent hotel, we were made to feel very welcome and the room was lovely, the bed was first rate for comfort and I would definately stay here again!

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was just ok, nothing special, breakfast was below average.

Reviewed by
F Abdel-Aziz

From Eaglescliffe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and a decent hotel, only doing the Great North run the price was double than normal

Reviewed by
a hurley

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

k craven
I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was tidy and clean. The room was of good quality and the price was reasonable. Sorry but i can't comment on the food as i didn't have breakfast.

Reviewed by
Karen Craven

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carlton Hotel
This was our first experience of Newcastle and was basically an opportunity to catch up on our sleep after a 1000 mile round trip in a day, which made it difficult when the hotel was sitauted in abar district on a Friday night. We had booked two rooms. Our son had a room at the front of the hotel and on one of the hottest days of the year, was unable to open his window due to the noise from the bar. However he did manage to sleep and we can't complain as you pay for what you get. Parking was limited, so make sure you get there early and the breakfast was top quality. Would suit anyone visiting Newcastle for the nighlife or a weekend away but probably less so for families.

Reviewed by
Ian Smith

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
Good customer service but hotel generally unclean.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money!
Great value for money, room had all essentials that we needed and was a good size for two people. The service from staff was very friendly and informative. The only downside was the limited car parking space outside, so would recommend commuting by train/bus. The location was ideal, pubs on the same road to get your evening started and very close to town with a very reasonable taxi fair there and back.

Reviewed by
A Beesley

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As expected. would stay again
Decent value for money for an en-suite room. The parking was useful given the limited rd parking. Fridge in room was handy but made the room hot on a hot May Day. No cooked breakfast but decent Continental choice. Very Friendly/professional staff. Would definitely stay here again. Jesmond v nice area. Lots of students in the downstairs Bar which i can imagine is noisy at the weekend.

Reviewed by
N Calvert

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once only
Hotels tired, very noisy at night . drunks in corridor at 3.30am. Noisy neighbours 4.30 on wards. I simply got very little sleep. :(

Reviewed by
Tim McCarthy

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3