No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Little Hallingbury Mill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Old Mill Lane, Gaston Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7QT
Welcome to Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel and Restaurant situated on the Essex/Hertfordshire border close to Bishop’s Stortford and Sawbridgeworth. We are a small, independent family run hotel who take great pride in delivering friendly service, food and hospitality from the heart. Set alongside a pretty tributary of the River Stort, Little Hallingbury Mill is a grade II historic listed water mill providing a home to a hotel, restaurant and venue for small conferences, small weddings and parties.

When you reach the Mill you will find a venue set in a beautiful, tranquil location which feels miles away from it all. There is plenty to do during your stay. You can cycle along the Flitch Way, take a leisurely stroll along the River Stort towpath or just relax in our pretty garden or accommodation. We offer free Wifi, free parking for the duration of your stay and also welcome well behaved dogs in our garden.
Picture of Little Hallingbury Mill, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a jewel of a place
I really enjoyed my 'solo' retreat' to Little Hallingbury Mill. The proprietor was very hospitable. the food was lovely and the room comfortable

Reviewed by
karen o

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Miranda and Richard made us feel so welcome. Loved the quirky bathroom. Will definitely go back again. Food was good. Richard does a lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
L Hyde

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place of character
We had a very nice meal but the room was basic - no wardrobe, no chairs and the single bed mattress was on a base that felt like a rocking horse!

Reviewed by
Sue K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallingbury Mill
Great location Great value and truly excellent customer service
Thoroughly recommended

Reviewed by
A Thorne

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay away close to Stansted Airport
This is the second time i stayed here. The location is very relaxing, needs a car or taxi though to access. Room small but clean. Strange musty smell in the entrance of the accomm building which i'm sure they will sort out. A would have loved a chair squeezed in a corner, but maybe the bigger rooms have that. Nice hand cooked food and a pint in the pub/restaurant mill building.

Reviewed by
C FORRESTER

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
Just been taken over and you can see the difference. rooms are being upgraded and décor is lovely

Reviewed by
P Lang

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but a little tight,nice view from room.would definitely stay next time I am in the area.

Reviewed by
Modris Kesans

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location is beautiful and the owners are very friendly - they have only been there since February this year the room was a bit jaded but was big - bathroom quite tiny - The owners have plans to re furbish and I think it will be really stunning when done -

Reviewed by
e rudge

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking little hide out by the canal and close to stansted airport without toomuch aircraft noise.
Little Hallingbury Mill is a great find, whether its for access to the airport or just for a get away to access loads of historic towns and villages. The greeting was warm, friendly and welcoming, the owners are new comers to the Mill and have the job of upgrading the accommodation as it has got a little tired. The room was clean and the bed was just so comfortable with a mattress topper (some may not like the memory foam). There is aircraft noise but not too much to disturb sleep, unless your a very light sleeper! The surroundindings are wonderful in the countryside next to the canal and marina. There is also a day spa seperate from the Mill. The meal was good, withthe restaurant/bar loooking at the workings of the old mill, a pleasant atmosphere and surroundings. The price is good and reflects the tired accommodation, but watch this space as it will be a different story as refurbishments bring it up a notch. Thankyou for a lovely stay, a rest needed before heading back up the M4 to Wales.

Reviewed by
Stephen L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely unusual hotel
What a great find. This hotel is in a beautiful location next to the Marina and very handy for travelling to Stansted Airport for our flight the next morning. It is very individual and very cute. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, it felt like a real family run hotel. Our meal in the restaurant/bar was excellent, service good too. Our bedroom and bathroom did need some attention, but I believe that the bedrooms are being refurbished throughout this year. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you for your hospitality.

Reviewed by
Pamela L

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next