No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Little Hallingbury Mill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Old Mill Lane, Gaston Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7QT
Little Hallingbury Mill is a small independent hotel with licensed bar and restaurant located in a picturesque converted water mill in a tranquil setting near to the banks of the River Stort. With a location close to Stansted Airport, the M11 motorway and the main line railway from London Liverpool Street to Cambridge we are in easy reach for people looking to get away for a short break away from the capital or needing overnight accommodation near to the airport.

For guests who want to stay for a few days to explore the area there are masses of things to do and places to go. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome.
Picture of Little Hallingbury Mill, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short break
A real little gem with very friendly staff throughout.

Reviewed by
ANDREW HODGSON

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Peaceful Country Place with great food
The mill, is a lovely character property and a nice place to stay its right out in the countryside so nice views, etc on a river and very peaceful, staff/owners very friendly and welcoming, nice bar and excellent food, thier chef is great couldn't get enough of his food, the diet went on hold all weekend! Nice clean rooms, with everything you need, tv, free WiFi, etc! Other guests I chatted to were equally happy with the place and some had stayed there before! I will certainly visit again and highly recommend it!

Reviewed by
brett r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Little Hallingbury Mill
Staff were friendly and welcoming, dinner and breakfast were very good, and the service was excellent. If we were in the area again, we would defenitely return.

Reviewed by
M Greenwood

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful,unique get-away
tranquil setting,and unusual property.host very helpful and friendly. room we had was large in the Mill house,and was very comfortable. only complaint was the scampi was over done, but large portions, and the pate was lovely.

Reviewed by
karen lake

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here prior to an early Stansted flight!
Lovely looking property off the beaten track! Reception is in the bar / restaurant which is very cosy and welcoming. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room itself had a comfortable double bed and TV with Freeview. Also had tea and coffee making facilities. Toilet and shower was rather small but as I was just using it for a few hours sleep prior to a very early flight at Stansted, it was no problem. I would stay here again under the same circumstances.

Reviewed by
Laura B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Had a lovely stay, staff friendly, food was gorgeous and rooms where cosy, will defiantly go back

Reviewed by
Kevin Damps

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poorly signposted.
Not very clean.
Tea & Coffee facilities (Milk 2 months out of date)
Toilet & Bathroom to small for a shower, similar to a small caravan.
Not comfortable.

Reviewed by
T Starling

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting
Joiner & Painter two separate rooms, spot on for what we needed with a little more. Nice room, quaint setting, decent pint, food average. Close enough to where we were working although very secluded generally. Nearest pub about a mile walk. Not great for elderly or those that aren't too fit, lots of stairs & hill leading to main road very steep. I was fine, but hey you know painters lol

Reviewed by
mark c

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was basic but clean. Comfortable beds. Food was excellent and the staff was terrific.
The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. Lovely surroundings. The meals were excellent.
I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
R Simmons

From Mississauga, Canada
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis
A great base for those wanting a view of the countryside and clean air. Fantastic scenery and walks along the Stort. Great bar and food with attentive and friendly staff. If you are curious and want something quirky and different then try it!

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next