No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Crown WORCESTER ROAD, DROITWICH, WR9 7PF
The Crown occupies a convenient location just a minute from the M5 motorway, and offering good links to Birmingham, Worcester and Droitwich. The pub was rebuilt as a hotel in 1912 and offers 15 good sized rooms with the levels of comfort and service you would expect from a Marston’s Inn.

Our homely rooms and facilities make us a great choice for business or leisure guests who are visiting the Midlands and at the Crown we pride ourselves on our hospitality and attention to our guests’ comfort. Our fantastic pub menu offers a great choice of pub classics with a constantly changing selection of specials and with the all day offer of two main meals for the price of one.

Check-in from 2pm and check-out is 11am on departure. Extended rates are negotiable. Please note our last check -in is 11pm on the night of arrival.

Picture of The Crown by Marstons Inns, DROITWICH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent budget place to stay!
This is our third stay at The Crown and the value for money is exceptional. The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean although the bathrooms are in need of some "tender loving care". Sadly on this occasion when we entered Room 6 the smell of cigarette smoke was dreadful and a previous guest had wrapped a plastic bag around the smoke detector! We informed a member of staff, who apologised and explained that the previous guest had been in the room for 3 days with a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. We did find this a little strange and were concerned about the safety aspect of having a plastic bag wrapped around the detector. The bag was removed by a member of staff, but sadly nothing could be done about the lingering smell of 3 days worth of tobacco smell. We would have appreciated a member of staff explaining the situation on check-in and offering us a different room as the member of staff we spoke to was in fact the cleaner who cleaned the room earlier in the day. However, we had never had this problem on our previous visits. There are signs in the room and in the hotel itself saying it is a "No Smoking Environment". Unfortunately, some previous guest chose to ignore these signs. We could have asked to be moved into another room, but as we had been racing at Cheltenham we just wanted to relax, have a soak in a warm bath, and have an early meal, so we chose to put up with the 'aroma'.
Whilst it did detract from our stay a little, the excellent food and value for money did cheer us. The two 4 one main course deal is tremendous and the full English breakfasts are very good, freshly cooked to order and piping hot with toast, cereal, yogurts etc.
I can recommend this hotel, the value for money is extraordinary and we would stay again, hoping that previous guests had adhered to the strict no smoking policy.

Reviewed by
PAULINE B

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy neighbours.
I was using The Crown as a passing stop on the way down south. The room was fine, breakfast was lovely and hot, no problem The whole experience was spoiled by TV next door being played till at least 3.30 a.m. An old building and inconsiderate neighbours meant not good enough soundproofing, and only a few hours' sleep.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visit
This is our second time staying at the Crown Inn and we have found it a very comfortable stay. We are a family of five and when we rang to ask if they could accommodate us they were very helpful and fit us in straight away. The breakfast is always excellent too. Great value and would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
M Fenn

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on the whole good
we both went down to the bar and was served by a very ignorant barman so instead of eating there we got a taxi into Bromsgrove,at breakfast the girl made us feel very welcome so in the end we were happy with our stay ,nice simple wi fi a bonus.

Laterooms I sent a similar review 5 mins ago on the wrong hotel could you please cancel it and let me do another review.

Reviewed by
d norris

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks
Thanks for the lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate and very good value
Perfectly adequate budget accommodation in a convenient location to the South West of Birmingham.

Reviewed by
Simon K

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful and friendly staff
This was a 'cheap and cheerful booking'. The room was clean with everything you would need but was a little 'well worn' in some respects. The only downside to the room was that it faced on to a busy main road which we found noisy as we are not used to traffic so close. Our friend's room at the rear of the hotel was much quieter but as we only stayed overnight, it was not a huge problem. The food in the restaurant was served promptly and well cooked. The real winner for us is that the staff were friendly and helpful. They are a credit to the company. The stay was excellent value for money, particularly as guests have 20% off food taken in restaurant.

Reviewed by
Sue D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very attentive service. Good food in restaurant. Good breakfast. Reasonably sized room and clean. Lighting could have been brighter. Very handy for M5.

Reviewed by
ian h

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed friendly atmosphere
My husband and I had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Crown Inn. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left all staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable and clean. Food was excellent, we ate at the hotel in the evening and enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, which was included in the cost of the room. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Wharton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, clean tidy
Stayed overnight just for one night, the accommodation was very clean, staff were very friendly and welcoming, the hotel is on the main road but noise was not an issue, food in the restaurant was good and good value We would definitely use and recommend this hotel again

Reviewed by
M Ostler

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next