No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Berkeley Square Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 Berkeley Square , Bristol, BS8 1HB
Situated in a peaceful haven overlooking gardens in a beautiful Georgian Square, this exclusive, elegant 42 bedroom period Bristol hotel, prides itself on its 1st class hospitality creating a professional yet personal, friendly atmosphere. WI-FI is available in bedrooms and public areas for a small surcharge.

As Bristol's first Art Hotel, the Berkeley Square really is one of a kind, boasting a relaxed yet vibrant mood and an elegant, eclectic style. This chic establishment is only a stone's throw away from the bustling cafes, shops and bars of the city centre and the quaint, cobbled streets of Clifton Village, and ideally located for exploring Bristol or doing business in the city. During their stay, hotel guests have full access to the Square, the region's leading members' club for the arts, and are free to enjoy the dining room, lounge area, exclusive bar and new outside terrace. The Square is also home to Square Gallery, a contemporary gallery with a continuous exhibition programme reflecting the burgeoning artistic community of Bristol and the surrounding area. Our guests also have exclusive discounted rates at the Berkeley Centre, a health, fitness and wellbeing centre at a stone's throw away from the hotel. Berkeley Square Hotel is well placed for visiting some of the top attractions in Bristol such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo and Gardens.

A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Berkeley Square Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
We stayed here as we were going to a concert in Bristol, very convenient location to walk to the O2, we were able to park (on street parking) the staff were nice and so was the room.
My only issue is having to leave credit card details for a room I had paid for in advance, but that irritates me in any hotel that has that policy.
Aside from that niggle, a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best room in the basement
The room was in the basement , not the best !

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bijou
Stayed in s single room that was very compact. Not used often I think, had everything you needed apart from space! The bathroom very very compact!

Reviewed by
Karen L

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shabby shabby shabby
Room small and cramped. walls made of paper. Tom on reception in his un ironed shirt did not care less when informed of my terrible night listening to tv's in other rooms until 3am. He brought me an iron to my room which leaked and did not work. He forgot to charge me for the dinner the night before until I told him. Very poor and would not re visit.
Real shame as the good and service in the restaurant was really very good.

Reviewed by
Robert Kemp

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, a welcome break from chain hotels
I have stayed here many times and it is an excellent hotel , great location if you want to eat in many of the local restaurants. However the hotel restaurant is such good quality and atmosphere I don't think you'll want to go elsewhere.
Natalie on reception was really helpful on my most recent visit, a credit to the hotel.

Reviewed by
John Wright

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Exterior but inside leaves a lot to be desired
Hotel promised homemade cookies on arrival, as well as fresh fruit and a decanter of sherry. The homemade cookies were missing, as was the fresh milk that was promised in the mini bar. The room was quite small and bare but the sherry was a nice touch. The hotel has a nightclub beneath it -- surely the point of hotels is to get a good night's sleep? Overall, a beautiful-sounding hotel but I was not that impressed inside.

Reviewed by
Diana S

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent short stay
A very comfortable room and very generous with complimentary foods and drinks

Reviewed by
B Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend

Reviewed by
Peter H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel in central bristol location
I stayed in a single room for 5 nights, the hotel room was to a high standard, cleaned daily and replenished with complimentary fruit, tea and coffee, biscuits and even sherry. Excellent facilities, I had unlimited WiFi use for £9 throughout the duration of my stay and no issues with access. A TV and DVD player was also provided in the room. I did not sample the food during my stay as I preferred not to due to being a lone traveller however it seemed that the restaurant was well used by guests and visitors alike.
The location was a 10 minute walk from the city centre along a main road in what i judged to be a safe area (I am a lone female).
The staff were very friendly and courteous throughout my stay and given the chance I would happily return.

Reviewed by
s roberts

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
As a UK travel journalist I've stayed in many hotels and apartments. This was the worst of them all, rude staff on reception, clean came in without knocking 2 hours before check out and couldn't speak English. The apartment was not clean and still ongoing maintenance. Highly disappointed!

Reviewed by
a smith

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next