No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Berkeley Square Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 Berkeley Square , Bristol, BS8 1HB
Situated in a peaceful haven overlooking gardens in a beautiful Georgian Square, this exclusive, elegant 42 bedroom period Bristol hotel, prides itself on its 1st class hospitality creating a professional yet personal, friendly atmosphere. WI-FI is available in bedrooms and public areas.

As Bristol's first Art Hotel, the Berkeley Square really is one of a kind, boasting a relaxed yet vibrant mood and an elegant, eclectic style. This chic establishment is only a stone's throw away from the bustling cafes, shops and bars of the city centre and the quaint, cobbled streets of Clifton Village, and ideally located for exploring Bristol or doing business in the city. During their stay, hotel guests have full access to the Square, the region's leading members' club for the arts, and are free to enjoy the dining room, lounge area, exclusive bar and new outside terrace. The Square is also home to Square Gallery, a contemporary gallery with a continuous exhibition programme reflecting the burgeoning artistic community of Bristol and the surrounding area. Our guests also have exclusive discounted rates at the Berkeley Centre, a health, fitness and wellbeing centre at a stone's throw away from the hotel. Berkeley Square Hotel is well placed for visiting some of the top attractions in Bristol such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo and Gardens.

A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Berkeley Square Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Exterior but inside leaves a lot to be desired
Hotel promised homemade cookies on arrival, as well as fresh fruit and a decanter of sherry. The homemade cookies were missing, as was the fresh milk that was promised in the mini bar. The room was quite small and bare but the sherry was a nice touch. The hotel has a nightclub beneath it -- surely the point of hotels is to get a good night's sleep? Overall, a beautiful-sounding hotel but I was not that impressed inside.

Reviewed by
Diana S

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent short stay
A very comfortable room and very generous with complimentary foods and drinks

Reviewed by
B Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend

Reviewed by
Peter H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel in central bristol location
I stayed in a single room for 5 nights, the hotel room was to a high standard, cleaned daily and replenished with complimentary fruit, tea and coffee, biscuits and even sherry. Excellent facilities, I had unlimited WiFi use for £9 throughout the duration of my stay and no issues with access. A TV and DVD player was also provided in the room. I did not sample the food during my stay as I preferred not to due to being a lone traveller however it seemed that the restaurant was well used by guests and visitors alike.
The location was a 10 minute walk from the city centre along a main road in what i judged to be a safe area (I am a lone female).
The staff were very friendly and courteous throughout my stay and given the chance I would happily return.

Reviewed by
s roberts

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
As a UK travel journalist I've stayed in many hotels and apartments. This was the worst of them all, rude staff on reception, clean came in without knocking 2 hours before check out and couldn't speak English. The apartment was not clean and still ongoing maintenance. Highly disappointed!

Reviewed by
a smith

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weeked break
Great little hotel excellent staff we enjoyed our stay and would book again
Do park in the west end multi story car park nearby the parking in the square outside the hotel is restricted to two hours only during the day

Reviewed by
G Garrod-Bell

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here in the summer!
I have stayed here on numerous occasions but never during the summer....and I never will again!
My room had no ventilation other than a window with limited opening and a tiny plastic desk fan. When I asked for a better fan, I was told none were available. The next morning, having told reception staff that I had the worst night sleep in ages, a slightly larger fan appeared in the room. Nevertheless, the two fans were far too small to counter the heat and I left the hotel early rather than staying another night.
Unfortunately, the poor experience continued when I reached the car park -complete with numerous heavy bags - only to discover the key pad number giving access to the car park had been changed. The Receptionist did not apologise for letting me walk over to the car park without the necessary information.
A very disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
Ann D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this room for my boss.
He enjoyed his stay. Said it was a pleasant hotel and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Great room even for a single room. Wish there was an iron.

Reviewed by
V Schreiner

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Mike L

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next