No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Berkeley Square Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 Berkeley Square , Bristol, BS8 1HB
Situated in a peaceful haven overlooking gardens in a beautiful Georgian Square, this exclusive, elegant 42 bedroom period Bristol hotel, prides itself on its 1st class hospitality creating a professional yet personal, friendly atmosphere. WI-FI is available in bedrooms and public areas for a small surcharge.

As Bristol's first Art Hotel, the Berkeley Square really is one of a kind, boasting a relaxed yet vibrant mood and an elegant, eclectic style. This chic establishment is only a stone's throw away from the bustling cafes, shops and bars of the city centre and the quaint, cobbled streets of Clifton Village, and ideally located for exploring Bristol or doing business in the city. During their stay, hotel guests have full access to the Square, the region's leading members' club for the arts, and are free to enjoy the dining room, lounge area, exclusive bar and new outside terrace. The Square is also home to Square Gallery, a contemporary gallery with a continuous exhibition programme reflecting the burgeoning artistic community of Bristol and the surrounding area. Our guests also have exclusive discounted rates at the Berkeley Centre, a health, fitness and wellbeing centre at a stone's throw away from the hotel. Berkeley Square Hotel is well placed for visiting some of the top attractions in Bristol such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo and Gardens.

A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Berkeley Square Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Great stay, as usual. I have stayed at this hotel quite often and have never been disapointed.

Reviewed by
Martin Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hot or what? OK hottest night of year but this was like the 'black hole of Calcutta'
I had booked a room 6 days before needed but was called the night before to say they had moved me to a higher floor because there was a party in the hotel club in the basement. The room I was moved to was on the top floor and incredibly hot. There was no air con and the window whilst wide open would not let in any air; it was a very hot day and night but with no ventilation it was impossible to sleep. On top of this there was a constant loud humming- possibly from the fridge- which only helped the insomnia. I did complain at the desk in the morning and was offered an apology!

Reviewed by
Gordon M

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel near centre
Great place - close to the Triangle but very quiet. Our room had a great view out onto the park.
Staff were excellent; breakfast was delicious with a great set of options; room was clean, comfy and spacious enough; the hotel lift was a godsend since I was hobbling on crutches.
The hifi did not seem to work - although we didn't really need it.
The only wierd thing was an opened decanter of brown liquid that may have been sherry; but I cannot imagine anyone drinking it since there was no indication of what it was nor whether previous guests may have 'tampered' with it!

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Warm Night in Bristol
I have experienced better rooms and I have experienced worse ones. The room was definitely on the small side but was certainly very adequate for a night's sleep and reasonably priced. The room was pretty clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. As I arrived during a heatwave, the room was hot and it would have been nice if someone had left the windows open to air the room. At one stage I opened the minibar to get some cold water to drink. However I found that the contents were not any colder than room temperature, so I suspect it was either not working or switched off. The bathroom had no bath (just a shower) and the shower cubicle was showing some signs of rust. However, the bathroom was clean. I slept reasonably well, although I was conscious that the local seagulls were making a lot of noise during the night.
The next morning I had a full English breakfast in a good sized dining room. I was served by a pleasant and helpful member of staff. The experience was on the whole a good one. The only negatives were that I had to wait about ten minutes for a cereal bowl, as there were none available when I started breakfast, and that the eggs and black pudding were a bit overcooked.
Reception staff were very helpful and allowed me to leave some bags for a couple of hours while I attended my son's graduation ceremony. The hotel is certainly well situated for anyone visiting the university.

Reviewed by
James M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Been using the hotel since it was a Best Western. Still love it. The outdoor patio area is perfect for smokers.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay

Reviewed by
Martin Whelan

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service
The staff were all absolutely lovely - from the friendly receptionist, to the very nice bartender and extremely nice breakfast waitress. The location was perfect - very close to the bars on Park Street but you really couldn't hear any noise. Some reviews had talked about the noise from the basement bar but we couldnt hear a thing - even on the ground floor. Our thord floor room was spacious and the shower was extremely nice. The free sherry in the room was a lovely touch, along with the ground coffee and cafetiere, instead of the normal instant coffee.

Reviewed by
suzanne hart

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very high standard
as always, excellent service, great value room, simply nothing to complain about

Reviewed by
b dean

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a clean room, helpful staff on arrivial, there was a function on saturday night but from my room noise was minimum

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Pontypridd, England
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, not great rooms
This hotel is in a good location and has well presented public rooms and bar. Unfortunately they have not invested in the rooms so much.

Reviewed by
Liz A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next