No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Berkeley Square Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 Berkeley Square , Bristol, BS8 1HB
Situated in a peaceful haven overlooking gardens in a beautiful Georgian Square, this exclusive, elegant 42 bedroom period Bristol hotel, prides itself on its 1st class hospitality creating a professional yet personal, friendly atmosphere. WI-FI is available in bedrooms and public areas for a small surcharge.

As Bristol's first Art Hotel, the Berkeley Square really is one of a kind, boasting a relaxed yet vibrant mood and an elegant, eclectic style. This chic establishment is only a stone's throw away from the bustling cafes, shops and bars of the city centre and the quaint, cobbled streets of Clifton Village, and ideally located for exploring Bristol or doing business in the city. During their stay, hotel guests have full access to the Square, the region's leading members' club for the arts, and are free to enjoy the dining room, lounge area, exclusive bar and new outside terrace. The Square is also home to Square Gallery, a contemporary gallery with a continuous exhibition programme reflecting the burgeoning artistic community of Bristol and the surrounding area. Our guests also have exclusive discounted rates at the Berkeley Centre, a health, fitness and wellbeing centre at a stone's throw away from the hotel. Berkeley Square Hotel is well placed for visiting some of the top attractions in Bristol such as the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo and Gardens.

A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Berkeley Square Hotel, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel centrally located in Bristol
Friendly, clean, nice coffee!

Reviewed by
C Reeves

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in the basement of the hotel/had to move rooms in the middle of the night because the tv did not work/ the room moved to smelled of damp and the bed linen duvets smelled quite stale- like they needed airing and a fresh wash. A disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
R Marcus

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, reception staff impersonal
I certainly didn't read the small print and was shocked when I discovered I had a single bed. It was not comfortable. I think the luxury bit of the hotel had run out by the time it got to this room at £89 for B&B.
Bathroom tired, leatherette worn on desk chair, Crital windows!! Fan in the bathroom sounded like 10 tumble driers all going at the same time. Yes its did have a small bowl of fruit which comprised of 6 grapes, banana and an apple. Also a well stocked fridge etc. However, I couldn't get the WIFI to work upstairs although it did work in the lounge.
Breakfast staff were very pleasant, helpful and the breakfast was good value for money but back to the front desk to check out.... Oh dear
I would probably still stay here again because to the location

Reviewed by
S Shah

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and convenient location
This hotel lived up to expectations. I tend to come away from a weekend stay with some minor concern or other but that is not the case here. The accommodation was of good standard, clean and comfortable. The age of the place and location on Berkley Square added to the weekend. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
William C

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
The staff were all young and a wee bit "stand offish", even the large chain hotels have staff that are warm and friendly...the youngsters here should try smiling more. The rooms were cramped but well decorated. The bar was a dissapointment and no night porter service. Also the prep school style restaurant took me back 45 years..but the breakfast was one of the best. For the prices, I would expect more space.

Reviewed by
J Walsh

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family group of 9 adults
Very nice hotel, fantastic location and really friendly helpful staff, but there was a noisy wedding on Saturday night which kept us all up.

Reviewed by
henrietta f

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I stay in Bristol regularly and thought I'd try somewhere new to stay. It's the little things that make a difference to a stay and the same is true here.
I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel that provides only one pillow, yes I could have phoned reception for a second (I presume?) but I shouldn't need to. This would have been not worth mentioning if it wasn't for the cafetiere still being full from the previous guests use or the apple in the fruit bowl with teeth marks in it.
A neighbouring room had had room service and left tray outside the room when I went out for the evening at about seven o'clock. Surprised to see the tray still there when I returned five hours later.
Not the standard of service I expect in a Clifton hotel.

Reviewed by
C Salt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay in the heart of Bristol
I recently stayed for a weekend at The Berkeley Square Hotel in Bristol and can thoroughly recommend it. The room was excellently appointed and spotlessly clean and the staff throughout my stay were extremely helpful and made everything very easy for me. All this came at excellent price and I will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Nigel Earley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal
right place to take it easy

Reviewed by
david h

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience
My room was an absolute bargain. I would definitely recommend this place based on my experience.

Reviewed by
M Reeve

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next