No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ferndale Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
22 St Marychurch Road, , , Torquay, TQ1 3HY
Ferndale Lodge is a small, friendly, family-run, guest house. You can be assured of a warm welcome, personal service and value for money. We are committed to the highest standards of care and attention. We look on our guests as family and will make every effort to ensure you get the most out of your visit to Torquay. All our rooms are en-suite with free-view flat screen TV/DVD, hairdryer, kettle with tea/coffee, complimentary toiletries etc. Towels are provided. We also have free WIFI. We have a large private car park. There is also a covered area ideal for motorcycles and bicycles. We are centrally located, with the top of the town centre only 5 minutes walk away. We are 12 minutes walk to the harbour in one direction and between 12 and 20 minutes walk to various coastlines and beaches in other directions. We are in an ideal position from which to access all of Torquay's attractions: Model Village, Kents Cavern, Living Coasts, Torre Abbey and Cockington. Pets are welcome by prior arrangement but are not allowed in all rooms so please contact us in advance to discuss your requirements. For a special occasion book our room featuring a beautiful Italian four poster bed. Ground floor rooms are available. All rooms have colour flat-screen TV / DVD player, clock radio, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a personal safe. Our wonderful breakfast includes tea/coffee/orange juice, cereals, toast, fresh seasonal fruit, yoghurt, tinned fruit, and choice of cooked breakfast etc. We endeavour to use locally sourced, free range ingredients, wherever possible. We offer a free/courtesy transport to and from the local train and coach stations which are only minutes away (by prior arrangement).
Picture of Ferndale Lodge, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
I came to meet a few friends, the people were very friendly, breakfast was great with a variety of choice. Rooms extremely clean, with a kettle, tea/coffee and biscuits. Well worth the money and am already thinking about a return with my family!

Reviewed by
Paul Minchin

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly family run hotel, would definatley stay again

Reviewed by
debbie knight

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, family friendly, good food and hospitality
We used Ferndale for a overnight stay in Torquay - which was perfect for what we needed. They had all the facilities to accomodate my toddler son. Good customer service, all the facilities you need including free WiFi, patio terrace and clean rooms and more importantly a great breakfast. I'd recommend this to anyone for a overnight/short stay.

Reviewed by
H Andrews

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferndale Torquay
I found the welcome i recieved at Ferndale very accompanying, the room was very clean and suited my personal needs being a lone traveller. The breakfast was very fresh and cooked to order with a choice selection of cereals and fruit, over all I found my stay there very pleasant and would recommend the Ferndale guest house to family and freinds

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from home
good quality accommodation at a reasonable price.breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
c montague

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a fantastic time and would love to go back

Reviewed by
Kevin G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay and family friendly

Reviewed by
Graham M

From Middleton, USA
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only thing, water pressure not good, having a shower took a while!

Reviewed by
sarah huston

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless all round
Very welcoming family owned business,we were warned about the mother in law but to be honest you'd want to take her home with you. Only a 5 minute walk from the town and 10 minutes from the harbour front. Rooms were ideal,clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent,all cooked to order not re heated and a good selection of fresh fruit and cereal. We will definitely re visit in the future.

Reviewed by
J Gunton

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
owner very polite and mother in law also made our stay pleasant. Room comfortable and breakfast had good variety and served promptly. Only negative was the shower pressure was low and intermittetly went from warm to very hot. B and B central for sites in torquay, would recommend,

Reviewed by
kirsty s

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next