No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carpenters Arms

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Wick Lane , Stanton Wick, BS39 4BX
If you are looking for some nostalgic serenity away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the Carpenter's Arms is the perfect revitalizing retreat., ideally positioned for either exploring the beautiful surrounding Chew Valley and yet within easy driving distance of both Bath and Bristol.
There is a traditional bar, and on colder days, the cosy log fire warms you up a treat. If the weather is kinder, the landscaped patio is the ultimate spot for either a leisurely drink or al fresco dining.
The Carpenter's Arms boasts two dining areas, serving a tempting menu of irresistible starters, mains and puddings. The chef's menu is changed regularly to ensure the best local produce is only used in season and there are always imaginative vegetarian dishes available, as well as a light lunch menu, daily specials and a children's menu - something to suit every palate!
En-suite accommodation is available at the Inn with 12 gorgeous bedrooms. They are all recently refurbished in a stunning contemporary style and have enviable facilities as standard, including king size beds with duck down duvets and pillows, flat screen Freeview televisions, broadband wi fi and tea and coffee making facilities. After a good night's sleep, the perfect start to the day is the delicious full english breakfast and a hot pot of tea or coffee!
Finally, there's a lot to explore in the surrounding countryside; the tranquil Chew Valley is criss crossed by public footpaths and the famous Chew Valley and Blagdon Lakes are close by. Bath and Bristol are easily reached by car and both have new shopping centres, theatres and historic places of interest for those seeking fashionable urban stimulation alongside the joys of taking it easy at this memorable rural retreat.
Picture of Carpenters Arms, Stanton Wick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was there on business but wish it could have been a holiday!!
The Carpenters Arms acted as the perfect home from home for me when i was visiting Bristol on business, my only regret is that I was on business so couldn't fully enjoy the beautiful surrounding countryside and equally impressive bar menu!!!
The bedrooms were cosy and welcoming, the beds so comfortable i never wanted to get up and the staff were all very friendly, laid back and attentive. If I HAD to fault it on one thing I would say that the quality of the evening dinners didn't quite meet the incredibly high standard set by the rest of the establishment, but i certainly wouldn't let that discourage you!
It's a lovely little place and I hope to stay there again soon!!

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We were very impressed by what we enjoyed on the night we stayed.

Reviewed by
Peter Gunn

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
This is a nice old pub in a lovely area but a little pretentious for a pub, it had more of a restaurant feel about it but the food wasn't restaurant standard I felt
The rooms are very nice but mine didn't have a shower which was not made clear when I booked, apparently some have power showers but there isn't enough water pressure for all the rooms so some only have baths which isn't always ideal

Reviewed by
robin t

From loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic rooms, beautiful location, nice atmosphere. Food is expensive for what it is and menu is limited.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room but poor value
Nice room. Well furnished. But for a country pub, the price for accommodation was quite steep. The evening meal in the bar was lacking in taste and very expensive.

Reviewed by
M D

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms and dinner
The room was clean and modern, light and airy. Fresh milk with tea making facilities, not those horrible plastic pots with uht milk. Dinner was lovely, very good food.

Reviewed by
J Kell

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Equally as good as other reviewers suggested
After reading glowing reviews I booked a night at the Carpenter's Inn in August, particularly to be near Bristol Airport for the next morning. I was delighted to find everything as good as suggested. Excellent clean room. Friendly restaurant. It really is in the countryside surrounded by fields (No busy road or motorway nearby) and I drove to the airport next morning through lovely villages (Chew Magna and Windford) which took approx. 20 minutes.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From St saviours, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Lovely. Hotel staff were lovely and helpful well worth the money would stay again

Reviewed by
M Clark

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
Rooms modern, clean and very comfortable. Food good. Staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
P Tasker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy bar and restaurant
I used to stay here about 18 years ago mainly on business but this time I went as I wanted somewhere comfortable to stay between Bristol and Bath to see friends. It was ideal. Struggled a little with the car park gate getting in after 11.00 p.m. but I would recommend the Carpenters as a great place to stay in this part of the world.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next