No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carpenters Arms

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Wick Lane , Stanton Wick, BS39 4BX
If you are looking for some nostalgic serenity away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the Carpenter's Arms is the perfect revitalizing retreat., ideally positioned for either exploring the beautiful surrounding Chew Valley and yet within easy driving distance of both Bath and Bristol.
There is a traditional bar, and on colder days, the cosy log fire warms you up a treat. If the weather is kinder, the landscaped patio is the ultimate spot for either a leisurely drink or al fresco dining.
The Carpenter's Arms boasts two dining areas, serving a tempting menu of irresistible starters, mains and puddings. The chef's menu is changed regularly to ensure the best local produce is only used in season and there are always imaginative vegetarian dishes available, as well as a light lunch menu, daily specials and a children's menu - something to suit every palate!
En-suite accommodation is available at the Inn with 12 gorgeous bedrooms. They are all recently refurbished in a stunning contemporary style and have enviable facilities as standard, including king size beds with duck down duvets and pillows, flat screen Freeview televisions, broadband wi fi and tea and coffee making facilities. After a good night's sleep, the perfect start to the day is the delicious full english breakfast and a hot pot of tea or coffee!
Finally, there's a lot to explore in the surrounding countryside; the tranquil Chew Valley is criss crossed by public footpaths and the famous Chew Valley and Blagdon Lakes are close by. Bath and Bristol are easily reached by car and both have new shopping centres, theatres and historic places of interest for those seeking fashionable urban stimulation alongside the joys of taking it easy at this memorable rural retreat.
Picture of Carpenters Arms, Stanton Wick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
Rooms modern, clean and very comfortable. Food good. Staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
P Tasker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy bar and restaurant
I used to stay here about 18 years ago mainly on business but this time I went as I wanted somewhere comfortable to stay between Bristol and Bath to see friends. It was ideal. Struggled a little with the car park gate getting in after 11.00 p.m. but I would recommend the Carpenters as a great place to stay in this part of the world.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpenters Arms
Very pleasant one night stay in a quiet village location. Food was good and accommodation excellent.

Reviewed by
L Fowler

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect country pub in picture postcard surroundings - with a friendly welcome and helpful staff, the room was immaculate too.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely p0lace to stay
Stayed here the other night and wll be back Very pretty pub with rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the evening meal was excellent.
The only small niggle was here was no stand up shower in the room, just a spray mixer over the bath which had to be held by hand.
Briliant value for money

Reviewed by
C Westbury

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
J Eckersley

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh I hope this doesn't become so popular that I can't stay again!
A fabulous place to stay, quiet, welcoming, clean and characterful.

Reviewed by
Robert Scott

From Fakenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely get away
Lovely staff, Great food and a comfy room!
Only complaint is that the room was very warm. Would stay again! :)

Reviewed by
C Wedd

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Six miles from Bristol and easy to find
This very traditional style accommodation was a treat and beat the prices in the city centre hands down. We stayed here after visiting Bristol Univercity with my Son and it was a nice surprise to find somewhere so tranquil after a hectic day.

Reviewed by
John P

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
Only stayed one night in order to get to Bristol Airport early next morning but would have been very happy to stay longer. The room was immaculate and beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and modern, with an excellent shower and plenty of surfaces to put things on. A tiny niggle - there was a single small step down just beyond the bathroom door and although there was a warning notice on the door, its hard to see the step. Our room was up some stairs and along what felt like lots of corridors. There isn't a lift because its a lovely old building and so a bit of a rabbit warren. For anyone with mobility problems, it might be wise to check with the owners about access to bedrooms before booking. Dinner menu was varied and interesting, Food was excellently cooked. We felt that our holiday had started when we arrived at the Carpenters Arms. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
L Black

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next