Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich Hotels > Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
116 Thorpe Road , Norwich, NR1 1RU
A City hotel offering cosy, comfortable bedrooms. Restaurant, Bar, Night Porter, Free guest parking. Close to Norwich City Football ground, night life, cinema, bowling and shopping. Relax and feel truly at home. Be treated as a individual not just a number. Due to popular demand, we have introduced evening bar snacks, Monday to Thursday from 6.30pm to 8.30pm.

We are pleased to advise customers old and new, all bedrooms are under re-decoration. New carpets have been fitted on the second floor.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but serviceable
Room was basic but OK for a couple of nights. Possibly a shade expensive for what it was though.
Convenient (but uphill) walk from the station. But in the opposite direction to the city centre.
Free wi-fi was very erratic.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
The staff were helpful. The hotel is slightly shabby - but everything works. Good value for what you can get these days. Location excellent and near to station and city.

Reviewed by
John P

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointment
not 100% happy really, the room had damp in it you could see it on the ceiling also in the bathroom and around the hotel as we walked up the stairs to our room we thought at first the smell of smoke but this wasnt smoking smell, our shower went from either too hot to freezing cold and didnt really enjoy the shower, if i was to rate the room i would give it a 4/10 coz bed was good nice an clean breakfast was nice, i would'nt be passing this place on to others as i dont want anyone else to stay there, booking was good to get a place but going there to see that wasnt what we had in mind. sorry to be a pain but next time we book somewhere hope you have a better place rating and take this one off your site thanks again stephen tomlinson

Reviewed by
s tomlinson

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NIce hotel, good value, just a little worn.
In the 1970s this was no doubt a very fine hotel. It is still good value, clean and has friendly staff. It is just a little dated in places with tired decor. However, some updates have been done e.g. new carpets. If they could replace the hotel doors, it would look a bit smarter still. My single room was large and had a modern TV and good hospitality tray. Overall, I was impressed considering some of the reviews I had read. Location good for station and 20 minute walk to city centre.

Reviewed by
James S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice staff, very clean, nice stay,ang good position,,
I did enjoy the stay at the Lansdowne hotel...very near the station....and very near to all restaurant and bars.....Clean roon...very nice bathroom....tv.....etc...I will return.

Reviewed by
Corrado cavicchioni

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Facilities in the room were ok, cleanliness wasnt very good though. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room rates were a bit expensive for a 2* accomodation

Reviewed by
Gemma C

From PETERBOROUGH, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice base to visit the fine city
I've stayed here on several occasions and will happily return. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms, while not luxurious, are clean and have everything I need. 5-10 mins' walk to the railway station or football ground, 15 to Tombland, 20 to the market place.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind comments, the staff are pleased to hear them. Best Regards, Sue

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a place I would book if other accommodation available
The place was extremely tired and in need of a serious clean. The only good points were that the bed was clean and the sheets pristine.

Reviewed by
J Oliver-Roberts

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a good experience
Stayed here a few times, staff always friendly and helpful. Handy for station and not much further into city centre (20 mins on foot).

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, dingy and dirty
Wouldn't stay again. Could barely get through the room door and when we did it was awful! Carpet was stained, duvet cover was stained, the cups were dusty amd the bathroom ceiling was mouldy. Would not say it was worth the money! The receptionist was snotty!

Reviewed by
victoria c

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next