Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich Hotels > Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
116 Thorpe Road , Norwich, NR1 1RU
A City hotel offering cosy, comfortable bedrooms. Restaurant, Bar, Night Porter, Free guest parking. Close to Norwich City Football ground, night life, cinema, bowling and shopping. Relax and feel truly at home. Be treated as a individual not just a number. Due to popular demand, we have introduced evening bar snacks, Monday to Thursday from 6.30pm to 8.30pm.

We are pleased to advise customers old and new, all bedrooms are under re-decoration. New carpets have been fitted on the second floor.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 48% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff very friendly the hotel though is looking tired
and worn and could do benefit from a refit

Reviewed by
MRJ S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel in the making
I don't mean this title to be derogatory but at the time of my visit the hotel was undergoing a measure of redecoration and the smell of paint pervaded the building. As I was on business I just accepted this and got on with it but I suspect a person on holiday would not be so impressed with this as it did have a negative impact on the pleasure of the stay.
Another concern I would have to express relates to the lift - this was the old fashioned type with a door and shutter gate and was really only big enough for one person with bags. In my view not suitable for a family with young children or a wheelchair user (if that is the correct term) at all.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight stay at the Lansdowne
This hotel is undergpoing refurbishment so it is not surprising that rooms that have not yet been refurbished might look a bit 'tired'. This was the case with our room with heavily worn bedside cabinets so we hope that it is still to be refurbished! Even so we had an good night's sleep. Service generally (bar reception and breakfast) lacked any zip.

Reviewed by
John Palmer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
Room was ok. Mould in the bathroom, dirty carpet ( age old stains) my biscuits wrapper was empty, remote controls were filthy, massive cobweb in the right hand corner, telephone directories were for 2008/9. Wifi not working.
Bed was comfy, not sure about bed throws instead of duvets though.
Staff were very efficient, accomodating and friendly.
The rooms are being refurbished and they do make this obvious with good signage.

Reviewed by
RICHARD BELDON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced basic accommodation

Reviewed by
P Joy

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable overnight stay
Stayed for one night whilst attending a Norwich game. Accommodation was fine and the staff were very welcoming.

Reviewed by
Danielle W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Friendly staff, very helpful, refurbishment of room badly needed. Shower was good, but far too low. Sound from other rooms could be clearly heard, maybe because with the hot weather all windows were open. But very good breakfast, and all in all, good value for money.

Reviewed by
B Dutton

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

70s Dirty,smelly pit
The room was filthy, carpets stained paper and plaster coming away from all angles
Bathroom dirty, never washed didn't want to go in there.
There was a white net curtain that was going black with filth.
On arrival was handed tv remote at front desk and told to return it in morning !
Would never stay again if they paid me.
To the hotel if you read this sack the cleaner if you have one,
Invest in a lorry load of bleach or a wrecking ball.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I am puzzled as to why you did not advise at the time you were not happy with your room. The bedrooms are cleaned daily.

Reviewed by
R Ball

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I first walked into the hotel I was confused about why the place had been given bad reviews in the past, very friendly people at the counter and a lovely looking building. It was until I walked into my room and looked around that I realised. For one, even though it is a small one, the tv didn't work. When you are travelling alone all you have to keep you company is the tv so you expect it to work. Also when I finally looked at he carpet it was about 5 different shades of mild from where clearly people have vomited on it and they were to cheap to get it industrially cleaned.

Reviewed by
C O'Brien

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here with my mate on a lads night out. Not too far from the station and an easy walk to the city centre. The room was lovely and clean, bed was comfortable and it had all the facilities we needed. Check out by 11am was a bonus. There was no breakfast but there's plenty of excellent places to eat a good fry up. People seem to moan about this place but I was more than happy - you'd pay double the prices for a Premier Inn and it's not like you sit in your room all day, there's too much to do in Norwich for that to happen. If you want value for money then this is fine.

Reviewed by
Daniel R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next