Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich Hotels > Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
116 Thorpe Road , Norwich, NR1 1RU
A City hotel offering cosy, comfortable bedrooms. Restaurant, Bar, Night Porter, Free guest parking. Close to Norwich City Football ground, night life, cinema, bowling and shopping. Relax and feel truly at home. Be treated as a individual not just a number. Due to popular demand, we have introduced evening bar snacks, Monday to Thursday from 6.30pm to 8.30pm.

We are pleased to advise customers old and new, all bedrooms are under re-decoration. New carpets have been fitted on the second floor.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

don't be late
over all just shocking, previous review said the hotel was going through a refit. when 1972!!!
had a late night family do, normally breakfast on a sunday is until 10.30/ 11am. not here 10am sharp,
we arrived at 10.01am and told the kitchen was closed and the chef had gone home.
We managed to get a begrodge cup of tea and a slice of toast.
Over all a dredfull experience. My advive would be spend the extra tenner and stay in a travel lodge

Reviewed by
N Leese

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Watch out for the groups
Hotel was tired and dated in parts and a bit shabby but had a nice enough lobby. Carpet in the room needed a good clean and the doors felt a bit prison like. Hall way carpets played funny on my eyes! Certainly comfortable And warm though and has everything you need. Nice bathroom and good, hot shower. Watch out for noisy groups of guests! Notmuchsleep.com!! Should have been discounted upon check out complaint.

Reviewed by
H Parker

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff very friendly the hotel though is looking tired
and worn and could do benefit from a refit

Reviewed by
MRJ S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel in the making
I don't mean this title to be derogatory but at the time of my visit the hotel was undergoing a measure of redecoration and the smell of paint pervaded the building. As I was on business I just accepted this and got on with it but I suspect a person on holiday would not be so impressed with this as it did have a negative impact on the pleasure of the stay.
Another concern I would have to express relates to the lift - this was the old fashioned type with a door and shutter gate and was really only big enough for one person with bags. In my view not suitable for a family with young children or a wheelchair user (if that is the correct term) at all.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight stay at the Lansdowne
This hotel is undergpoing refurbishment so it is not surprising that rooms that have not yet been refurbished might look a bit 'tired'. This was the case with our room with heavily worn bedside cabinets so we hope that it is still to be refurbished! Even so we had an good night's sleep. Service generally (bar reception and breakfast) lacked any zip.

Reviewed by
John Palmer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
Room was ok. Mould in the bathroom, dirty carpet ( age old stains) my biscuits wrapper was empty, remote controls were filthy, massive cobweb in the right hand corner, telephone directories were for 2008/9. Wifi not working.
Bed was comfy, not sure about bed throws instead of duvets though.
Staff were very efficient, accomodating and friendly.
The rooms are being refurbished and they do make this obvious with good signage.

Reviewed by
RICHARD BELDON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced basic accommodation

Reviewed by
P Joy

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable overnight stay
Stayed for one night whilst attending a Norwich game. Accommodation was fine and the staff were very welcoming.

Reviewed by
Danielle W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Friendly staff, very helpful, refurbishment of room badly needed. Shower was good, but far too low. Sound from other rooms could be clearly heard, maybe because with the hot weather all windows were open. But very good breakfast, and all in all, good value for money.

Reviewed by
B Dutton

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

70s Dirty,smelly pit
The room was filthy, carpets stained paper and plaster coming away from all angles
Bathroom dirty, never washed didn't want to go in there.
There was a white net curtain that was going black with filth.
On arrival was handed tv remote at front desk and told to return it in morning !
Would never stay again if they paid me.
To the hotel if you read this sack the cleaner if you have one,
Invest in a lorry load of bleach or a wrecking ball.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I am puzzled as to why you did not advise at the time you were not happy with your room. The bedrooms are cleaned daily.

Reviewed by
R Ball

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next