Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich Hotels > Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
116 Thorpe Road , Norwich, NR1 1RU
A City hotel offering cosy, comfortable bedrooms. Restaurant, Bar, Night Porter, Free guest parking. Close to Norwich City Football ground, night life, cinema, bowling and shopping. Relax and feel truly at home. Be treated as a individual not just a number. Due to popular demand, we have introduced evening bar snacks, Monday to Thursday from 6.30pm to 8.30pm.

We are pleased to advise customers old and new, all bedrooms are under re-decoration. New carpets have been fitted on the second floor.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, room was basic and it was very unclean. Hotel in general was nice, just the room that let it down.

Reviewed by
Megan H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
I stayed here for my stag do and as a place to get your head down for a few hours it is absolutely fine. Do not, however, bring your family here. The wardrobe doors had been ripped off and fixed back in a terrible manner. The headboards had massive stains on them, the flock wallpaper was peeling off in places and someone had punched a hole in the back of the bathroom door. A refurb and a bit if love would bring this place back to its former glory, I'm sure of that. On the plus side, nice people running it and very cheap to stay here.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was good.
Room was not good. Dirty and stained carpet, Wall paper coming off the walls hole in the celling,
Toilet not secured to the floor properly and moved about.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent budget hotel
I was amused by some of the negative comments on here, but chose it anyway because of the great price. I found it a great little place. The fittings were dated, but I loved that: it was really characterful. The one thing that can't be knocked is the friendliness of the staff, who were very cheerful and helpful.
Ultimately, I just needed a bed for the night and this didn't disappoint.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your kind comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
Alexei Winter

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a very poor hotel.
We were very disappointed with the hotel. The whole place needs to be refurbished, both inside and out.

Reviewed by
June L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly slept in my car
I'm not one for leaving reviews,and I stay in a lot of hotels. I have stayed in hotels in Manchester with bars on the window (no,no, not prison...however when I have frequented a prison cell for an evenings kip I found it better than this), and that was better. Absolutely horrendous,and to top it off,the vans in the car park,right in front of the hotel doors, had been broken into over night. Room was rank and the accumulation of everything nearly made me sleep in my car. If you don't trust my judgement,please do give it a nights 'awake' and send answers on a post card.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. This is an older traditional hotel and clearly not to your taste. However, we have many repeat customers so we must be getting something right. Sadly thefts from car parks are not uncommon. It is very unusual to have thefts from cars on our car park.

Reviewed by
alex l

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Came out to go to work in the morning only to find my van window smashed and my sat nav stolen along with my jumper. It was in there car park but no CCTV ! It wasn't only my van but another customers van was also broken into the same night!! Never again! It's cost me over £300 in total costs + the accommodation fee!!!!!

ManagementResponse

We are very sorry you had your van broken into and the inconvenience it caused you. Sadly thefts can happen wherever you go. It is very unusual to have thefts from cars on our car park. We understand the culprits have been caught.

Reviewed by
d pentecost

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotest room we have ever stayed in. Outdated was an understatement.
The hotel looked rundown from the outside.

Reviewed by
Tim M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay for a girls night
Walking into the hotel we was greeted by a lady on reception who was very helpful.
The barman was lovely nothing we asked for was too much.
The only thing we found was the toilet seat was broken and we had no loo roll in our room. Although we knew if we called reception they would of sorted this we did not bother as had tissues with us.

Reviewed by
Zoe S

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tatty and dirty
we expected the room to be a bit run down but there was no excuse for the state of the toilet, had to lift the bed to look for tv remote and found loads of rubbish under it, never did find remote.

Reviewed by
steve T

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next