No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashley Living

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
36-40 Franklin Road , Harrogate, HG1 5EE
Comprised of 3 tastefully converted town houses, ASHLEY LIVING, this comfortable, well-appointed guest house is situated in a tree-lined street in a charming area of Harrogate.
It is only minutes away from the town centre, conference and exhibition complex and beautiful Valley Gardens. Harrogate has a selection of some 60 restaurants within walking distance of Ashley House. Rail and bus connections are not far for those who wish to travel further a field.

Ashley House has a selection of 9 x double/4 x twin/ 4 x superior twin or double and 5 x single rooms, all furnished and decorated to a 4-star standard. The staff pride themselves on the high level of comfort and cleanliness provided to all guests. All rooms have an en suite private toilet and shower room with toiletries provided.
Picture of Ashley Living, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed the stay in harrogate and in the Ashley living b&b. Was a very chatty and nice land lady and the room was very big and the bed really comfy would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
jack sinclair

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hell would be more welcoming.
no one on reception, returned 2hrs later, to book in and pay, not directed to room, go through 3doors up the 2nd flight of stairs and there`s your room, booked a double received a twin, no others we are told! reception dusty clearly!, room no better! bath falling to bits, do not stay here even if its the last place with rooms free!!!!!!! The lady at the hotel happily informed on arrival we had got a superior room haha, this cesspit should have a line in the Monty Python sketch luxury!!!!!! Try telling the kids that today and they won`t believe you, please do.

ManagementResponse

I am disappointed the gentleman was unhappy as he seemed very happy whilst here and made no complaints at source - quite the contrary. We strive to improve our service all the time and take the views of our guests very seriously - we would welcome the gentleman back and make sure any concerns are addressed at the point of stay to make his stay here as nice as every ones.

Reviewed by
david f

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smells of dog and no breakfast!!!
Poor value for money

Reviewed by
Andrew N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleep in your car....
Had originally called lateRooms to book another hotel, which was full- had seen this place but not looked into it & thought how bad can it be? go for it! Do not stay here
Arranged to arrive @ 7pm and when we got there, no sign of life - a phone number taped to reception desk to call. A stressed out thai lady turned up 15 minutes later. Whilst waiting had a peek in the breakfast room - urgh! - a dumping ground for bedlinen, rubbish and behind a curtain was a mound of paperwork Everywhere was filthy - not looking good so far! So we were shown our room which she had warned us that she hadn't been able to get the previous occupant out and hadn't been cleaned/changed. As we were late for a party we dumped our bag & left hoping beyond hope that the room would be cleaned - we'd decided at this point to get to the stage we would pass out well, fully clothed on top of a used bed when we got back To our surprise (&relief) the bed had been changed & fresh towels provided. Woke early in need of coffee - 2 sachets and no sugar (hubby loves a sweet coffee!!) so off he went in search of sugar - found the kitchen, dashed back to the room & got dressed and we left immediately - he says the kitchen was disgusting!!! Bed linen, rubbish and the ever present whiff of dog....! Had a great cup of coffee at a well known coffee house in the lovely market town of Knaresborough before the drive home. If any of your customers are needing to stay in Harrogate & mention this establishment - advise them to read reviews first.

Reviewed by
Kate M

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never ever stay here absolutely discusting, stunk of dogs, no hotelier at the hotel
I will never book with laterooms again, they told me this was 3*, it should not have a star rating. The owner was only there to collect your money when you arrived, then there was no one. The bedroom door did not lock from outside. We wondered why room stunk of sick but we found a bag of meat in the side cabinet which had been there for months but there was no one to complain to, never ever stay here again and I will not book with you again either. I also ordered a single room and a twin room and got a single and double.

Reviewed by
Leigh P

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Big Disappointment
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The reception area was dirty and the general first impressions of the hotel was certainly unpleasant.
The area around was quiet and there are plenty of B&B houses available if you book early which I will do if I return to Harrogate as it is a lovely town.

Reviewed by
E McLeod

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor guest house
We arrived to a room which was not made up.no one to greet you when you arrive just the keys left on the reception. We had an ordeal to get bed covers delivered to the room. This is a run down accommodation with absolutely no customer service provided.

Reviewed by
Anne H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here!
On arrival we tried to book in,but were told by owner that she would be back in a minute but were stood there for 10 minutes before she came back and toldus the people who were in our room the previous evening were still there as one of them had been taken ill so there was no room for us although she had rang around and found a room at another hotel that did not cost as much but she would refund the difference.We left the Ashley ,which i was glad about because i could not stand the awful stench in that place any longer and went to this other hotel to have a look but it was no more than a squat! We eventually found a lovely hotel on the same street as the Ashley and had a lovely weekend. I would just like to say please read the reviews on trip adviser about this hotel,as i didnt before i booked and i am glad someone was still in our room as i would not have stayed in this pit!

Reviewed by
J CONN

From YORK, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Depressing experience
There was no breakfast available and the décor in the hotel was distinctly tired. The bathroom fittings were badly worn and the duvet cover stained. Reception was in the main unmanned and the presence of the proprietor's large dog was unpleasantly evident.

Reviewed by
D Harris

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ashley dole house
Ashley living is a dole (unemployed claiming benefits) hostel and not really a guest house.
There wasn't any breakfast due to kitchen refurbishment and the communal areas looked like it was the living area of the owners and smelled very musty.
My shower was basic as was my room and the shower had mould on the tiling.
I woud NOT recommend this hotel/ guest house as a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Tim N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next