No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashley Living

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
36-40 Franklin Road , Harrogate, HG1 5EE
Comprised of 3 tastefully converted town houses, ASHLEY LIVING, this comfortable, well-appointed guest house is situated in a tree-lined street in a charming area of Harrogate.
It is only minutes away from the town centre, conference and exhibition complex and beautiful Valley Gardens. Harrogate has a selection of some 60 restaurants within walking distance of Ashley House. Rail and bus connections are not far for those who wish to travel further a field.

Ashley House has a selection of 9 x double/4 x twin/ 4 x superior twin or double and 5 x single rooms, all furnished and decorated to a 4-star standard. The staff pride themselves on the high level of comfort and cleanliness provided to all guests. All rooms have an en suite private toilet and shower room with toiletries provided.
Picture of Ashley Living, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 52% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor guest house
We arrived to a room which was not made up.no one to greet you when you arrive just the keys left on the reception. We had an ordeal to get bed covers delivered to the room. This is a run down accommodation with absolutely no customer service provided.

Reviewed by
Anne H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here!
On arrival we tried to book in,but were told by owner that she would be back in a minute but were stood there for 10 minutes before she came back and toldus the people who were in our room the previous evening were still there as one of them had been taken ill so there was no room for us although she had rang around and found a room at another hotel that did not cost as much but she would refund the difference.We left the Ashley ,which i was glad about because i could not stand the awful stench in that place any longer and went to this other hotel to have a look but it was no more than a squat! We eventually found a lovely hotel on the same street as the Ashley and had a lovely weekend. I would just like to say please read the reviews on trip adviser about this hotel,as i didnt before i booked and i am glad someone was still in our room as i would not have stayed in this pit!

Reviewed by
J CONN

From YORK, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Depressing experience
There was no breakfast available and the décor in the hotel was distinctly tired. The bathroom fittings were badly worn and the duvet cover stained. Reception was in the main unmanned and the presence of the proprietor's large dog was unpleasantly evident.

Reviewed by
D Harris

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ashley dole house
Ashley living is a dole (unemployed claiming benefits) hostel and not really a guest house.
There wasn't any breakfast due to kitchen refurbishment and the communal areas looked like it was the living area of the owners and smelled very musty.
My shower was basic as was my room and the shower had mould on the tiling.
I woud NOT recommend this hotel/ guest house as a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Tim N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Odd but very clean
Got to room at arranged time, shown one room then told had to move to another.Shame cos the first room was much nicer, I think the owner had us mixed up with other pre-booked guests, but they use other people to help with check-in so a bit disjointed. Had no choice but to accept as Harrogate is a very popular place on a weekend. Room was exceptionally clean but was advertised as a B&B but there was a breakfast menu in the room with additional prices? Reception is unmanned and guests have to use a phone that calls another place in town. If you are looking for just somewhere to stay for the night highly reccommend, can't comment on any additional services or breakfast quality etc.

Reviewed by
rhettt hayes

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop using this hotel on your site. It will give you a bad name.
My husband I booked this hotel over a year ago so we could come to Harrogate to see the first stage finish of the Tour de France. Most hotels were already fully booked so we booked this one. We paid for bed and breakfast. When we arrived the lady was friendly enough but the room was smelly and the hotel looked very run down and dirty. The bed was clean but when we got up in the morning there was no breakfast and no one around to ask. We ended up leaving the key and having to go and purchase breakfast elsewhere. When we checked in if there had been any other hotels available in Harrogate I would have gone elsewhere but because of the Tour Harrogate was full to bursting.

Reviewed by
V Bailey

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good at all
Not impressed at all. Ended up walking out as place was of poor standard!!. did not stay the night and owner would not refund monies paid, totally (100%) unhappy with this booking.

Reviewed by
Ron K

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling treatment
Hi we teleponed Guesthouse to inform them check in time was during a wedding we were attending in Harrogate and we would arrive after the wedding in the evening.But when we arrived they had re-let our room and we went home arriving back at 03.00hours very tired and very disappointed.Never had an experience like it,a terrible end to a lovely day.

Reviewed by
D re

From Ashton under Lyne , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

failure
Unfortunately I was unable to cancel within the time limit as events prevented us from staying for which we were very sorry and very sad but inevitable.
Andrew

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It took about an hour to check in because the booking was messed up. The room was a good size but was dirty and cold.The hotel was dirty and smelly.When you turn the cold water then the hot water stops. I had to use the kettle to mix the water before having a bath.Breakfast was not provided and there is hardly any staff to talk to.

Reviewed by
Samuel Newlove A

From London, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next