No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashley Living

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
36-40 Franklin Road , Harrogate, HG1 5EE
Comprised of 3 tastefully converted town houses, ASHLEY LIVING, this comfortable, well-appointed guest house is situated in a tree-lined street in a charming area of Harrogate.
It is only minutes away from the town centre, conference and exhibition complex and beautiful Valley Gardens. Harrogate has a selection of some 60 restaurants within walking distance of Ashley House. Rail and bus connections are not far for those who wish to travel further a field.

Ashley House has a selection of 9 x double/4 x twin/ 4 x superior twin or double and 5 x single rooms, all furnished and decorated to a 4-star standard. The staff pride themselves on the high level of comfort and cleanliness provided to all guests. All rooms have an en suite private toilet and shower room with toiletries provided.
Picture of Ashley Living, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Odd but very clean
Got to room at arranged time, shown one room then told had to move to another.Shame cos the first room was much nicer, I think the owner had us mixed up with other pre-booked guests, but they use other people to help with check-in so a bit disjointed. Had no choice but to accept as Harrogate is a very popular place on a weekend. Room was exceptionally clean but was advertised as a B&B but there was a breakfast menu in the room with additional prices? Reception is unmanned and guests have to use a phone that calls another place in town. If you are looking for just somewhere to stay for the night highly reccommend, can't comment on any additional services or breakfast quality etc.

Reviewed by
rhettt hayes

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop using this hotel on your site. It will give you a bad name.
My husband I booked this hotel over a year ago so we could come to Harrogate to see the first stage finish of the Tour de France. Most hotels were already fully booked so we booked this one. We paid for bed and breakfast. When we arrived the lady was friendly enough but the room was smelly and the hotel looked very run down and dirty. The bed was clean but when we got up in the morning there was no breakfast and no one around to ask. We ended up leaving the key and having to go and purchase breakfast elsewhere. When we checked in if there had been any other hotels available in Harrogate I would have gone elsewhere but because of the Tour Harrogate was full to bursting.

Reviewed by
V Bailey

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good at all
Not impressed at all. Ended up walking out as place was of poor standard!!. did not stay the night and owner would not refund monies paid, totally (100%) unhappy with this booking.

Reviewed by
Ron K

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling treatment
Hi we teleponed Guesthouse to inform them check in time was during a wedding we were attending in Harrogate and we would arrive after the wedding in the evening.But when we arrived they had re-let our room and we went home arriving back at 03.00hours very tired and very disappointed.Never had an experience like it,a terrible end to a lovely day.

Reviewed by
D re

From Ashton under Lyne , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

failure
Unfortunately I was unable to cancel within the time limit as events prevented us from staying for which we were very sorry and very sad but inevitable.
Andrew

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It took about an hour to check in because the booking was messed up. The room was a good size but was dirty and cold.The hotel was dirty and smelly.When you turn the cold water then the hot water stops. I had to use the kettle to mix the water before having a bath.Breakfast was not provided and there is hardly any staff to talk to.

Reviewed by
Samuel Newlove A

From London, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend
After a very shaky start, walking into rooms which had not been cleaned or made up from previous gusts, the weekend stay was very pleasant. The two family rooms that were booked were spacious, clean and adequate for our needs, with plenty of bedding, towels. Coffee/tea making facilities as well as an iron and board. The accommodation was only a short walk from the centre of Harrogate and very convenient for shops, and places to eat.

Reviewed by
D Kelly

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go there
I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy, the place was a shambles, room service was non existant. I booked with you two rooms for Bed and Breakfast when we got there she had no knowledge of our booking and she did not do Breakfast.
The fire exit corridor was filled with large bags of dirty laundry making it difficult to use.
If you value your reputation I would take this Hotel of your books.
Just read Trip Adviser! We wish we had.

Reviewed by
P Tunney

From Leighton Buzzard, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
The room was clean, but the decor was dated and shabby. There appeared to be some long term residents there that were a little odd. However, location to the international conference centre and town centre was excellent. A car parking permit was given when requested and there was wifi also, which worked.

Reviewed by
G McConaghie

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst place ever!
I leave lots of reviews, but i have never had to leave one as bad as this. What can i say?. It was disgusting and dirty. Arrived to find we had to hunt for a parking space. Went into the hotel, to find a deserted reception desk with a pile of keys for rooms each with a name card. Found our card and had to ring a number to find out which room we were in. Finally found the stairs to our room and as my wife needed the toilet, this was the first place she went. The sanitary sticker that usually seals the toilet seat, looked years old and was not sealed. The toilet had been used and was unflushed. Not a great start. Went to pick up a glass in the bathroom, only to find it was stuck to the shelf and was filthy, as was the other glass. It looked as though toothbrushes had been stored in it and they certainly were not fresh glasses as the shelf was also filthy. Bath, slipmat, still had hairs underneath, and the mat hanging over the bath used to stand on after you get out, was grubby with black marks. Went down to ask for fresh glasses and the lady passed them to a man and told him they were not clean. We then went out . Returned later and found that the glasses had not been replaced. Decided to get changed and noticed food or dried blood on the bedside cabinet and also the kettle. Went to put the kettle on and it would not reach the plug without putting it on the floor. Could not make a drink as the sugar packets were not only solid, but had yellow stains on were something had been spilled. Couldn't use the glasses on the tea tray either as these too, were filthy. The beds had been pushed together with the bedside cabinets both on one side and the bed up against the wall. There was a sofa and chair at the foot of the bed, which would make it impossible to get out of the wall side without climbing over the other person. Cobwebs hung from the ceiling and cobwebs dust all over the dressing table area. One pillow was so badly stained yellow with sweat, we wouldnt use it. Later after going out again, the staff were eating in the kitchen. The smell was awful and drifted upstairs to the rooms. There was also a huge dog, which i believe to be a bordeaux. This lolled around the downstairs. The fire doors were propped open by dining chairs so safety not a priority here. Would rather sleep at the local refuse tip than stay here again!!!

Reviewed by
john a

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next