Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Parkstone Hotels > Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
(Formally the Durley Hall Hotel & Spa) Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS
A stylish, contemporary hotel with superb leisure club & spa facilities. Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth is ideally located close to the town centre with its array of shops, restaurants, bars and beaches just a 5 minute stroll away. The pleasant lounge-bar, garden and health spa make it an ideal choice for a relaxing weekend break. FREE car parking and FREE Wi-Fi are included.
Each of the 83 bedrooms and suites in our Bournemouth hotel are beautifully designed and have a 32” flat screen TV with freeview, free internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern en-suite bathroom.
The Brasserie restaurant offers fine dining in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The best ingredients are sourced and carefully prepared to create satisfying, tasty food whether you select our early evening tapas or a more hearty three-course meal.

**Extra beds are suitable for children under the age of 12, Extra beds are NOT suitable for adults. Extra beds incur a cost of £25 per person per night.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth , Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Experience
Hotel boasts a £2m refurbishment. Booked an executive room which included water, robes and breakfast. Given room 12, clearly hadn't been refurbished, looked tired and fittings were old. Ceiling fan didn't work. No water or robes present. Asked reception whether this was an executive room and was told that it was. Advised that housekeeping on duty at 5.00 pm and would provide water, robes and fan. Our room was directy opposite lift nd the stairs and we clearly asked that this not be the case when booking. I raised this with the receptionist and she asked whether we would like to move and told me that there were lots of executive rooms available. We were shown another executive room at the other end of the hotel which was clearly where the refurbishment had taken place - why hadn't we been offered this room in th first place. Robes were present but still no water. Again no air-con of fan present. Staff were pleasant and helpful and breakfast was good but would not stay again. Not doing themselves any favours by providing poor room initially.

Reviewed by
Gillian B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of updating
Before entering our less favourable comments Imust say that on arrival in our room, we found that the shower head was lying limp and useless and also that some coat hangers were missing. On letting reception know both were rectified within 10 minutes. We also found all staff to be very friendly and helpful.
However, our room no.63 was not signposted on the third floor,and after spending some time trying to find said room we returned to the ground floor where a helpful member of staff showed us. Next day a typed sign was put up. Had we been an elderly couple or with children it would have been even more inconvenient.
The room was in need of a coat of paint and also the arch between the bedroom and hallway was chipped in many places and looked very tatty. I don't know if the room hadn't been used for a while but there was also a slight stale smell.
We had been given a cream tea gift but were very disappointed with the tea. The scones had been microwaved, the jam was not of a good standard and in a mucky cup and the cream tasted watered down. The tea - which was a good cup of tea - was served in big chunky coffee cups - with the name of the coffee on the cups, not quite afternoon tea china. We left most of the tea. And after that decided against having dinner(s) in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay - Slipping standards
I have always liked staying at the Hallmark Bournemouth having done so several time, I find their staff friendly and helpful and the facilities top quality. However our last visit showed a manageress transferred in from another branch dealing with a troublesome lift, whose lights kept on fusing and I had almost blinded myself with a fierce soap dispenser in the spa shower cubicle, this was partly my fault but the manageress did promise she would try and get the dispenser lowered to below eye level.
Unfortunately, they do lose out many residents, that might eat in, to cheaper local pubs, cafes and fast-food outlets during these biting financial times, who mostly undercut them.
One true complaint was other lights in communal areas did seem to have broken lights that required replacement and none of the communal area toilets had any soap/handwash.
This time our bathroom, although clean and tidy did look a little austere and a simple upgrade of the showerhead and curtain to more luxurious models would've turned the look around.

Reviewed by
Stuart H

From Virginia Water, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for mid-week break
Functional, clean though a little cramped, prefer to be further away from air on units

Reviewed by
Peter J

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
From arrival the staff were very courteous and friendly and helpful with all queries. Prompt service and a good sized clean room (With a balcony i have to say) were all very welcome. Excellent leisure facilities and superb food, very good value for money and a hotel i would not hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
James Leith

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Sleep, No service
Our one night stay was akin to appearing on the Jeremy Kyle show. A full blown argument outside our room and next door between 2 drunken women for 2 hours in the middle of the night followed by a screaming toddler shouting and running around the room on the other side from 5:30 in the morning. An ineffectual 'manager' threatened to have the 2 women ejected but failed to follow up on this despite the fact they continued to argue deep into the night.
When this was relayed to the check out staff they couldn't have cared less, no apology, no offer of breakfast, nothing. Would rather sleep in the car than return to this joke hotel. Shocking value for money, grossly over-priced.

Reviewed by
C Murray

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel but a bit tired in places
my room was excellent, but the windows did not close properly and the road is quite busy, but apart from that it is a really friendly hotel which caters for all ages.
Staff are very accomodating.

Reviewed by
David P

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel with very friendly staff.
Had a small problem with the initial room allocated and was switched without any questions asked.
Very friendly staff who greeted us with a smile and a willingness to help.
Was quite concerned after reading the reviews but they turned out to be wrong on all accounts.
Did come across people who just loved to moan about everything!!!!
Didn't give you a 6 in the ratings, as there is always room for improvement. Thank you for a lovely stay. We will return.

Reviewed by
don S

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BJvanRensburg
Overall was great stay - we did get the room for a promotion rate.

Reviewed by
B Janse van Rensburg

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Stay
We stayed in room number 5 and here are what we found
No shower mat in bath
Bath towel was ripped
Had to ask for new batteries for remote for air conditioning
Showers didn't really work either boiling hot or stone cold
Had room service for breakfast which was cold and didn't include everything that we ordered and the delivery guy made a very rude comment implying we were greedy and to much food was ordered.
Very disappointing as this was a surprise trip for my girlfriend which I had emailed the hotel with regards to this.

Reviewed by
Mark Bailey

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next