Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff


Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS

Price From 216.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (137)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Green

  • August 2014

No worry with regards to other reviews

All was well at the hotel even without the lift working.

The staff were all friendly. The rooms we're complete and modern although hot but a fan was provided. No complaints.

  • David F

  • August 2014

staff friendly & helpful.

Main entrance & reception area nice & clean. Lift out of order. Stair bannisters very grimy. stairs & corridors - decor a bit tired. Outside paintwork needs refreshing. Gardens need some attention.

  • Vicky S

  • August 2014

Not worth 4 star

The room was not up to the standard of a 4* hotel.

There was holes in the walls and the doors, paintwork was scuffed, ceiling was damp and the floor tiles in the bathroom were loose.

  • M Kent

  • August 2014

Bad value

Supposed 4 star.


Lift broken. Had to Cary cases up 3 flights of stairs

Swimming pool for kids really cold

Roof leaking in the bar

Dark room , small window

Shabby pull out beds in child's room

Old fat tattooed man standing in swimming trunks outside reception of hotel smoking a cigarette inbetween swimming.

£250 per nite usual rate. Come on.

  • R Mcleish

  • August 2014

Anniversary weekend

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the hallmark in Bournemouth our room(double exc room) was lovely and big and clean only missed not having a mini fridge, we enjoyed using the facilities swimming pool, sauna, aromatherapy cave, all was lovely and relaxing .

We had our meal at the hotel on Friday night which we both enjoyed breakfast was also enjoyable and a good selection to choose from maybe evening meals could have a little more on menu to choose from, staff were very pleasant and helpful, I have read other reviews that wer'nt as positive as ours but I can honestly say we both had a lovely weekend and will definitely come back again. There was a leak in the hallway and dining room wall/roof that does need fixing that's my only negative comment Hope to see yous all again soon x

  • J Ewings

  • August 2014

not a good experience

no lift we were on 2nd floor food too expensive and not very good quality, lots of people were complaining one person had to ask for a lemon slice with their fish, spent two hours in restaraunt one night, the service was slow.

Our room was overlooked by several others and there was no nets to the windows so no privacy unless we kept the curtains pulled all day, staff worked really hard but there were not enough of them to cope asked to cancel our dinner as it was not good enough for the price and were told we could cancel but still had to pay for it. The spa was good if a little crowded at times, more than the stated 5 minutes to the centre of town. The noise from the air conditioning units outside kept us awake for 3 nights, wouldn't go again.

  • L Hatfield

  • August 2014

Excellent hotel. Staff very helpful

Would stay again

  • patrick byrne

  • August 2014

two day break.

a nice clean hotel.lovely swimming pool,also great spa room in basement of hotel.

  • Ian J

  • August 2014

Hotel staff were pleasant & helpful, but due to a large function taking place, standard hotel guests seemed to take second place.

it was difficult to get a late drink as the bar was unmanned due o a shortage of staff & those that were on duty were having to operate at both the function & the bar. The room. although spacious & comfortable was extremely hot & it proved necessary to have a fan running all night to assist in staying comfortable. The facilities seemed satisfactory, but we never made use of them as it was only a single nights stay.

  • karen m

  • August 2014

unfortunate surprise

claiming to be a four star hotel at the website made me go for this hotel.

much to my dismay, when my boyfriend and i got to the hotel, everything just didnt turn out as i expected it to be. we were greeted by guests (2 separate occasions) complaining about their rooms in the front desk.. assigned at the top floor, we had to take the stairs as the lift only goes as high as the third floor. when we got out of the lift, there were used linens along the hallway and the carpet looked like it wasn't cleaned at all in ages. the stairway was too narrow. when we entered our room, we were greeted with a dirty desk fan (no air-conditioning). the toilet was clean, but it looked like it could use some refurbishing.

the pool, spa facilities and gym facilities were fairly pleasant.

the breakfast was good enough, basic.

to be fair though, they moved us to a bigger room after complaining to the manager. the bathroom sink was faulty in the new room. the ceiling fan stopped working in the middle of the night.