Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Parkstone Hotels > Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
(Formally the Durley Hall Hotel & Spa) Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS
A stylish, contemporary hotel with superb leisure club & spa facilities. Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth is ideally located close to the town centre with its array of shops, restaurants, bars and beaches just a 5 minute stroll away. The pleasant lounge-bar, garden and health spa make it an ideal choice for a relaxing weekend break. FREE car parking and FREE Wi-Fi are included.
Each of the 83 bedrooms and suites in our Bournemouth hotel are beautifully designed and have a 32” flat screen TV with freeview, free internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern en-suite bathroom.
The Brasserie restaurant offers fine dining in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The best ingredients are sourced and carefully prepared to create satisfying, tasty food whether you select our early evening tapas or a more hearty three-course meal.

**Extra beds are suitable for children under the age of 12, Extra beds are NOT suitable for adults. Extra beds incur a cost of £25 per person per night.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth , Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful, cheerful staff that compliments a lovely hotel.
All of the staff were pleasant, attentive and helpful. Food was lovely as was the room and the spa facilities were much needed. We are already planning a return and would definately recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
amanda davies

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice.
A very nice hotel with helpful staff and great food.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay BUT this hotel is tired and needs a significant make over. 4 stars closer to 2 imo
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the room acceptable.
That said this hotel is shabby and below the surface you find a tired, dirty and pootly maintained establishment e.g the mens changing room of the Spa, the shower has black mould around the tray, the wood around the toilet and entry door rotten and badly stained. In the steam room only 2 of the 6 lights were working and the steam outlet is peeling away from the wall with a number of bits having fallen off and resting on the floor. This lack of attention to maintenance is repeated in the main bar area which looks more modern and clean but again less than half of the lights in sky light were working.
Of course we did not let this apparent systemic hotel management failure affect our short break but alas, given other 4 star rated hotels at similar prices nearby, we would be trying them out should we return to the area.

Reviewed by
colin h

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay very enjoyable

Reviewed by
P Chick

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt the menu was very limited and if you were staying more than a couple of nights and eating in the restaurant you would get bored of the selection.
I observed several people having to ask where their food was due to the long wait after ordering it.
The carpet on the third floor looked like it has been leaked all over and was not pleasant. The room was sufficent but my husband had arranged for rose petals and a desert to be left on our bed on arrival. This was done but the plate with the remainder of the desert was left in our room to go mouldy for 3 days despite the rest of the room beign cleaned. My husband also requested champagne as a birthday surprise but it did not materialise so we complained on checkout and had to demand a refund as the reception staff just stood there looking at us with nothing to say. The rooms did not have air conditioning and were very hot, likewise there was no heater if the room was cold in the winter. I would possibly stay again.

Reviewed by
Michelle T

From Slough, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, but small changes can make it fantastic
I enjoyed staying at the hotel. However, two small points, it would be great to have a small fridge in the room and perhaps a small safe. There was a fan, but I think air-con would have been nicer. The room was clean, loved the large tv and I enjoyed the coffe and biscuits. Bathroom etc was great. Friendly and helpful people at reception and their service beat many of the places I have been to in terms of friendliness. I only stayed for 3 days, but the lift broke down 3 times a day (luckily I wasn't in it) and I was on the top floor. Breakfast was really great and I loved the swimming pool. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anybody.

Reviewed by
A Beyer

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We were expecting a lot more from this hotel as it was a 4 star hotel. However, when we arrived the rom had no WIFI as advertised and despite telling hem twice during our stay this wasn't rectified. Also, the shower was appalling . The pressure was nt good enough and one only got a good spray when it was on cold. We wanted to go out for a meal Saturday night and the hot water wouldn't work. We rang to complain and initaly they didn't believe us with questions like, are you sure... We wouldn't have rung if we weren't sure. Eventuallly, a man fom the hotel arrived, fiddled with it for a few minutes and said it s ok now and eft. We were left with the tap running in the sink and a dribble from the shower with hot water intermitely. Not enough to wash a baby. So we couldn't go out as we were unclean having spent a lovely day t the Air show. We had to eat in our room
Also , the breakfast staff were quite surly and the food not brilliant .
We were compensated financially for the problems in the room, when i complained, but it shouldn't hav happened in the first place.
In our opinion , having stayed in lots of hotels , this is nt a 4 star hotel and we won't be staying there again.

Reviewed by
S Ovens

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallmark Hotels Bournemouth
There was no air-conditioning which made sleeping very uncomfortable! had to keep the windows open all night as we located at the back of the hotel we could hear bottles being dropped into the recycling units, which woke us up.
Room needed decorating, cracks on the walls, paint work needed refreshing.
Bathroom especially around the bath taps needed cleaning and grouting in places was black and needed a thorough clean.

Reviewed by
M Goater

From Hatfield, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities, room smaller than expected
Reception staff good, greeted us warmly and were helpful with booking in. Good sizeed car park. Lift useful for getting luggage to 2nd floor. Bit disappointed with size of room compared to picture on web-site which showed a spacious room with an additional sofa. Bed comfortable. Good room facilities i.e. T.V., iron, hair-dryer.
Thought the spa faiclities were very good as was the pool. Not clear where to get towels from for the pool. Information folder in room was O.K. but could have done with more details on use of spa - it was mentioned but still had lots of questions to ask when I got there. Location good but a map of the town might have been a useful addition to info. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice and helpful staff. Lounge/bar area spacious, light and welcoming Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
C Payne

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely lil getaway
Stayed here with my fiancée for her bday for three nights, was a lil getaway for us both and really enjoyed it. 2 swimming pools to use, gym, sauna, steam room and if you like you treat yourself to a massage that I brought for me n the mrs. All I can say is wow to this! Was so lush. New girl called flora done mine and she was so professional and sweet. Highly recommend staying at hotel.

Reviewed by
Graham Scott-Stewart

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next