Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff


Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS

Price From 195.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (138)

51% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ben M

  • October 2014

Not bad. Won't be staying there again to be fair.

We have stayed at this hotel before.

The room was pretty disappointing small and smelt of paint the walls had holes in the wall that had been filled that morning and not been painted over the sink also has a large crack in it. The spa and bar where nice and the good was very good. I don't think I will be coming to stay again.

  • l taylor

  • October 2014

nice hotel with a handy location to the center,the only negative was we was first down for brakfaast

nice hotel with a handy location to the center,the only negative was we was first down for brakfaast and when the hot food came out it was not very warm and most get even cooler the longer its out

  • Keith S

  • October 2014

Do not stay here the rooms are dated damp very badly maintained all weekend all I herd was people complaining about the rooms and lack of staff.

I can honestly say I'd never come back again wish I'd have read the complaints before I booked the room. What a waste of money.

  • Paul M

  • October 2014

A very pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff

very happy with our visit, the only thing that let this review slip was the age of the finish and fittings of the room.

The bathroom suit, the mattress and the general paintwork was old. Facilities were great and the restaurant food was excellent especially the buffet breakfast. Nice hotel, thank you.

  • B Folly

  • October 2014

We were on the top floor ,no lift .

Spa was a little grubby

Receptionist on arrival unfriendly no smile or welcome

  • T Haywood

  • October 2014

Good location, ok spa. Overall a bit disappointing .

I took my partner here for a relaxing break and although the spa was good (average) I was a little disappointed as I was expecting more from a 4 star.

Thankfully we did not pay the non discounted price of way over £100 a night but even for the amount I spent the room was not right, it was right next to the noisy ventilation system and had no aircon', so you had to open the windows which meant the noise was worse, the tap was loose, there was a badly patched hole in the bathroom door and the TV picked up limited stations. The breakfast was fairly good but the whole place had a "just scraping by" feel about it. I really should have complained about that room. Oh and the lift has not worked since at least august looking at the other reviews.


  • October 2014

Great value!

Had a fantastic last minute get away ...lovely room, meal and spa!.


  • Lauren G

  • October 2014

Great room at a good price. Second night was double the price though.

Massive room.

Very nice and clean. Think they mistakenly tried to let someone else in our room in the second night though!?!. We stayed an extra night but were charged more than double the first night cost. Would stay again though - a very good hotel.

  • James L

  • October 2014

4 star?? Surely you need to have some form of customer service to get 4 stars?

Location - The hotel is easy to find and is about a 15minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth (although there is a steep hill to walk up to get back from hotel).

Apprearance - the main areas of the hotel look nice and show that money has been spent on them. It's a shame that the rooms/corridors upstairs haven't had quite as much money spent on them. Noise - the traffic is noisy throughout the night. Also within the hotel the doors slam shut

Lift - the sole lift was out of action (and had been for ages apparently). Three flights of stairs (including some really steep ones) wouldn't be very easy for someone with limited mobility. Service - the receptionist on arrival was quite abrupt. We had to wait over 10 minutes to get seated at dinner and also at the bar. They didnt bother to clean our room and when I asked why not they couldnt explain and receptionist (a different one) was rude. Food - the food in restaurant was over-priced for what we got but the breakfast was really good. Swimming pool - this is in a very prominent location with direct views of the pool from the bar which put us off swimming. Overall, it was a good hotel (other than the service) but not worth it's 4 star rating/cost - there must be much better value/quality of hotel nearby.

  • Rebecca C

  • September 2014


We stayed for 1 night for about £52.

I would not have wanted to pay more. The room was in need of some refurbishment and repair. The most disappointing was the very over priced food. It was tasty but tiny portions and inaccurate descriptions. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the spa facilities but again some repair and tidying up required.