Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Parkstone Hotels > Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
(Formally the Durley Hall Hotel & Spa) Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS
A stylish, contemporary hotel with superb leisure club & spa facilities. Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth is ideally located close to the town centre with its array of shops, restaurants, bars and beaches just a 5 minute stroll away. The pleasant lounge-bar, garden and health spa make it an ideal choice for a relaxing weekend break. FREE car parking and FREE Wi-Fi are included.
Each of the 83 bedrooms and suites in our Bournemouth hotel are beautifully designed and have a 32” flat screen TV with freeview, free internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern en-suite bathroom.
The Brasserie restaurant offers fine dining in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The best ingredients are sourced and carefully prepared to create satisfying, tasty food whether you select our early evening tapas or a more hearty three-course meal.

**Extra beds are suitable for children under the age of 12, Extra beds are NOT suitable for adults. Extra beds incur a cost of £25 per person per night.
Picture of Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth , Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two day holiday break
Very good experience.The only complaint was that the room was a bit too small.apart from that the hotel was very good.

Reviewed by
Jack bernstein

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointing Stay
Our room was extremely small and cramped, peeling paint, dirty net curtains, no heating, matress too big for base, were kept awake till 12 and woken at 7 by loud banging pipes whenever rooms next door and our own taps were turned on, i spoke to the manageress about this but she clearly didnt want to know, the hotel really doesnt deserve 4 stars its definately 3 star, other staff were very helpful and pleasant

Reviewed by
nick s

From worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Proabably wouldn't go back
Hallmark was probably 3*, but the communal areas were very untidy, needed a clean and a paint, and the staff were pretty uninteresting in helping the guests.
There is a pool, which was a draw for the children, but it was very cold and very dirty. Changing rooms were even worse. There was a spa, which looked nice, but children were not allowed. Overall I think I could have found better accommodation for the cost.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stopped in room 82 ..... very basic. Just enough room to walk round the bed. Could do with abit of a refurb. Pigeons very annoying outside. They seem to gather at the top of the fire escape.

Reviewed by
Darren G

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little rough around the edges
We seen the photos on here and logged on to the Hallmark Hotel website, on seeing the website we thought wow it looks amazing at a great price. We arrived and instantly thought we had arrived at the wrong hotel! Outside the hotel looks very run down and inside this continues in parts. We checked into room 36. The room itself has undergone a slight modernisation but has much room for improvement. The more you looked into the room there were broken fittings, very tired paintwork and not the pictures we seen on the website! We looked at the brochure in the room and all the photos in there are from other chains of the hotel.
The main problem we had was the room temperature. The room had a ceiling fan which worked but was not effective. The room was like a sauna all night. This was a problem as we stayed with a 16 month old and he didn't sleep well at all, of which I'm not surprised as even I had to sleep on top of the sheets in very little.
We stayed for a dinner bed and breakfast break and the food was actually very good so this was a plus side.
For the main reasons above I would not stay here again as we are used to much higher standards from a 4 star hotel.

Reviewed by
L Whitehead

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, clean room but a bit tired
Staff were really helpful and friendly and the bar area was nice. Breakfast was well worth the money. The rooms need up dating, especially the bathroom. Our bath creaked when you stepped in and I was worried about having a bath (pictured falling through the ceiling!). There was a loft hatch which banged every time you opened the bathroom door and the ceiling was brown and peeling. Having said this it was all clean and the room was very cheap so overal we were pleased. The pool looked nice.

Reviewed by
Hannah R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

80

Reviewed by
Oriyomi O'Peters

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallmark
Great hotel, mattress was not too standard but the rest was great.

Reviewed by
Scott M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Time I Stayed
The Customer Service levels were really poor. I was struggling with my bags no offer to help and there were enough staff wandering about and on reception,
There was a confusion over whether breakfast was included the person who checked me in said well go and have breakfast in the morning anyway and we'll sort it out.
At breakfast 5 different members of staff came to my table whilst having some coffee and toast (that was it) quite aggressive with attitude asking about the confusion over breakfast. I told them to liase with the lady on reception who had told me to come and have breakfast anyway. I was made to feel very uncomfortable.
On checking out no help with bags again so had to leave them whilst i went to get my car. They not only added the breakfast to my bill but at double the price - when i noticed this there was no apology.
I often go to Bournemouth as its where my head office is and I would not stay here again.
Hotel nice the staff are horrendous.

Reviewed by
Dawn T

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel with excellent facilities
Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in March. Staff were very polite and friendly. Room was a little on the small side but beautifully decorated and very clean. Bar and restaurant lovely, we opted to eat in once we had seen the amazing menu! Pool and additional spa great, sadly the spa developed a leak while we were visiting so we had to leave, but the staff were very apologetic about this and compensated us with free tapas and a glass of wine. Would love to return again.

Reviewed by
George C

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next