No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
(Formally the Durley Hall Hotel & Spa) Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS
A stylish, contemporary hotel with superb leisure club & spa facilities. Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth is ideally located close to the town centre with its array of shops, restaurants, bars and beaches just a 5 minute stroll away. The pleasant lounge-bar, garden and health spa make it an ideal choice for a relaxing weekend break. FREE car parking and FREE Wi-Fi are included.
Each of the 83 bedrooms and suites in our Bournemouth hotel are beautifully designed and have a 32” flat screen TV with freeview, free internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern en-suite bathroom.
The Brasserie restaurant offers fine dining in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The best ingredients are sourced and carefully prepared to create satisfying, tasty food whether you select our early evening tapas or a more hearty three-course meal.

**Extra beds are suitable for children under the age of 12, Extra beds are NOT suitable for adults. Extra beds incur a cost of £25 per person per night.

*** Please note due to essential maintenance work the lift is currently out of order at the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth ***
Picture of Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth , Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 star?? Surely you need to have some form of customer service to get 4 stars?
Location - The hotel is easy to find and is about a 15minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth (although there is a steep hill to walk up to get back from hotel).
Apprearance - the main areas of the hotel look nice and show that money has been spent on them. It's a shame that the rooms/corridors upstairs haven't had quite as much money spent on them.
Noise - the traffic is noisy throughout the night. Also within the hotel the doors slam shut
Lift - the sole lift was out of action (and had been for ages apparently). Three flights of stairs (including some really steep ones) wouldn't be very easy for someone with limited mobility.
Service - the receptionist on arrival was quite abrupt. We had to wait over 10 minutes to get seated at dinner and also at the bar. They didnt bother to clean our room and when I asked why not they couldnt explain and receptionist (a different one) was rude.
Food - the food in restaurant was over-priced for what we got but the breakfast was really good.
Swimming pool - this is in a very prominent location with direct views of the pool from the bar which put us off swimming.
Overall, it was a good hotel (other than the service) but not worth it's 4 star rating/cost - there must be much better value/quality of hotel nearby.

Reviewed by
James L

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room at a good price. Second night was double the price though.
Massive room. Very nice and clean. Think they mistakenly tried to let someone else in our room in the second night though!?!? We stayed an extra night but were charged more than double the first night cost. Would stay again though - a very good hotel.

Reviewed by
Lauren G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 4 star room
No air con, very hot at night. No fridge or safe in room.
Had to wait as room was not cleaned in time.
Hotel staff were helpful when you could find them.
Not a nice part in Bournemouth as my metal wheel dust caps stolen from the car park. Will make sure the accomodation is in a better area next time.

Reviewed by
Marc S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment
We stayed for 1 night for about £52. I would not have wanted to pay more. The room was in need of some refurbishment and repair.
The most disappointing was the very over priced food. It was tasty but tiny portions and inaccurate descriptions.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the spa facilities but again some repair and tidying up required.

Reviewed by
Rebecca C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
Good value for the money, spa is a bonus, great breakfast not to be missed. Plenty of parking. Will stay again, free wifi available in bar area and foyer,did hear someone moan that it wasnt available in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and facility's
The room we had was rubbish it was very small and very hot and noisy as it was by the hotel kitchens the tolite holder in the bathroom was loose and the sink made gurgling noises at night a also the was a wedding going on in the function room in the hotel and the music was being played very loud we could here it in our room also the spa jucuzzi was out of order dueto a problem so in all I did not think this hotel was value for money I would not stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
s mclaren

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spa break
Enjoyable stay staff friendly and welcoming but we like to experience difference types of accommodation.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must do better
£2 Million has aparantly been spent recently on this hotel and from the outside it looks reasonbable. The reception and bar area is also good. The problem comes when you go up to the rooms. While the carpet is new the rooms and corridors are tired. While they have tried to do something with the rooms and the beds are new, the rest looks tired and past its best. I thought the hotel was expensive and not good value. It needs looking at. Not sure if that is the average for Bournemouth now. The area once good looks to going downhill. In summary a last resort hotel, not one you would really want to eat in. Forgettable in every way.

Reviewed by

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms pretty shabby. The lift was broken and no help offered with bags. WIFI didn't work in my room so I got moved, but it still didn't work. The spa is tiny and packed. A let down in every area. I would not stay again.

Reviewed by
K Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but needs some improvements
Overall we had a positive experience, the only issues I have is the bed covers smelt a bit damp and I didn't sleep well because if this. We loved the spa however the changing rooms needed a regular clean. Staff were very friendly and excellent location to beach.

Reviewed by
M Sagoo

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next