Hallmark Hotel & Spa Bournemouth

4

(Formally the Durley Hall Hotel & Spa) Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS

Price From 91.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (154)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Hannah R

  • April 2014

Lovely staff, clean room but a bit tired

Staff were really helpful and friendly and the bar area was nice.

Breakfast was well worth the money. The rooms need up dating, especially the bathroom. Our bath creaked when you stepped in and I was worried about having a bath (pictured falling through the ceiling!). There was a loft hatch which banged every time you opened the bathroom door and the ceiling was brown and peeling. Having said this it was all clean and the room was very cheap so overal we were pleased. The pool looked nice.

  • Oriyomi O'Peters

  • April 2014

80

  • L Whitehead

  • April 2014

A little rough around the edges

We seen the photos on here and logged on to the Hallmark Hotel website, on seeing the website we thought wow it looks amazing at a great price.

We arrived and instantly thought we had arrived at the wrong hotel. Outside the hotel looks very run down and inside this continues in parts. We checked into room 36. The room itself has undergone a slight modernisation but has much room for improvement. The more you looked into the room there were broken fittings, very tired paintwork and not the pictures we seen on the website. We looked at the brochure in the room and all the photos in there are from other chains of the hotel.

The main problem we had was the room temperature. The room had a ceiling fan which worked but was not effective. The room was like a sauna all night. This was a problem as we stayed with a 16 month old and he didn't sleep well at all, of which I'm not surprised as even I had to sleep on top of the sheets in very little.

We stayed for a dinner bed and breakfast break and the food was actually very good so this was a plus side. For the main reasons above I would not stay here again as we are used to much higher standards from a 4 star hotel.

  • Scott M

  • April 2014

Hallmark

Great hotel, mattress was not too standard but the rest was great.

  • Dawn T

  • March 2014

First Time I Stayed

The Customer Service levels were really poor.

I was struggling with my bags no offer to help and there were enough staff wandering about and on reception,

There was a confusion over whether breakfast was included the person who checked me in said well go and have breakfast in the morning anyway and we'll sort it out.

At breakfast 5 different members of staff came to my table whilst having some coffee and toast (that was it) quite aggressive with attitude asking about the confusion over breakfast. I told them to liase with the lady on reception who had told me to come and have breakfast anyway. I was made to feel very uncomfortable. On checking out no help with bags again so had to leave them whilst i went to get my car. They not only added the breakfast to my bill but at double the price - when i noticed this there was no apology. I often go to Bournemouth as its where my head office is and I would not stay here again. Hotel nice the staff are horrendous.

  • George C

  • March 2014

Wonderful hotel with excellent facilities

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in March.

Staff were very polite and friendly. Room was a little on the small side but beautifully decorated and very clean. Bar and restaurant lovely, we opted to eat in once we had seen the amazing menu. Pool and additional spa great, sadly the spa developed a leak while we were visiting so we had to leave, but the staff were very apologetic about this and compensated us with free tapas and a glass of wine. Would love to return again.

  • g price

  • March 2014

Nice staff room a bit run down. Blankets. On bed not duvet USA real no no realy good breakfast

Bath shower pannel missing with outer rim still in place room needs undateing publi c areas realy nice

  • Patricia Brown-Paul

  • March 2014

An excellent hotel that could do with somone with an eye for the minute

The hotel staff were beyond excellent, we had a leak in the ceiling in our bathroom and were immediately transferred to another room.

Staff were unfailing cheerful, polite and helpful, they make the hotel.

  • neale w

  • February 2014

Hallmark Review

On arrival at the Hallmark Hotel we were given our room keys.

The room we were allocated smelled musty/stale like the odour of cigarettes. It was also basic with a tiny old fashioned bathroom. We asked to be moved because of the smell and the room we were given was nicer, smelled fine and was ok. The hotel itself is is need of work. There were water leaks from the roof, and the general condition was poor. The staff were very friendly and helpful though. I would not return.

  • Sharon W

  • January 2014

Not worth the money, very disappointing

The overall look and feel of the hotel was tired and in need of decorating the furnishings and flooring were worn and shabby, when entering the hotel it had a damp musty smell which was throughout the hotel.

The quality of the decorating that had take place was not of a good standard and finish. No heating was on in the room although it was mid January, the bedding was one sheet, one blanket and a throw with no additional blankets in the room so was very cold. The bathroom was let down by the fact the water needed a pump which was very noisy when neighbouring rooms used their water, the shower had no power and barely dripped water out of the very small shower head, no slip mat provided which was needed as the bath was old fashioned with a very rounded base also no caution signs. not a pleasant stay or worth the money will not stay here again.