No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aztec Hotel & Spa - Shire Hotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
110 Aztec West Almondsbury, Bristol, BS32 4TS
A Shire Hotel and Spa - A stylish 4 star hotel. Situated just off the M4/M5 the hotel is ideally located for Bristol, Cardiff, Bath or maybe a stopover on the way to the south west. All hotel bedrooms are bright and airy and designed with plenty of space to help you relax and unwind. All rooms are non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. With great Spa facilities including 13m pool and air-conditioned gym, and an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant. We pride ourselves on our service levels to ensure all our guests receive the very best customer care.

Car Parking is chargeable mid week and complimentary to all our weekend guests

Please note that between 24th & 27th December, there will be no restaurant or bar facilities available with the exception of breakfast - spa will be on restricted hours over this period. On New Years Eve, there will be no dinner available.
Picture of Aztec Hotel & Spa - Shire Hotels, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay bit some areas not so great
We are regular visitors at this hotel as it's ideal for getting into Bristol. The staff are lovely, clean rooms and super food. However the last few times we have had a real gripe with the spa facilities. It is advertised as a Spa hotel but it also has club members so Saturday and Sunday the pool is full of screaming children, not what you want if you are away for a relaxing break. This weekend there was also a party of 19 women staying so we couldn't even use the spa on Saturday as it was full all day. I think if the hotel does that they should make the party rent out the spa and tell other guests on booking so they can chose a different weekend. As my daughter and I went for a spa weekend it was very disappointing and not the first time.

Reviewed by
Helena S

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was good once we had overcome the apparent fact that they had no knowledge of our reservation!
Very poor start to the hotel experience since they did not have any reservation for us.
Once they had found us a room, the experience was good.

Reviewed by
C Weir

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
Once again we had a great stay here. The hotel has been painted inside and is fresh and clean and light. The rooms are lovely and nicely decorated. The staff are, as ever, a delight and cannot be more helpful or friendly. The cooked breakfast is one of the best I have had in a hotel. The spa facilities remain excellent .The addition of a pool attendant is a great idea and they could not have employed a nicer, more helpful young man. We love this hotel and after four years of staying here will come back over and over again. For anyone having a weekend break in Bristol this hotel is ideal.

Reviewed by
Helena S

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend break with a young child
I needed a hotel in Bristol for a Saturday that would be comfortable and safe for my family as I was going to a late night party. After some research on LateRooms, I chose the Aztec Hotel and Spa. The consideration was between proximity to the city centre (Aztec is about 6-7 miles out) and amenities (Aztec has a pool!), so amenities won.
On arrival, the reception staff were very personable and efficient. No worries there. A really nice feature is that you can arrange cookies and milk for your childs' bedtime.
The pool was a hit with my 4 year old daughter - we swam on the Saturday afternoon and again on the Sunday morning - the swimsuit spin-dryers helped here! Although we didn't use the gym or spa facilities, I would definitely do so next time. The gym/fitness centre was huge - way bigger than any hotel gym tends to be.
We had an early dinner in the bar (steaks for me & my wife, scampi for my daughter) which went down very well. There was an unexpectedly good selection of beers at the bar (from Thwaites brewery), and the wine was enjoyed too.
The cookies (actually, a giant cookie with my daughter's name written in chocolate) and milk arrived bang on time, prompting smiles all round!
Being out of the city centre, taxi costs are a consideration. It cost me £26 going into town and £29 coming back after midnight.
The bed was extremely comfy, the room & hotel was quiet. Only the sound of the occasional emergency service siren disrupted sleep a bit (the hotel is on the A38 just before the M5 junction).
All in all, it was great! I'll definitely use it again.

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent business hotel

There is very little not to like in the Aztec Hotel. The rooms are more than comfortable, everything that is needed is there and works, the wi-fi is free and not congested at peak times. There's plenty of car parking, controlled by security barrier but the ticket once validated by reception allows you in and out at will. The breakfast spread is excellent, as is the service; the evening restaurant menu and service are also good. There is a swimming pool in the spa annex which looked fairly popular. Being on a commercial park it is clearly a hotel virtually all of whose customers are there on business, which becomes obvious after five minutes at the bar in the evening.
Really the only negatives are that it's not cheap, and it has a rather sprawling layout so that it's not so easy to find your way around initially. But after the first day there's no problem. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Tim Williams

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room for 3. Sofa bed was good and already set up on arrival. Pool very nice. Only downside is a bit of a journey from Bristol centre. Near Cribbs for shops which pleased teenager.

Reviewed by
Julia B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing accommodation
The hotel is beautiful with a relaxed feeling throughout and the staff are very polite and helpful. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the food was fabulous. All in all the standards were immaculate and I'd highly recommend staying here!

Reviewed by
David Alun Watkins

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay!
Everything was fantastic! Only little thing was bathroom could do with updating. Staff were excellent. Breakfast was great loads of choice! Spa was lovely and comes with its own pool porter! Overall a great weekend at this hotel

Reviewed by
H Boulton

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not have asked for more
The hotel is on a business park, just off the motorway, some miles away from Bristol City centre. Sounds unpromising for a short family break to see Bristol, right? In fact we loved every minute - everything was just right: the family room was perfectly prepared, complimentary water, milk and juice in the fridge instead of a pricey "mini bar", bedtime cookies and milk for children (delivered to the room at the time we chose), and with the room, bar, restaurant, lovely pool and gym just a few paces apart... And it took exactly 20 minutes to drive right to the centre of Bristol, parking just behind the Watershed. We may well be back.

Reviewed by
Adrian P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
I was travelling alone with my young son, the hotel was easy to find, free parking close to reception, immediately welcoming staff. The hotel has wide plush corridors and we had a ground floor room. The beds were very comfortable, the room was sound proof despite there being a wedding reception in the hotel, and we got up at 8am for a swim in an empty pool. I would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
sally w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next