Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Penrith Hotels > North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ullswater Road , Penrith, CA11 8QT
The North Lakes Hotel and Spa provides the perfect base for Lake
District breaks, you don't have to be a hardened hill walker to enjoy
all that the Lake District has to offer. Its stunning scenery lends
itself perfectly to leisurely lake cruises and sightseeing. Naturally,
lovers of the great outdoors are also catered for. We are ideally
located for both Lake Ullswater; which is just down the road, and Lake
Windermere; a 35 minute drive away. So if you are looking to explore
the lakes either on foot or by boats such as the Ullswater Steamers we
are the perfect base for your Lake District holiday.

The North Lakes Hotel and Spa is very popular with families due to the
variety of rooms. Stylishly furnished, each room has fresh milk and a
newspaper delivered daily. Guests can relax with cosy beds, free bottled
water, and freshly ground coffee and tea in the rooms.

Boasting an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, Splash Time in our pool,
great kids menus, our Trekkers Den full of games and activities, and so
much more, North Lakes Hotel offers Lake District family holidays that
top all others.

Whether you're visiting for work or play, the stylish contemporary guest rooms , award
winning dining options and complimentary Spa facilities and free WIFI throughout will help to make your stay with us that little bit more
special.

Picture of North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


The hotel was lovely, the rooms have everything you need and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down side was there isn't very much to do locally but all in all was a relaxing break.

Reviewed by
J Winter

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location and a welcome break
Stayed here on route from Scotland and made full use of the spa and gym facilities; including a fitness class early the next morning. Food in the restaurant was excellent although the waiter didn't know what beer he had? Woke up the next morning to find contractors refurbishing a room a couple of doors down. Although I suppose it has to be done at some time. Fabulous location for the lakes so took advantage to drive past ullswater on the way home. I would have no hesitation staying again and would recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great get away !
Great place to just escape to whenever you need a week away !!

Reviewed by
M Rowlands

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely touches that no other hotel has done
On arrival a cookie for our three children with their names painted on the plates in chocolate. Fridge in room which was well stocked with kids drinks water and proper milk - not usual UHT stuff plus hot chocolate and raisin and crisps snacks,

Reviewed by
Vicky K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing break
Great hotel, had a lovely relaxing break, enjoyed the use of the spa. Restaurant was lovely, great choices. All round friendly staff. Would recommend and go back

Reviewed by
J Cox

From Easington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed-Not as expected or advertised.
Having paid for an upgraded room, we were disappointed to find a rather dated small room with very little storage space for our clothes (one small draw and four clothes hangers for a family of four?) needless to say we lived from our suitcases. The children were given fairly old bunk beds that squeaked whenever they moved in the night. We found previous occupiers clothes in the one drawer on arrival which although were promptly removed after complaining clearly highlighted a lack of care and inspection. The bathroom was very dated and dirty, which we cleaned ourselves rather than complain again. Damp pillows that had an unpleasant aroma and had to be changed before use. The promise of nightly milk and biscuits for the children was for the first night only along with the four soft drinks in the mini fridge. Will not be returning or recommending this hotel!

Reviewed by
Christopher F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superior room needs more
Superior room - needs more than just extra space and settee e.g. a superking size bed with better quality bedlinen
Great location for breaking journey when travelling north/south to/from Scotland.

Reviewed by
Maureen T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didnt feel it was good value for money
Arrived on the 11th, was greeted by the staff and told where our Room was, Room was no where near the standard i was expecting for the money i was paying. Room was bland and boring, Standard bed poor quality TV with 3 or 4 good channels. View was poor and shower was like a leaky tap.
Spar facilities were great but the "spar" treatments were far to expensive.
Pool was okay, Jacuzzi was good too as well as the steam room.
Was booked in for 2 nights but only stayed for one and asked for a refund on the second night as i didn't want to waste my money on a 1* room that didn't even include breakfast.
Travel Lodge 0.5 miles away from the hotel, Id suggest looking there before you look here. Probably better value for money and you will get a breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Fellowes

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strong focus on customer service
excellent restaurant and spa

Reviewed by
Peter Nicholson

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, just north of the Lakes, for visiting Lake District, Cumbria & Roman Vindolanda
Spent 3 nights with my family at the hotel. The convenient location just north of the Lakes meant it was ideal for visiting the Lake District and Cumbria. Our family also had a most enjoyable 2 days visiting Hadrian's Wall, Roman Vindolanda and The Roman Army Museum.
The hotel rooms themselves are reasonably spacious and clean and a good range of snacks & coffee is on offer. We appreciated the "little welcoming extras" like the Nespresso machine, personalised biscuits for the children and mini bath robes for children. The free WIFI is a problem - our 1st room had no reception at all but the hotel kindly upgraded us to a suite. TV reception is also poor. The rooms are poorly insulated so any noise between rooms or children running up and down the corridors reverberates through the room. We were able to use the pool and spa although over the weekend the pool was exceedingly busy with very small children so swimming lengths was impossible. The pool is also poorly lit so swimming serious lengths is difficult even when not busy.
We did not eat at the hotel as prices are rather extortionate (breakfast £14 per person or £12.75 if booked the night before and £16 if you want it in your room).
Parking is free outside the hotel but is limited and does get busy.
Would we stay again? - possibly but it is certainly on the expensive side.

Reviewed by
Anna B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next