Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Penrith Hotels > North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ullswater Road , Penrith, CA11 8QT
The North Lakes Hotel and Spa provides the perfect base for Lake
District breaks, you don't have to be a hardened hill walker to enjoy
all that the Lake District has to offer. Its stunning scenery lends
itself perfectly to leisurely lake cruises and sightseeing. Naturally,
lovers of the great outdoors are also catered for. We are ideally
located for both Lake Ullswater; which is just down the road, and Lake
Windermere; a 35 minute drive away. So if you are looking to explore
the lakes either on foot or by boats such as the Ullswater Steamers we
are the perfect base for your Lake District holiday.

The North Lakes Hotel and Spa is very popular with families due to the
variety of rooms. Stylishly furnished, each room has fresh milk and a
newspaper delivered daily. Guests can relax with cosy beds, free bottled
water, and freshly ground coffee and tea in the rooms.

Boasting an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, Splash Time in our pool,
great kids menus, our Trekkers Den full of games and activities, and so
much more, North Lakes Hotel offers Lake District family holidays that
top all others.

Whether you're visiting for work or play, the stylish contemporary guest rooms , award
winning dining options and complimentary Spa facilities and free WIFI throughout will help to make your stay with us that little bit more
special.

Picture of North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gateway to the Lakes
The North Lakes Hotel is a place that stands out because of its eye-catching design. It looks completely unlike any other hotel in Penrith. With its sense of style and spa facilities it's a great destination for couples. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar food and service were really good. The only aspect of our stay that was a bit disappointing was that in relation to our children. We booked a room that could sleep ourselves and our three children but the sofa bed and bunks that they slept on weren't the most comfortable. I asked the staff if they had suites, thinking that these would offer more space, and was told that they did but that these were not available to families. The best we could do if we stayed again was two rooms with an inter-connecting door but then you're talking double the price which would put it out of our budget. That aside its in a great location and I would certainly recommend it to couples.

Reviewed by
Colin G

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was lovely we got a free upgrade! Had a fold out double bed for my 3yr old and a proper cot for my 1yr old. Fire alarm went off at 9pm so had to take kids into the car park and staff were so nice and apologetic. The only thing I didn't like was the menu for the kids at lunch time as it was very fancy and not much choice! Although there was plenty places nearby to get something!

Reviewed by
C Noble

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was top qyality in every way. Room wad excellent, facilities were exceptiinal.
The hotel was top qyality in every way. Room wad excellent, facilities were exceptiinal.

Reviewed by
j palmer

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend
Reception staff could not have been more helpful the room and facilities were great and the restaurant staff were second to none , even though some of them were young and would not have had the experience of others they were brilliant informative and attentive the food was fabulous ,all in all excellent .will be returning soon

Reviewed by
b keenan

From Kilbirnie, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5*
We had a lovely time, my son was so excited to see his name on a cookie with additional goodies .
The food was lovely , we just had a blast which we could have stayed longer. But I will be back !!!!

Reviewed by
C EDWARDS

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good accomodation
had a very pleasant stay once again, first class hotel and spa.

Reviewed by
J Willimas

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night review
Nice hotel, we dubious after viewing some other reviews but found these to be totally unfounded. Clean, good food, good service and friendly staff. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
Glynn C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rifiats coachong visit
Super customer service. Staff were great., overall it was a very satisfying stay . Food was excellent

Reviewed by
Rifiat Bibi

From Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So much promise!
Ambiance was good overall but lots of kids running up and down corridors and the resonance of their footfall was very intrusive and disturbing. More noise limiting/suppression required - doors to accommodation tended to close and echo very loudly! The room was comfortable and clean but the duvet provided for the king size bed was only for a double bed - not nearly big enough! The Restaurant experience was disappointing - a very limited menu but with pretensions of gourmet dining - judging by the slightly inflated price! I had lamb which was tasteless until I applied seasoning! Most dishes were laced with garlic which tended to dominate other flavours. My wife is allergic to garlic (as are many people!) and her menu choice was extremely limited. The breakfast was a great disappointment - buffet style but served by staff, sausages which were really chipolatas (and well over seasoned) and did not reflect expectations. The bacon was salty and became very tough on the plate and the hash browns supplied were overcooked and crunchy as opposed to a hint of crispness with a flavoursome fluffy potato as expected! The waiting staff were excellent but powerless to do anything about the quality of the food. I enjoyed the first pot of coffee I had but found a second helping (pot) to be watery and undrinkable!

Reviewed by
Yani Rugins de Montoya

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good service and facilities
We used it as a stop-over and did not use the spa facilities, but we have been twice before and the North Lakes does not disappoint. Lovely welcoming environment with log fire. Friendly, helpful staff. Good food and bar, although bar is a trifle small.

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Crickhowell, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next