Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Penrith Hotels > North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ullswater Road , Penrith, CA11 8QT
The North Lakes Hotel and Spa provides the perfect base for Lake
District breaks, you don't have to be a hardened hill walker to enjoy
all that the Lake District has to offer. Its stunning scenery lends
itself perfectly to leisurely lake cruises and sightseeing. Naturally,
lovers of the great outdoors are also catered for. We are ideally
located for both Lake Ullswater; which is just down the road, and Lake
Windermere; a 35 minute drive away. So if you are looking to explore
the lakes either on foot or by boats such as the Ullswater Steamers we
are the perfect base for your Lake District holiday.

The North Lakes Hotel and Spa is very popular with families due to the
variety of rooms. Stylishly furnished, each room has fresh milk and a
newspaper delivered daily. Guests can relax with cosy beds, free bottled
water, and freshly ground coffee and tea in the rooms.

Boasting an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, Splash Time in our pool,
great kids menus, our Trekkers Den full of games and activities, and so
much more, North Lakes Hotel offers Lake District family holidays that
top all others.

Whether you're visiting for work or play, the stylish contemporary guest rooms , award
winning dining options and complimentary Spa facilities and free WIFI throughout will help to make your stay with us that little bit more
special.

Picture of North Lakes Hotel and Spa - Shire Hotels, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superior room needs more
Superior room - needs more than just extra space and settee e.g. a superking size bed with better quality bedlinen
Great location for breaking journey when travelling north/south to/from Scotland.

Reviewed by
Maureen T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didnt feel it was good value for money
Arrived on the 11th, was greeted by the staff and told where our Room was, Room was no where near the standard i was expecting for the money i was paying. Room was bland and boring, Standard bed poor quality TV with 3 or 4 good channels. View was poor and shower was like a leaky tap.
Spar facilities were great but the "spar" treatments were far to expensive.
Pool was okay, Jacuzzi was good too as well as the steam room.
Was booked in for 2 nights but only stayed for one and asked for a refund on the second night as i didn't want to waste my money on a 1* room that didn't even include breakfast.
Travel Lodge 0.5 miles away from the hotel, Id suggest looking there before you look here. Probably better value for money and you will get a breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Fellowes

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strong focus on customer service
excellent restaurant and spa

Reviewed by
Peter Nicholson

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, just north of the Lakes, for visiting Lake District, Cumbria & Roman Vindolanda
Spent 3 nights with my family at the hotel. The convenient location just north of the Lakes meant it was ideal for visiting the Lake District and Cumbria. Our family also had a most enjoyable 2 days visiting Hadrian's Wall, Roman Vindolanda and The Roman Army Museum.
The hotel rooms themselves are reasonably spacious and clean and a good range of snacks & coffee is on offer. We appreciated the "little welcoming extras" like the Nespresso machine, personalised biscuits for the children and mini bath robes for children. The free WIFI is a problem - our 1st room had no reception at all but the hotel kindly upgraded us to a suite. TV reception is also poor. The rooms are poorly insulated so any noise between rooms or children running up and down the corridors reverberates through the room. We were able to use the pool and spa although over the weekend the pool was exceedingly busy with very small children so swimming lengths was impossible. The pool is also poorly lit so swimming serious lengths is difficult even when not busy.
We did not eat at the hotel as prices are rather extortionate (breakfast £14 per person or £12.75 if booked the night before and £16 if you want it in your room).
Parking is free outside the hotel but is limited and does get busy.
Would we stay again? - possibly but it is certainly on the expensive side.

Reviewed by
Anna B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent enough but food hygiene concerns
There was a lot we liked about the hotel - the price, the cookies for the kids on arrival, the VI Little P dressing gowns for the kids, the pool, and the jacuzzi. But there were 2 things we didn't like - the sofa bed had a hideously wirey/lumpy mattress and the breakfast buffet was covered in flies. It really upset my children that they had to brush the flies away from everything - the staff said there was nothing they could do about them. #Fail.

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was quite dirty. I'm not that fussy but I draw the line at the wee hairs in the bath and the 5mm of dust on the frame of the bunk bed. Also two towels had huge holes in them.
We could hear the guest upstairs TV and telephone conversation till after 11pm.
Ok if you're not spending much time in the room.

Reviewed by
D Robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent breakfast .

Reviewed by
R OWEN

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel, great for kids
We stayed one night in a family room, 2 adults and 3 kids. Room was great, clean and modern, swimming pool and spa wonderful. Best bit was all the extra touches, cookies for the kids,little towelling robes for kids. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and convenient lovely pool
A lovely stop very friendly staff and the spa area was clean and relaxing. The room was small but a huge bed, tv and welcome tea and coffee was fine for our short stay. The pool was very busy so not for charging up and down with lengths which after a long drive was actually what we wanted but on one of the hottest days of the year it was hardly surprising!! Steam room and sauna were a treat and the massage treatment also very relaxing. The food in the evening was he only slight disappointment , again the staff were brilliant, attentive but not over the top, my fiancés meal was nice but my burger was very over done and quite expensive. Breakfast was expensive but a wide selection and very tasty. Overall a pleasant stay with great staff.

Reviewed by
R Owen

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly hotel with a great atmosphere and superb food
Our family of five ranging in age from 7 to 49 had a really great time. The pool was fab, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the personal touches in the named cookies and bath robes. The food was really tasty. Our family room was adequate but a little cramped for 2 adults, one teenager and two children, that said, it didn't stop us enjoying ourselves.

Reviewed by
Brian Brown

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next