No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haycock Hotel Peterborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London Road Wansford, Peterborough, PE8 6JA

The Haycock Hotel Peterborough is 8 miles from Peterborough City Centre
and 6 miles from the historic market town of Stamford. Located on the
edge of the A1 motorway in the village of Wansford only 6 miles from the
East of England Showground. The Haycock is now an Associate Macdonald
Hotel and is perfect for a peace and quiet location. The Haycock has 300
complimentary car parking spaces and offers a mini bus to the station or
to a location within a 10 mile radius of the hotel.

Picture of Haycock Hotel Peterborough, Peterborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and an excellent base to visit the NVR

Reviewed by
Tony L

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Clean accomodation, lovely building and area. Staff were excellent. Quiet and peaceful and a lovely breakfast.
Bathroom was a bit tired would be my only criticism.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing and overpriced
First the good news: the hotel building is impressive and located in a lovely setting with ample parking. Breakfast and the service were excellent.
The bad news: my issue is with the standard of the accommodation. I booked a superior double; I have to wonder what an ordinary double is like. The taps on the wall by the bath were loose, no water came out the bath shower because the hose was broken; the main shower cubicle was very small and there was a build up of lime scale/dirt on the tiles. There was a prominent stain on the carpet in the bed room and the paintwork was flaking. The TV was possibly the smallest the hotel could find. Wi-fi was free however.
No way would I recommend this hotel. Very poor accommodation at a grossly inflated price.

Reviewed by
David P

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious room but tired and bathroom was dirty. Breakfast was very good.
Our room was in need of refurbishment and I am pleased we paid the lateroom price as its nowhere near the standard to attract the full price. On arrival the toilet was in a disgusting state and the rest of the bathroom was not much better. The was hair in the sink and bath, mould on the walls and ceiling and the plug hole was blocked. The roof light would not open and the towel warmer did not work. This is the worst standard I have ever encountered and all of this was clearly down to poor standards of cleaning maintenance and supervision. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in a nice hotel
Friendly , relaxed and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast. Plumbing in room needed attention.

Reviewed by
angela m

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay as attended a wedding at the venue
I had a lovely room. Staff were very professional and there were plenty of them. Breakfast was included and met my expectations. I enjoyed everything about my stay and I am quite fussy.

Reviewed by
Paula H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable historic coaching inn.
The hotel is situated in a pretty village bypassed by the A1 Great North Road. The extensive complex of hotel buildings runs alongside the River Nene, although the river can't be seen from the well maintained gardens because of the stone garden wall. The hotel obviously markets itself as a wedding venue.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haydock Hotel
A great stay which was very good value.

Reviewed by
B Watkinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a wonderfull stay staff were very frendly and helpfull would recommend. To all. What a lovely place

Reviewed by
Freddie McCabe

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay spoiled by too few staff
a lovely hotel and the staff are helpful and courtious, but they are clearly overworked . my booking appearedf to be lost and it took over 20 minutes to find me a room which appeared to have been cleaned in a hurry..no staff in the bar...but there were 2 functions running.the garden used to be beautiful but is overgrown and in need of attention. I have stayed here many times over aperiod of 50 years and it seems that the present management are cutting expense on the areas that made staying here such a pleasure

Reviewed by
christopher h

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next