No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haycock Hotel Peterborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London Road Wansford, Peterborough, PE8 6JA
The Haycock Hotel Peterborough is 8 miles from Peterborough City Centre and 6 miles from the historic market town of Stamford. Located on the edge of the A1 motorway in the village of Wansford only 6 miles from the East of England Showground. The Haycock is now an Associate Macdonald Hotel and is perfect for a peace and quiet location. The Haycock has 300 complimentary car parking spaces and offers a mini bus to the station or to a location within a 10 mile radius of the hotel.

Picture of Haycock Hotel Peterborough, Peterborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous building and location but the hotel is very tired and in need of better management
If we hadn't paid only £61 for our room we would have complained. On the other hand, we would rather have paid double that and have been treated to a wonderful stay. The building and location are stunning and in fact the cooked breakfast was excellent, but there is a real feel of penny pinching everywhere else though. The staff do the bare minimum and seem demotivated. The décor is extremely tired and the bed in the first room that we were allocated was the hardest we have ever witnessed. The beautiful courtyard had big wheely bins in the corner and the Christmas decorations were still up (10th Jan). The car park had so many potholes in it that you needed a four wheel drive vehicle to get in in places and the entrance in from the car park greeted new visitors with a line of laundry bins, which isn't a good first impression.
The hotel was nearly empty when we were there and we were told by a member of staff that it was because it was January, but I suspect this may not be entirely the case. We had tried to get into a number of other hotels in the area but they were fully booked so they are obviously doing something different to get guests in the door! I don't understand why a hotel doesn't treat every visitor as an ambassador and advertising for their business. If the hotel was empty, why on earth don't they give their guests the best possible rooms and experience that they can? Everyone likes a bargain and it would have cost them no more and could have won them repeat business and some free advertising. The management team need to get down to Wansford and restore this hotel to it's former glory. Such potential and such a wasted opportunity.

Reviewed by
S Rice

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Lovely village location, handy for A47, pleasant reception, no fuss, clean warm bedroom, good bathroom,
did not have evening meal as we were out visiting a relative so cannot comment. also did not use the bar. Breakfast was good, although the waiter could have been better, just a bit more chatty(no one else there) had to ask for menu and help ourselves to salt etc from nearby table but no real problem.
Radio or background music might have been nice (none).Car park had lots of deep potholes full of water,needs to be sorted out. Ideal for us on a one night visit and adequate, nothing special but no real complaints.

Reviewed by
B Nixon

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's sleep
Was at the Haycock for a works Christmas party and had a great night. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the food was good. I would expect our company to return here next year and I will book a room again as the price was excellent value. Breakfast was a buffet which was ok and had plenty of options

Reviewed by
M Nkana

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, as usual. Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. Will definitely come again.

Reviewed by
S Dickins

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stopover hotel on A1
I had visited the Haycock many times in the past on business trips either for meetings or for a quick snack on route but I hadn't been there for probably a decade. We stayed over on route back from Gatwick to Yorkshire after a holiday abroad. With rooms having undergone refurbishment recently and under new management, we were also impressed by the quality of food and the friendly service offered by the staff. Pre-booking on Late Rooms had secured us a very good price too and so we were very pleased with our stay overall. We will undoubtedly return when the opportunity arises once more..

Reviewed by
NEVILLE E

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but expensive food & drink with tired bathroom
Good food and wine, but very expensive. £9 for a glass of wine! Room was clean. Room furniture was a bit basic. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom looked very tired and needs an update. Service was very good. Breakfast was very good and every member of staff was friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Robin T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

me
no comments

Reviewed by
GERRY D

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Relaxing Venue and retreat
Overall very impressed on my first visit. All staff were curtious and polite at every oppertunity.

Reviewed by
D Chouhan

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is old and very interesting and the grounds are well kept.
The staff were all polite and friendly.
I felt that the room could have been cleaner as there was a thick layer of dust on the bed head.
The evening meal was of excellent quality although not much of it and a little expensive.
Drink prices at the bar were £1.00 dearer than at the local pub.

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A coaching inn with character
Good service, Good public rooms. Very well equipped bed room with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next