You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Haycock Hotel Peterborough

3

London Road Wansford, Peterborough, PE8 6JA

Price From 153.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • RUPERT M

  • March 2016

Shabby cramped and overpriced

We booked this hotel because we attended a party nearby.

We arrived late and left without having breakfast. The room was dim and pretty shabby (although the bed was very comfortable): for over £100 it struck me as pricey. I cannot think why it was described as an 'executive' room. The staff were polite and organised taxis for us, but the overall impression was of a tired and badly-run establishment. With snappy service and a refurb, this could be a wonderful classic hotel.

  • D M

  • December 2015

Not top quality but ok.

Nice big room not a vast array of shampoos and soap and no shaving mirror.

The t.v. was small and hard to see from the bed. The hotel is in need of a revamp. Overall the hotel was fine for the money we paid for b and b.

  • S Henderson

  • November 2015

One night stop over

Lovely friendly staff and beautiful building.

Our room was nice and generally very clean. Unfortunately it was let down by the dirty net curtain at the window. The rest of the hotel was comfortable but in need of a spruce up. The large holes in the sofa arms could easily be disguised with some arm covers. Breakfast was very good. We would happily return as overall we were comfortable.

  • B Kelly

  • April 2015

Great location but the hottest rooms ever

Stayed for one night en route to visit family members in the south.

The hotel was just off the motorway so very handy. The two rooms we booked were absolutely baking hot and it was too noisy to open the windows. The rooms were nice enough but the bathrooms were in need of refurbishment. The other room we booked did not have any hot water so getting a shower turned in to an interesting experience and not a good one. The restaurant was the best thing in the hotel; the food was exceptional and very good value for money; however the waiter was very inexperienced and it showed.

  • Jeffrey S

  • March 2015

Beautiful village setting

Lovely old hotel in beautiful village setting with two other good village pubs and close to Stamford.

Close to A1 with quick access to surrounding areas but no internal road noise. We stayed with a small dog which didn't cause a problem. Room was a good size, comfortable, with excellent shower. Very much enjoyed our evening meal (well priced for the quality) and breakfast. We hope to stay here again.

  • Margaret K

  • March 2015

Pleasant one night stay

My one complaint is about the bathroom facilities in our room.

Overhead shower but no shower hat provided so I decided to have a bath - only to find there was no soap provided, only shower gel fixed to the wall way above my head. As I am over seventy I found standing up and down to reach it a bit taxing!

  • m grainger

  • February 2015

Not what i expected .

Book the haycoak on laterooms and only paid £68.00 for one night bed and breakfast and thought I was getting a bargain, but was disappointed.

The room was small and old fashioned and not in good condition and no heating was on. I would have only paid £50 for the room and would have got a better room at a travelodge. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, the best breakfast, I have ever had.

  • Mark P

  • February 2015

Good Hotel and good location

We found the hotel staff helpful and polite.

We had a classic room and it was situated just off to the back of the hotel, it was clean, tidy and of good standard. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely go back.

  • W Sandbach

  • January 2015

First rate

Very comfortable.

  • S Rice

  • January 2015

Fabulous building and location but the hotel is very tired and in need of better management

If we hadn't paid only £61 for our room we would have complained.

On the other hand, we would rather have paid double that and have been treated to a wonderful stay. The building and location are stunning and in fact the cooked breakfast was excellent, but there is a real feel of penny pinching everywhere else though. The staff do the bare minimum and seem demotivated. The décor is extremely tired and the bed in the first room that we were allocated was the hardest we have ever witnessed. The beautiful courtyard had big wheely bins in the corner and the Christmas decorations were still up (10th Jan). The car park had so many potholes in it that you needed a four wheel drive vehicle to get in in places and the entrance in from the car park greeted new visitors with a line of laundry bins, which isn't a good first impression.

The hotel was nearly empty when we were there and we were told by a member of staff that it was because it was January, but I suspect this may not be entirely the case. We had tried to get into a number of other hotels in the area but they were fully booked so they are obviously doing something different to get guests in the door. I don't understand why a hotel doesn't treat every visitor as an ambassador and advertising for their business. If the hotel was empty, why on earth don't they give their guests the best possible rooms and experience that they can. Everyone likes a bargain and it would have cost them no more and could have won them repeat business and some free advertising. The management team need to get down to Wansford and restore this hotel to it's former glory. Such potential and such a wasted opportunity.