No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Northover Manor Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ilichester, , , Yeovil, BA22 8LD
Welcome to Northover Manor Hotel, a charming privately owned family run hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere in the South West. The hotel has been refurbished combining traditional elements with modern comforts blending flagstone floors with period colours and using cosy couches and armchairs to create a relaxed ambience. Northover Manor hotel has 21 bedrooms ranging from singles to executive doubles. All rooms are en-suite and in keeping with the historic nature of the building varying in size and style.The hotel also has a licensed bar and restaurant which offers an A la Carte menu open both to Residents and Non Residents. Our warm bistro style restaurant offers home-made food using locally sourced produce at competitive prices. Northover is located in Ilchester Somerset, five miles north of Yeovil and conveniently just off the A303 with easy access to the M5, A30 & A37. We are ideally located for exploring Somerset’s many sights as well as the Coasts of Dorset and Devon. The historical town of Glastonbury and the Cathedral City of Wells are nearby as are the market towns of Yeovil and Sherborne. Whether visiting for business or pleasure we invite you to enjoy the reputation we have earned over the past 14 years for competitive prices and excellent food and service.
Picture of Northover Manor Hotel, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel
A wonderful Hotel, Staff very helpful and friendly. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
D Clark

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely amazing!
Me and my partner decided to stay away for the night and book the Northover Manor last minute. The room was absolutely beautiful and the bed was so comfy, we both got a great nights sleep. The service from the receptionist and the waiting staff during breakfast was perfect. The breakfast in the morning was also good and the whole stay was completely worth the money! Would definitely stay again and recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
B Membery

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
I booked a double and was given room just large enough to have a 3/4 bed. The toilet shower was so small, I could have sat on the toilet and had a shower at the same time. The partition walls were so thin, I could hear everything my neighbour was doing and at 0600, the noise of his motorised shower woke me. All in all, the accomodation is like a second rate boarding house. There was no central heating in the room and after dinner, we knew they wanted us to leave because the heating in the public areas was turned off. The chef however, is extremely talented

ManagementResponse

Dear Sir, Having apologised to you on Trip Advisor I now find myself defending my business with Late Rooms. The evening prior to your visit the guest posted a review on Trip Advisor commenting on how positive everything was about the very same room. My real frustration is we didn't realise initially how unhappy you were, had we, we would have moved you to another room. The offer would have been restricted somewhat as we are in the process of improving a number of rooms and public areas but I feel it would have undoubtedly been worth it. With regard to turning off the heating at night are you suggesting we stopped you from placing a log or two on the wood burner in the louhge or a young female member of staff declined your invitation to place more wood on the burner. I am aware you dined with other guests ( probably work colleagues ) who thankfully don't appear to have shared your experience. However, I would like to take this opportunity of inviting you back in an effort to put right your existing negative view of us as this business is important to us. Yours sincerely, Mark Haddigan, Owner

Reviewed by
JAMES W

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Find
Almost literally a last minute booking, the Northover Manor certainly exceeded our expectations. Despite being located on a fairly busy road, the room allocated overlooked the rear garden and was actually very quiet. Food was excellent, being both plentiful and very well presented. The staff with whom we interacted were, without exception, friendly and helpful. We'd have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel (and already have!)

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My brief visit coincided with a large wedding at the hotel, so the catering team were flat out and so dinner was always going to be a problem. However eventually the owner/chef managed to rustle up something and despite their late night he and his team were all there to prepare a good early breakfast. Overall the staff were very pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable and represented reasonable value for money.

Reviewed by
R Bishop

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for visiting the area
Hotel is nicely situated in the area, accessibility via major road is very convenient.
Hotel has a homely atmosphere with considerate and helpful staff.
We would certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
C Spero

From USA
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family stopover
We stayed in a family room for one night to break up the journey to Cornwall. The room was a good size with bunk beds for the children. Unfortunately the room did back onto the car park, this probably isn't usually too much of a problem but we stayed on a really hot and humid night and so had to have the windows open and were woken by late leavers chatting and starting their cars - could be worth asking staff to park away from the back of the hotel. Pillows on the double bed really need updating - they were as flat as pancakes. The staff were lovely, really helpful and attentive. We stayed for dinner, although no children's menu the kitchen were happy to accommodate. Breakfast was great - would have loved a veggie alternative on the full English though! All in all this stay served its purpose on giving us and the kids a welcome break during a long drive.

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From Woodford Green, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.