No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Horton Grange Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU
Horton Grange Country House Hotel and Restaurant is situated on the Blagdon Estate about three miles east of Ponteland, surrounded by tree-lined grounds. Visitors are immediately captivated by the distinctive mix of traditional and contemporary. Real fires, fresh flowers and antique furnishings blend with the conservatory dining room to create a relaxed atmosphere.Sympathetic decor and furnishings complement the traditional character of both the cosy bar and the light airy restaurant, overlooking the Japanese Garden. Just 4 miles from Newcastle airport the hotel is ideal for a stop over and 3 minutes off the A1M the hotel is also well located for the business traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break in the country but only 15 minutes from central Newcastle and the shopping to be had at the Metro Centre.

Five of the bedrooms are located in the main house with the other four having been tastefully created in the stables opposite the main entrance to the hotel. All bedrooms are beautifully decorated rooms with classical antique furnishings throughout. Rooms include a colour T.V. and large en-suite bathroom and many overlook the gardens. The Alnwick bedroom is a spacious room with classical antique furnishings throughout, situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Japanese garden.

The restaurant is a light and airy modern room overlooking the garden. The restaurant is well known for its fine cuisine and excellent menu. Only a visit will allow anyone to truly appreciate the food and drink on offer. Chef, using the very best fresh local produce, presides over an imaginative "modern classic" menu with a range of exciting dishes to suit all tastes. Enjoy the relaxing ambience of the bar with an extensive range of wines. The bar always has a warm, friendly atmosphere which is emphasised by the large open fire place. You will certainly appreciate the modern feel to the room, especially the large 42" plasma screen which hangs above the fireplace often displaying a virtual open log fire - filling the room with a warm and satisfying glow. The large bay windows look over the gardens which are fantastic to view by day or night.

Picture of Horton Grange Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location
Greeted by Sarah at the door who couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. Superb attitude and approach to customers. Professional and bursting with welcoming personality. Met by the head chef who help direct us to our following days events with accuracy. He spoke of the hotel as being like a large family team, that presence and mannerism shone through. Excellent. We shall return next month! Jon Bray Education Director at Learn2print.

Reviewed by
Jon Bray

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horton Grange Hotel
Very helpful and friendly staff breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
Bryan Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Newcastle
Well appointed Hotel local cab company good rate into Newcastle city centre ,very good value for money stay

Reviewed by
David A

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor experience
It took 1 ½ days of our 3 day stay to sort out the heating in our room, have never stayed in a hotel so cold. The dining room in the conservatory was equally cold. I believe the thermostat was in the lobby which was pleasantly warm from the fire.
The first night we intended to stay in for dinner after travelling and asked for a dinner menu at 6.30 in the evening but it was not yet available. We decided to go out and passed through the lobby at 7.30 and we were then offered a menu, still warm from the printer.
The room was comfortable but the beds were not properly made, the duvet was smooth, but the bottom sheets still as wrinkled as when we got up in the morning. Room lighting appalling.
No telephone in the room, not able to reach reception even using my own mobile phone as the phone went unanswered, as did the landline number. (The excuse that the system had been hit by lightning seemed very weak as this is a safety issue.)
The cooked breakfast was good, but no fruit, fresh or tinned was available , until we insisted and they managed to open a tin.
We used to eat at the restaurant when we lived locally and we were always pleased. However talking to friends and family who still live in the area, nobody had a good word to say about the hotel.
The staff were very pleasant but there seemed to be little overall management.
We would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone else.

Reviewed by
digby owen

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was in the Garden suite. I could hear the TV in the next room which was on quite late and then I could hear who ever was in that room snoring during the night so the accoustic insulation needs upgrading. Food was excellent but also quite expensive when compared to same quality meal at my home location.

Reviewed by
Roy L

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Small hotel in quiet location ideally situated for my journey. Stayed in a garden room which was quiet although bathroom very small and shower cubicle was also so would book a room in main building in future. Very limited access to Internet which wasn't explained when I checked in, so could only connect in main building which wasn't ideal. The food was very good but only sandwiches and burgers on bar menu, so had meal in bar from restaurant menu. It was good but expensive for 1 course only showed prices for 2 or 3 courses.
Staff were efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Christine C

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another good nights sleep
Nice hotel second stay will be stopping again,

Reviewed by
n batho

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I went up to Newcastle from Surrey to visit my daughter who is 18 and just started university there. On arrival we both thought what lovely surroundings, countryside all round and how our border terrier would haves loved it there too! Our room was great, homely, clean and with a great sized bathroom with a bath my daughter couldn't wait to get into after only having showers since starting uni! Every member of staff we met couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Good choice of breakfast which we both enjoyed.

Reviewed by
Karen F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy country escape
Perfect country getaway- cosy, welcoming and relaxing.
Only negative point was the garden rooms in the old stables had rather thin walls. Which meant you were conscious about being quite- whereas some neighbours were not.

Reviewed by
B Hume

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural hotel with character only 4 miles from Newcastle airport.
Old stone country hotel with lovely large rooms with period furniture. Comfortable bed with warm duvet (which was fortunate as central heating was not on so rooms a bit chilly!) Staff friendly.
Breakfast very good - recommend egg benedict. Evening meal in dining room set price - tasty nouvelle cuisine which was fine for me but would not suit large appetites. Pleasant lounge with bar - mediocre draft beer but had a bottle of decent ale.
Pleasant gardens and terrace (though too cold to sit out in October)

Reviewed by
Graham B

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next