No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Horton Grange Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU
Horton Grange Country House Hotel and Restaurant is situated on the Blagdon Estate about three miles east of Ponteland, surrounded by tree-lined grounds. Visitors are immediately captivated by the distinctive mix of traditional and contemporary. Real fires, fresh flowers and antique furnishings blend with the conservatory dining room to create a relaxed atmosphere.Sympathetic decor and furnishings compliment the traditional character of both the cosy bar and the light airy restaurant, overlooking the Japanese Garden. Just 4 miles from Newcastle airport the hotel is ideal for a stop over and 3 minutes off the A1M the hotel is also well located for the business traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break in the country but only 15 minutes from central Newcastle and the shopping to be had at the Metro Centre.

Five of the bedrooms are located in the main house with the other four having been tastefully created in the stables opposite the main entrance to the hotel. All bedrooms are beautifully decorated rooms with classical antique furnishings throughout. Rooms include a colour T.V. and large en-suite bathroom and many overlook the gardens. The Alnwick bedroom is a spacious room with classical antique furnishings throughout, situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Japanese garden.

The restaurant is a light and airy modern room overlooking the garden. The restaurant is well known for its fine cuisine and excellent menu. Only a visit will allow anyone to truly appreciate the food and drink on offer. Chef, using the very best fresh local produce, presides over an imaginative "modern classic" menu with a range of exciting dishes to suit all tastes. Enjoy the relaxing ambience of the bar with an extensive range of wines. The bar always has a warm, friendly atmosphere which is emphasised by the large open fire place. You will certainly appreciate the modern feel to the room, especially the large 42" plasma screen which hangs above the fireplace often displaying a virtual open log fire - filling the room with a warm and satisfying glow. The large bay windows look over the gardens which are fantastic to view by day or night.

"restaurant isn’t available on 12th July.
Picture of Horton Grange Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glasgow to tranquility of Newcastle!!
What a charming place to stay, only let down that would make think twice if travelling from Scotland to here was room, badly in need of decor and cleaning, paint scuff marks, first thing you notice as you enter room, wooden blinds so dusty they would be a different colour if cleaned. Plastic flowers and very old pot pourri in dishes dirty , dotted around room. Room 2 off the main hotel. Albeit staff on night were extremely welcoming, he was polite and very helpuf, 5* for that but would we stay again?? It is our 30 wedding, went to metro to see Sterephonics hence our trip, thinking of 50th birthday if we had a room that was clean and didn't feel like a old cow shed. Still a thank u staff , Rhonda Martin

Reviewed by
Rhonda Martin

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation review
Disappointed not to stay in the actual hotel but were in an annex that to us looked like a converted greenhouse. At first they couldn't find the key so we were told to leave on the latch if we went out - something we were not prepared to do so we had a bottle of wine brought from the main house as we didn't want to leave our belongings unattended. The wifi took a while to connect and the walls are quite thin. Breakfast was okay served in the main hotel though there wasn't a massive choice of cereal and the coffee was served lukewarm.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay there , stay here!
I took advantage of a special deal through late rooms which made nonsense of using a Premier Inn or suchlike. The hotel is in quiet countryside but (only) 10 miles from Newcastle.

Reviewed by
keith k

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
Great room lovely staff and top breakfast

Reviewed by
alastair m

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elegant manor house, in countryside location
Lovely old manor house with small but lovely grounds, in a secluded location.
Ample parking.
The manor house in welcoming, and the staff are also helpful and pleasant.
Downside are the garden rooms. Poor noise insulation, and some issues with very poor fitting doors, both externally and internal.bathroom door was permanently open, impossible to close.
Nicely laid out room, with adequate space and facilities.
Breakfast was top notch, except on just one occasion with one small issue which blighted , what was an excellent stay, with lovely staff.
As a footnote I would definitely stay again, but not in the garden rooms.

Reviewed by
Ralph R

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and friendly
Bit out of town but very nice little hotel, breakfast was nice, had a burger from the bar that was a bit average, but the main restaurant may be different??
Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise
Great location, old, well appointed ex manor house. Large rooms. Very comfy beds. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good quality/quantity breakfast. I would definitely call again. Many thanks to all involved.

Reviewed by
Glyn Holtham

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good, small, country house hotel, just off the A1 and close to Newcastle
Our overnight stay was most enjoyable. The staff were very welcoming; we had a good sized room and en-suite; everywhere was clean and well decorated; plus there is plenty of free on-site parking. The location is quiet but only a few miles off the A1 and close enough to reach Newcastle city centre in 15 mins or so. The breakfast was excellent (cooked to order) and the price seemed very reasonable.

Reviewed by
Robert Williams

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was sat in beautiful grounds and was a lovely looking old building. We found the staff friendly. Our room was large and looked clean but on closer inspection they had missed the little things dust on skirting boards and radiators and the bath wasn't as clean as it should have been. The only real complaints we had were that the room was freezing they didn't turn the heating on until the early hours of the morning we were leaving and the bed was a bit lumpy. Overall a nice place just needs a little TLC in some areas. Would stay again but in a different room hopefully with a more comfy bed and the heating on.

Reviewed by
marie c

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our anniversary treat last minute.
We live just down the road but we wanted to escape last minute.
The actual house was lovely we were greeted with a smile. we booked for cream teas in the bar which was lovely and it was nice but could have done with couple extra sandwiches but cakes were to die for, and it was lovely and quiet too (no weddings on). our room was no.3 it was in the outhouses think they may have been stables once before. Room was clean tidy the duvet was nice and chunky bed was lovely slept well. Coffee/tea facilities also a nice touch was bottled water. Toiletries used were a nice touch.
Breakfast was included in price, choice of cereals and choice of cooked breakfasts too. Service over all was very good would go back and recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next