Horton Grange Hotel

3

Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (59)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Barnett

  • August 2014

Lovely country house hotel

This Hotel is a wonderful old house hotel.

The staff were exellant and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are large with lots of room. The only thing that could be improved I would say would be that the bed we had in our room could do with updating and the mattress renewing.

The breakfast was wonderful and very tasty with a good selection and the eggs benedict was deliscious. I would deffinately recomend this hotel to anyone that was thinking of staying here.

  • John Welsh

  • August 2014

Hotel Stay

Nice old fashioned hotel away from noise of A1 road

  • Chris Harris

  • July 2014

unprofessional staff noisy room

On checking in receptionist strugled to find our details blaming everything from power cuts to lightning strikes it was only when a female assistant intervened that our booking was confirmed at which point he lead us to our room with his shirt untucked and the top of his underpants clearly on view

When we later returned asking for some more coffee noone was on reception but the same man was slumped in a chair in the bar area with his shirt completely untucked

When we eventually settled into our room we found the bed too small and far to hard but to top it all the walls were so thin that we could not only hear the tv but the conversations of the occupants of the rooms either side

We didnt stay for dinner as the prices were too expensive but the breakfast was a disappointment only 1 staff member on duty and the portions were small only 1 rasher of over cooked bacon and the sausages were leek n herb not very pleasant

Wouldn't stay again especially in the converted stale block

  • a neale

  • July 2014

Review - July 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Chillington Room and it lived up to its name - the room was cold.

Old sash windows had large holes in the woodwork letting in draughts. The sash in the sash windows was broken. It took over 10 minutes to get the water from the shower to an acceptable temperature - either scalding hot or freezing cold. The UHT milk in the room curdled the coffee and it was found to be out of date!. Spent nearly 15 minutes in the restaurant at breakfast waiting for someone to take our breakfast order - no staff about - eventually had to go and find someone ourselves. Not impressed with our overall stay - would not recommend.

  • Christine H

  • July 2014

Lovely place to stay

The room was lovely, very big but the furniture was dated, it was upsetting to find mold in the wardrobe and ivy growing inside the bathroom window.

This I think should be cut back.

  • sharon conradie

  • June 2014

Brilliant

Our whole group were blown away with this hotel.

Lovely hotel old mixed with new. Very well done. Tranquil surroundings.A number of us have worked in the industry and so a busman's holiday and can honestly say everywhere was spotless. Would love to attend a wedding here. We were made to feel welcome and the staff pleasant and professional. The breakfast was excellent. As it is in the country it was quiet and we slept well.

  • Jean B

  • May 2014

Lovely hotel and setting - beautiful garden and overlooked a field with horses.

The dawn chorus was vibrant. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room in the house was lovely. Although the sun room with large glass windows was very attractive overlooking the garden, wear an extra layer at meal time as it was cooler than the rest of the hotel.,

  • S Thompson

  • May 2014

After eating here and attending lovely weddings here previously, a little disappointing.

I have always loved Horton Grange but it is operating in a difficult space.

At around £100 per room per night we are not prepared to be quite so forgiving as we are a travelodge room for £29 per night, nor quite so impressed as we are with a luxury spa (de Vere) type chain. The hotel felt a bit unwelcoming - one fairly lonely member of staff around so when we went through to the bar shortly after arriving it was deserted until the receptionist (also later our waitress for both dinner and breakfast) came through to serve us. First thing we were told is that there is no night porter and everything gets locked up at 11 which is quite early and the lack of any kind of mini bar or honour bar system is a little unimpressive. Rooms were OK. Spacious and in keeping with the property. Restaurant atmosphere was a little lacking since only one other table in the restaurant was occupied on the weekday evening that we stayed there. The steaks that we ordered were delicious and cooked to perfection although the lack of choice of sauces for the steaks was disappointing as was the sliced boiled potato served as potato dauphinoise and the lack of any choice of wines by the glass (I understand not wanting to waste wines but even if you offered the choice of expensive single serving bottles that would at least provide a choice). Breakfast was fairly average - typical hotel breakfast (ie grilled bacon with little taste, half cooked tomato although the sausage was good and my husband was disappointed that given that he only wanted bacon and egg not a full English breakfast he was presented with only one egg). It needs just a little extra effort at providing a country house (ie gentle luxury and welcoming) experience. I have said I would stay here again as I would not actively avoid it but neither would I actively rush to choose it again for one of our much looked forward too infrequent child-free nights away.

  • Chris Chapman

  • April 2014

Excellent :)

Great place to stay - peaceful and quiet.

Stayed in one of the anex rooms - which was OK but the walls were quite thin (which was a surprise as room looks like its a barn conversion - maybe a stud wall) and could easily hear the TV in the adjacent room. However, the hotel is great, staff friendly, and food delicious. Would definately stay here again.

  • r scott

  • April 2014

Follow up of a previous review of this hotel

After a poor customer service experience we logged with Late Rooms from our overnight stay here in March,, we were advised to contact the hotel directly to discuss the issues we had with a special offer showing on Late rooms which was not carried through by the hotel on arrival.

On contacting Horton Grange and discussing at length the issues, we were advised that we would receive a call by a certain date to update us of the findings. The date has passed by 48 hours and after a further call to discuss the situation we were once again told that contact would be made to us within 30 mins of our conversation. Sad to report no communication again. Why would you want to stay here -i do not know