Horton Grange Hotel

3

Berwick Hill Road,Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE13 6BU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Karen F

  • October 2014

I went up to Newcastle from Surrey to visit my daughter who is 18 and just started university there.

On arrival we both thought what lovely surroundings, countryside all round and how our border terrier would haves loved it there too. Our room was great, homely, clean and with a great sized bathroom with a bath my daughter couldn't wait to get into after only having showers since starting uni. Every member of staff we met couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Good choice of breakfast which we both enjoyed.

  • B Hume

  • October 2014

Cosy country escape

Perfect country getaway- cosy, welcoming and relaxing.

Only negative point was the garden rooms in the old stables had rather thin walls. Which meant you were conscious about being quite- whereas some neighbours were not.

  • Graham B

  • October 2014

Rural hotel with character only 4 miles from Newcastle airport.

Old stone country hotel with lovely large rooms with period furniture.

Comfortable bed with warm duvet (which was fortunate as central heating was not on so rooms a bit chilly!) Staff friendly.

Breakfast very good - recommend egg benedict. Evening meal in dining room set price - tasty nouvelle cuisine which was fine for me but would not suit large appetites. Pleasant lounge with bar - mediocre draft beer but had a bottle of decent ale. Pleasant gardens and terrace (though too cold to sit out in October)

  • Anne Woollard

  • September 2014

We arrived on the afternoon to find the room decidedly chilly there was no jesting on in the room but a electric heater was bought up and the heating turned on.

We went to meet family only gone 2 hrs and got back to find the heating turned off again so hence was again chilly.breakfast was ok have seen better. Mattress had seen better days. Would not stop there again

  • Mike D

  • September 2014

Used Horton twice now and both occasions enjoyed our brief stay with excellent evening meals and breakfast

  • Richard W

  • September 2014

A Welcome Surprise

Had no idea what to expect, but found myself in an elegant building, greated by welcoming and helpful staff, staying in a spacious and comfortable room.

All good. Would definitely stay again. Only gripe (and I'm being picky...) wish there had been a newspaper or two kicking around

  • Avril Richer

  • September 2014

Our nice break between Ipswich and Aberdeen

Everything was fine except that (as in majority of hotels that we've stayed in!) the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working.

We enjoyed our surroundings while at Horton Grange and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. They gave the impression that they were more than willing to make our stay comfortable and for that we are particularly grateful.

  • n batho

  • September 2014

Very nice hotel in quite location,

  • JOHN MORRIS

  • August 2014

Overnight Stay

Really comfortable room.

Quiet and relaxing. Customer service outstanding. Great value for money.

  • Shaun H

  • August 2014

Could have been better

I was in in one of the "Garden" rooms, which was within a converted outbuilding, and obviously not the best place to be at Horton Grange as you feel rather out of the way.

The layout of these rooms isn't the best; the so called lounge area is more like a reception room, and the bathroom and bedroom are acceptable but small. No wardrobes or set of drawers, just hangers on the wall and shelves for your clothing. Horton Grange itself could be quite attractive, but the decor is unoriginal and is starting to look rather tired. Customer service I would rate as fair - staff seemed uninterested and more often than not there was no-one at the reception desk. Breakfast was okay, but mid week there's a fair wait for the cooked breakfast. Over Horton Grange is okay, but could have been better.