Reviews - Best Western Ship Hotel

3

70 High Street, Weybridge, KT13 8BQ

Price From 288.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Martin B

  • June 2015

Expensive and little to commend.

Very expensive for a small noisy tatty room.

Didn't pick up the phone when I rang to confirm my booking.

  • M Evans

  • April 2015

Ship

Great Hotel.

Good staff with clean rooms.

  • Stephen McConnell

  • April 2015

Nice village worth exploring

Room was excellent Although it took me 15 mins to get checked in.

Receptionist constantly answering the phone and making notes on other peoples bookings.

To cap it off a guest came down to reception to ask a question about his key card. She stopped my check in to deal with him. Didn't exactly make me feel a valued customer. I have stayed here before but I will look for alternative next time. Had dinner in the bar / dining room. I was the only one there. A couple obviously on a romantic evening wanted s bit more atmosphere. They sought advice from the bar man who was decidedly most unhelpful. He didn't seem to know area at all and was not compliementary about the other venues. I think some customer care training is needed

  • Stuart M

  • April 2015

Value for Money

We booked the room through Laterooms.com The rrom was very good, the bathroom was of particular high standard.

  • Les Burgess

  • March 2015

Hot House

The room was far to hot for me, the radiators were difficult to turn off even with the window open the room took a long time to cool down.

Once down to a cool temperature the room was comfortable. There was also no TV reception.

  • james r

  • January 2015

Needs a Refresh

I stay at this hotel very regularly and over the last 12 months some progress has been made to refurbish the rooms, which look and feel like they havent been updated at least since the 80's/early 90's.

Some rooms have had a total refresh and are perfectly pleasant, however, there are still a good number that have terrible furniture, awful furnishings and most of the beds have mattresses well past their sell by date. The reception, restaurant and bar are all fairly nice in appearance if only they would focus on the main accommodation such as the halls and bedrooms. Toiletries and facilities such as hairdryers and irons are all below par, the toiletries are brandless and pretty unpleasant. Irons - a must for business travellers staying for a number of days, are pretty poor, cheap and don't really do the job.

Food in the hotel is poor, I wouldn't recommend eating here for anything other than breakfast and even then only for convenience rather than anything else - there are more than enough superior places within walking distance. Breakfast is generally very poor, the service and quality of the food is unacceptable and no matter how many feedback forms I have filled in or comments I have made it does not change. The speed of service if lacking and the restaurant is hardly ever busy with customers as most seem to read the reviews and go elsewhere. Yet you can be sat for 10-20 minutes waiting for some to take your order - you have to order hot food as it is not buffet service but it is clearly not cooked to order as it often arrives quickly and has clearly been sat around. It would at least be better to let you get your own.

If there was more choice of hotels in the area I would not choose to stay at The Ship, unfortunately that is not the case so I begrudgingly continue. It's time Best Western made more effort to vet their franchised hotels for consistency because this does not live up to their TV Advert hype at all which is poor given that Weybridge is a very affluent area.

  • A Luckham

  • October 2014

Staff very pleasant hotel requires TLC it's looking very tired.

The room smelt of food night and morning.

We asked for a quiet room and were kept awake all night with noise,not happy as we went for a rest,we have stayed at this hotel before but very unhappy with the stay this time. The hotel is suitable for deaf people with no Sence of smell.

  • Mark Slade

  • September 2014

Overnight Stay for Family Get Together

Booked two rooms for family get together in Cobham.

Managed to get the rooms half price, which I thought was good value. The rooms were clean and of a good size, the breakfasts were cooked to order and were excellent, overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Leslie O

  • August 2014

Great Hotel in easy reach of London

Very nice hotel with extremely friendly and efficient staff.

Breakfast is very good , parking is free and London, Thorpe Park, Legoland and Chessington are within easy reach. Rooms are a decent size and well kept.

  • Nicola D

  • August 2014

Nice and clean!

We received a warm welcome and staff were all polite and helpful.

Room was maybe a bit small compared with more reasonably priced accommodation available in the area but very clean and cosy. There were no bar staff available on Sunday lunchtime and no bell/instructions to call anyone, so we went elsewhere. Everything else fine though.