Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop Hotels > Soughton Hall Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Soughton Hall Country House Hotel

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
SYCHDYN , MOLD, CH7 6AB
Located amidst the beautiful Welsh countryside, this historic hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking. With luxurious rooms, elegant interior and magnificent gardens, it is one of the most select venues in the North West.

Built in 1714, Soughton Hall started life as a bishop’s palace and has been the home to a succession of heirs in the Wynne-Bankes family line. It is now a privately owned boutique hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Exquisitely furnished and decorated, this luxurious country house features the highest standards of interior design. From beautiful handmade carpets and fabrics to an impressive collection of antiques and curios, it truly embodies the refined elegance of traditional country living.

All 15 bedrooms at the hotel are individually named and elegantly decorated. Each room has its own bathroom, bath robes, Egyptian cotton sheets, television, radio, hair dryer, trouser press, homemade biscuits, mineral water and tea and coffee making facilities. With antique furnishings, handmade carpets and beautiful fabrics, each unique room has the highest standard of interior design.

The Stables Bar & Restaurant offers a range of classic dishes as well as modern and seasonal cooked to order. On Sundays a traditional roast carvery is served. The restaurant’s has a fine selection of wines and specialises in South African. Whatever the occasion, the hotel can tailor the event to the guest’s requirements. Menus, entertainment and even a glamorous marquee are available for large parties.

Soughton Hall is the perfect venue for weddings. With a stunning backdrop of magnificent mature gardens, specially tailored wedding menus, vintage wines and a team of professional staff, Soughton Hall surpasses all expectations it is totally unique and very special.

The peaceful surroundings and superb facilities make Soughton Hall ideal for conferences and business meetings. The meeting rooms are naturally lit by large windows with views of the gardens and surrounding countryside.
Picture of Soughton Hall Country House Hotel, MOLD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Would use again, room a little dated and aged

Reviewed by
P C

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stunning place, with lovely staff. However, our room - on the 3rd floor with no lift - whilst being very tastefully decorated, was extremely claustrophobic. It was dark - half the lights didn't work - and the very small window in the top corner of the room opened out onto a view of a small section of the roof. As this was in such a beautiful location, I would love to have been able to see something!
I would like to have been told this before booking.

Reviewed by
Samantha Kneeshaw

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

soughton hall review
We have stayed here before and i was very clean there was lots of staff but on our visit this time there was hardly any staff on duty. Our room was old and in need of painting and carpet renewing. Our stair carpet was very stained and dirty and in need of immediate attention. The bathroom was tidy but not cleaned the bath for instance was full of bits of dirt and cobwebs. It was very off putting so I decided to shower and that was a disaster the water initially was warm (just) then it went to a trickle only so I aborted that idea. My parents stayed in a different room and they couldn't get cold water it was tepid so they couldn't brush their teeth. They added their room was tidied correctly and it just appeared dusted. At night we went to the stables for a drink and we decided to sit outside on what was a sunny evening but all the chairs and tables were dirty and we had to remove piles of leaves to sit down no one came to assist. There was one lady behind the bar and she was constantly upstairs in the restaurant my husband had to keep going upstairs to get her to come and serve drinks. Then the following morning we had to have breakfast between 8am and 8.30 which we grumbled about and they changed it to 9am a little better but not much. Their was plenty of choice for 1st course but our main cooked breakfasts took over 30 mins to arrive. Toast never arrived. We were all disappointed and felt it had really fallen in standard since our last visit in September 2013. We wouldn't stay again and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
D Myers

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and grounds. Building beautifully furnished and comfortable. Relaxing. Good service. would definitely return.

Reviewed by
E Holland

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice looking hall with pleasant surroundings
Good looking hall with great furnishings, shame the cleaning hadn't been done in our room, layer of dust on the bed and the bathroom wasn't very clean. Bath not suitable to climb into due to a width of large tiles to scramble over at the edge of the bath. No bath mat, very easy to slip. The hot water was scalding and the cold water was hot.......... Not enough milk, decaf tea and decaf coffee. Receptionist could of been more informative. The bed was very comfy and we had a good nights sleep.
At breakfast no spoons were with the cup and saucers and we had a cracked glass on our table for the orange juice..... Safe - not.
Another room may of been better than The Mahogany Room but we wouldn't stay again to find out. Maybe we watch too much of four in a bed........

Reviewed by
Angela Castledine

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay could be better
Signage to the Hall was not clear. The grounds of the hall and the entrance were quite beautiful and appreciated.
Signed in at reception and the receptionist automatically went to sign us in for breakfast as if it was included in the price, so I asked if breakfast was included in the price and she said no and only on asking did she then tell me how much it would be. We declined as thought it quite steep.
Room was nicely furnished apart from the flooring- laminate flooring was not to the same standard as the general decor. The shower was very poor although looked lavish - didn't get a good shower , pressure was low and water warm not hot. Little toilet roll supplied ( two end bits).
The tea making facilities are not what I'd expect from a high class venue and felt they were quite mean with the quantities eg biscuits, milk etc and the area for this was awkward as almost in a cupboard/ shelving area.
The cleanliness was poor- dust and debris on the skirting, floor etc. Stains were evident on furnishings generally. Bed linen was clean. Towels adequate but not luxurious.
We paid a discounted price for this room £70 and no way would I pay the full amount of well over £100 plus ( can't remember the exact amount).

Reviewed by
Elaine B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing setting. Lovely grounds . Relaxed atmosphere .

Reviewed by
A Seddon

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable luxury
Magnificent 18th century building with an interior to match in a tranquil setting. Luxury, peace an quiet all rolled into one. Would love to stay again.

Reviewed by
LESLEY R

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel cancelled my booking when I was en route
I booked the hotel for an overnight stay prior to being in the area for business the following day. Approximately half way during my drive to the hotel they called me to inform me that as I was going to be arriving late, they were cancelling my booking. I'm simply staggered that any hotel would do this!

Reviewed by
David Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room could have done with a little TLC but the rest of the house and grounds were very nice.

Reviewed by
L Hopewell

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next