Reviews - Soughton Hall Country House Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • A Harrison

  • June 2015

Soughton Hall Country House Hotel

Room not cleaned, waste bins not emptied, coffee or tea not replaced, cups not washed after our first night.

Toilet would not get rid of waste had to use toilet brush every time this was due to design of the toilet. the cold water was hot even for the toilet flush... very strange.

  • Timothy F

  • June 2015

beautiful retreat


  • B Thomas

  • April 2015

Soughton Hall Country House Hotel


  • Debbie M

  • March 2015

Perfect Stay

Booked 1 night here, expected 4 poster bed but that had been allocated to a bride and groom....I felt they deserved more than us!!.

The staff apologized for the error and to be fair the room we stayed in was perfect.....too many people on these sites suddenly become food or accommodation experts, we stay away in luxury hotels every couple of weeks and believe me this one is as good as any out there!. The staff are very nice and make you feel relaxed and welcome..Highly recommended!!.

  • E Odlin

  • March 2015


I booked the room for myself and future husband to stay for his birthday.

I upgraded the room to the best they had - a four poster room. I was so disappointed when we arrived, the place looks good, very authentic and given we arrived at 9pm it was even quite spooky as there was not a sole around.

On been shown to our room I was very deflated, the room was traditional however the room was cold as the window was broken and wouldn't shut, the bedding was stained and above the bed was covered in cob webs.

The food in the Stables bar was as good as ever but breakfast next morning was again disappointing. The individual jams on the table had already been half used, choice was limited.

Such a shame as we were looking forward to staying!

  • Ian E

  • March 2015

Poor room facilities

Appreciate this is a grand old building, the public areas are fine for what it is.

But the room I stayed in was not pleasant. Old tired furniture (rather than grand opulent furniture as many old Hall's & Castles do). Dead flies, cobwebs and no bin inside the room. Out dated coffee tea facilities and tatty carpets. The TV was new (although the news channels didn't work). The bathroom was just outdated.

  • Julie T

  • January 2015

A rare Welsh "rarebit "

Could not fault location, facilities, hospitality, food, ambience.

A truly pleasant hassle free stay & meal at The Stables was excellent. Can't wait to stay again !!!

  • T Rice

  • December 2014

Soughton Hall Country House Hotel

Booked for a special occasion, staff and accommodation were first class.

While staying had the pleasure of meeting John and Rosemary who gave us a lovely welcome. We will definitely be returning to this lovely country house.

  • C Cross

  • December 2014

Character Hotel

This old country house has been renovated to a high standard whilst still retaining the character of the building.

Good food in the stables restaurant a short distance from the actual hall - so noise from the restaurant will not disturb residents. Would recommend to others.

  • Philip M

  • December 2014

A touch of luxury

A fantastic opportunity for a night away in a truly idyllic stately home.

Sumptuous accommodation and a warm welcome. Fine dining was provided by the on site Stables restaurant. A faultless and great value overnight stay, look forward to visiting again.