Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop Hotels > Soughton Hall Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Soughton Hall Country House Hotel

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
SYCHDYN , MOLD, CH7 6AB
Located amidst the beautiful Welsh countryside, this historic hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking. With luxurious rooms, elegant interior and magnificent gardens, it is one of the most select venues in the North West.

Built in 1714, Soughton Hall started life as a bishop’s palace and has been the home to a succession of heirs in the Wynne-Bankes family line. It is now a privately owned boutique hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Exquisitely furnished and decorated, this luxurious country house features the highest standards of interior design. From beautiful handmade carpets and fabrics to an impressive collection of antiques and curios, it truly embodies the refined elegance of traditional country living.

All 15 bedrooms at the hotel are individually named and elegantly decorated. Each room has its own bathroom, bath robes, Egyptian cotton sheets, television, radio, hair dryer, trouser press, homemade biscuits, mineral water and tea and coffee making facilities. With antique furnishings, handmade carpets and beautiful fabrics, each unique room has the highest standard of interior design.

The Stables Bar & Restaurant offers a range of classic dishes as well as modern and seasonal cooked to order. On Sundays a traditional roast carvery is served. The restaurant’s has a fine selection of wines and specialises in South African. Whatever the occasion, the hotel can tailor the event to the guest’s requirements. Menus, entertainment and even a glamorous marquee are available for large parties.

Soughton Hall is the perfect venue for weddings. With a stunning backdrop of magnificent mature gardens, specially tailored wedding menus, vintage wines and a team of professional staff, Soughton Hall surpasses all expectations it is totally unique and very special.

The peaceful surroundings and superb facilities make Soughton Hall ideal for conferences and business meetings. The meeting rooms are naturally lit by large windows with views of the gardens and surrounding countryside.
Picture of Soughton Hall Country House Hotel, MOLD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A touch of luxury
A fantastic opportunity for a night away in a truly idyllic stately home.
Sumptuous accommodation and a warm welcome.
Fine dining was provided by the on site Stables restaurant.
A faultless and great value overnight stay, look forward to visiting again.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with some beautiful surroundings and very friendly staff
Really nice Accommodation, very friendly staff set in lovely grounds, food was superb also. Only minor annoyance is the wifi in the restaurant was very hit and miss but it was free so not a complaint at all. Would happily stay there again

Reviewed by
Craig C

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain basement luxury!
Lovely place to stay. Superb themed rooms and very pleasant helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Stephen Morris

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury and Relaxation for Good Value
Stumbled across Soughton Hall as a last minute night away for my husband's birthday and what a great deal it was. Staff really friendly, rooms cosy and clean and food was absolutely gorgeous. We had an evening meal in The Stables Bar and George the Pianist played everyone dining's choice of music and took the time to engage with you. It was something different than a CD being played in the background. Breakfast was also in the stables and the service was quick and friendly and the food was just as delicious. Would definately stay again. If you like the hustle and bustle of the city it is not for you, however Chester Park and Ride is only a 15 minute drive. If you want a peaceful relaxing night away in the countryside this is the perfect place to stay.

Reviewed by
L Dickinson

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Felt like a princess
The hotel, grounds and restaurant are amazing! Loved our stay there. We even commented that if it was closer to home, we'd get married there!
Felt like a princess waking up in the beautiful room.

Reviewed by
M Gallagher

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water. Good wedding venue, not a business hotel.
Unfortunately there was no hot water when I stayed. I found out about this by overhearing another group of guests asking for an update on the hot water situation at 2020 over dinner. I had not been informed about it. When I aksed about it I was told they couldn't get a plumber in until the next day and was welcome to check out at no cost! They couldn't be sure that I wouldn't have hot water. I returned to my room in the main building, found that there was no hot water in my room and could not raise anyone on the internal telephone numbers posted in my room. The family who own it were away. I had to find an external number for the Stables Restaurant by going online and then it took over an hour to get some hot water brought up to my room to wash in. The young girls on duty were very friendly and helpful but were not equipped to take action to get the problem solved. The manager the next morning was unaware of the issue all together. Kettle and tea and coffee in the room, no milk, no biscuits. No breakfast pre 7am.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of Downton Abbey
What a gem - a great location for business in Mold and Chester.
This period country house was really charming and the room was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with the modern amenities I need when away on business. Breakfast was excellent and the owner and all the staff were very welcoming and attentive.
I have no hesitation in staying at Soughton Hall again.

Reviewed by
Kerry B

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at Soughton Hall
We arrived at the hotel to be told the room was not ready as there had been a wedding the day before, not the best of welcomes, we were then left to our own devices for around an hour until the room was ready. The room itself was very good with a spiral staircase up to the bathroom however the cleanliness of the room let it down dead spiders in the bath etc. The food in the stables bar however was excellent and very good value. It would have been nice to be able to get a drink in the hotel however the hotel bar was not open due to there being a function on in the marquee. The breakfast the following morning however was very good.

Reviewed by
james b

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel at incredible prices - highly recommend.

Reviewed by
M Barnett

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Would use again, room a little dated and aged

Reviewed by
P C

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next