No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel on 0191 2320781 for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 165 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
Double room, 316 with a view of a wall with peeling paint and if I stretched my neck, could just about see the Tyne Bridge. No double glazing so could hear freight trains from the nearby rail station throughout the night. Breakfast was buffet style and not very hot or inspiring. Very disappointed as I had stayed here before

Reviewed by
Richard M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Nice room, friendly staff, good facilities and would definitely return

Reviewed by
Callum G

From Paisley , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stag party weekend
The hotel location is brilliant, central for the bars, 10 min walk to St. James park for the football and 1 min from the train station platforms for when your rough after the night before. Can't complain about the cleanliness as the hotel was spotless, staff were friendly and helpful the only let down was the room temperature. I'm not sure if there is a sauna underneath room 212 or a lava pit but the window in the room was open the entire weekend and the radiator was off, I'd be surprised if the temperature went below 27 degrees in there. I'm sure if I said something I would have been moved to another room but I was there stag party and it was pretty close to the lift so location over temperature won out.

Reviewed by
R Maciver

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, perfect location, will be back!
Cannot fault anything about my stay, it was perfect for what I needed-near to the station, the bars & the shops. Room was lovely & had a great bathroom, much bigger than expected. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Lara M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel. Newcastle
Staff were very pleasant and knowledgable. The accommodation was excellent as was the location.

Reviewed by
Ian Hannah

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom basin plug was stuck 'open'. After reporting and getting 'fixed' it stayed closed for a few moments before opening again. Made washing self and clothes difficult and wasteful.

Reviewed by
PAULA H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
The only good thing this hotel has is location. No room air conditioning, small cramped bathroom, poor standard of decor. No better than a travelodge or premier inn. Breakfast was extra and quite frankly not worth the money. Very poor indeed. Will not return again in a hurry.

Reviewed by
Philip R

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first visit
i was very pleased with my room and very luxury at a good price.

Reviewed by
melissa g

From Wadhurst, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room right in city centre will use again

Reviewed by
P Minary

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
The check in was a good experience. However, the room itself was dated and not very clean. The silicone around the bath was black and mouldy.

Reviewed by
A Chinn

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next