No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel on 0191 2320781 for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break
I stayed with my 17yr old daughter, we went to the arena to see Mcbusted. The hotel is close to the train station, when we booked In the staff were very friendly. We had a twin room which was clean, the shower was very powerful, perfect to wake you up! We used all the facilities including the pool and steam room. I would certainly go again and recommend it to my friends.

Reviewed by
alison b

From northumberland, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money

Reviewed by
P Cooper

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy
Despite reading negative reviews, I was very happy with my room. I paid £75 and got a massive suite. Yes breakfast was charged as an optional extra of £10 but it was good quality. The location of the hotel was very convenient for shops and the station. Music could be heard from the wine bar downstairs, but it didn't bother me. If you like 100% no sound then probably not the best place to stay, personally I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca N

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
Very impressed. Very clean room. Nice to have free items in fridge. Good price. Good location.

Reviewed by
tracey k

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely stay at the royal hotel newcastle, staff very friendly and helpful and what a lovely surprise on arrival to be upgraded to the bridal suite! Thought that only happened to everyone else. Top marks and would definitely come back again

Reviewed by
k sutherland

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Friendly staff and impressive hotel.

Reviewed by
C Searle

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Wow factor
I was not expecting much but when I walked into this hotel it certainly made me stop and look!! It is one of the oldest hotels in NC but is very grand. The location was perfect for what we needed & our room was HUGE with a second bedroom attached. This could have been down to booking it late but we had a great stay & will certainly stay here again.
The only negative was the parking. We were lucky to get a hotel space otherwise its £15 to use the station right next door as there are not many.

Reviewed by
Katherine s

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient
This hotel is good value for money and very handy for the station

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
I really enjoyed my stay, was amazed when my friend and I arrived in our twin room- it was huge! Given the fact it only cost around £20/night more than a Premier Inn we thought it was fantastic value for money. Especially with the use of the Spa facilities and the small fridge with complimentary refreshments. The only down side was the noise from a club across the street.

Reviewed by
Kirsty O

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms, very friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
pauline robertson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next