No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Station Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neville Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 5DH
Situated in the heart of the bustling city of Newcastle upon Tyne, the 3 star non smoking Royal Station Hotel combines elegant Victorian architecture with up to date facilities and takes pride in offering a courteous and friendly service. Opened by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1858, the hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and now features 144 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a choice of fourteen versatile conference suites the largest of which can accommodate up to 200 delegates, wireless high speed Internet in all areas, a Leisure Club with an in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and cold plunge pool as well as a fitness area and the popular bar, Jalou . The Leisure Centre is open 7 days a week (excluding Bank Holidays). Conveniently located, adjacent to Central Station the hotel is the ideal base for exploring Newcastle upon Tyne whether visiting on business or pleasure.

During the Festive Period, Leisure Club opening hours will be restricted at the Royal Station Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne. Please contact the hotel for further information on opening times.

Please note T&C's for group bookings for 6 or more rooms differ from standard terms please contact the hotel for further details

We now provide free limited guest wifi at a speed of 400kbits, this is a free to use service suitable for browsing the internet, facebook, webmail etc. If a guest would like to pay for a more premium service this is available for £1.00 per hour, £5.00 per day and £10.00 per week, at speeds up to 3072kbits that is capable of streaming on line media.
Picture of Royal Station Hotel , Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
When we got there the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was a very good size. At night when all was quite you could just hear some music from outside but it wasn't bad. The food in the restaurant is lovely and not to badly price. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
s webster

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Station Hotel Staff
I stay in a lot of hotels and always find the staff at the Royal station the most helpfull and courtious that I meet

Reviewed by
graham g

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay before breakfast
A nice hotel marred by a noisy side (overlooks the station, obviously), but also a very odd payment policy for breakfast. Just when you are feeling delicate, and you need a cuppa and some tlc, you must pay at the bar before you even know what's on the buffet.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated!
needs a refurb!

Reviewed by
a cookman

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grim and noisy
The room was clean . Furnishing and bedding was cheap and nasty .it was impossible to sleep due to noise . It was convenient for the station but so are lots of alternatives .It was by far the worst place I have stayed on a very very long time .

Reviewed by
Claire C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday night at the station hotel
The hotel is in an excellent location right by the train station. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Staff on reception were unprofessional; laughing and talking to one another while they served us, making us feel uncomfortable while checking out.

Reviewed by
Rachel D

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation
The hotel room was really nice and was clean couldn't fault anything. I never tried the food so not sure what it was like. The staff in the hotel were really helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel
I was given a room with 3 double beds, none of the beds had a full set of feet the cushions on every bed were dirty, the carpet was stained and also not hoovered , stains over all the walls this room looks as if its used for partying. i have stayed in other rooms before and they were better however after this room i will not be staying again.

Reviewed by
K Wilson

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet Saturday night in Newcastle
We were given a room looking out onto an internal well. We were in too much of a hurry to complain but when we realised that the back of the hotel faced the railway (I'd have loved it, my companion not) and the front faced onto Newcastle city centre on a Saturday night, we were glad.
It was expensive for what it was - a room for sleeping in - but perhaps it would have seemed better value if we'd stayed longer. It was, however, superbly convenient for the event we were in Newcastle for.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite nice but £140 was quite expensive

Reviewed by
Linda G

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next