No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cambrian Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
38 Berwyn Street, LLANGOLLEN, , Llangollen, LL20 8NB
We are situated in the centre of the town within walking distance to all local amenities. Cambrian House has 10 letting bedrooms, a choice of single, double, twin bedded and family rooms. All rooms are En-suite and Four Poster Bedrooms are also available. All our bedrooms have T.V., tea/coffee facilities, clock radio's and central heating. Our dining room has seperate tables for individual bookings for your Full English, Vegetarian or Gluten Free. The Restaurant is open every night for guests and packed lunches are also available by arrangement. The house is non-smoking throughout, wiith a fully fitted fire system. Llangollen is the "Gateway to Wales". Set in the picturesque Dee Valley. This beautiful town hosts thousands of tourists every year. The town boasts a steam railway, 17th Century "Ladies of Llangollen", Plas Newydd House, the 13th Century remains of Castle Dinas Bran, Vale Crucis Abbey is situated on the outskirts of town. The Langollen Canal is always worth a visit with horse drawn boats and motorised ones to take you over the Famous Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, which is now a "World Heritage Site". The World renowned International Eisteddfod is held in Llangollen every July. Llangollen attracts walkers and canoeists, and is also ideal for shooting, hand gliding, pony trekking, rock climbing and fishing on the spectacular River Dee. Llangollen is ideally situated for the keen golfer as there are 8 golf courses within a 10 mile radius.
Picture of Cambrian Guest House, Llangollen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
This is an older building with many repairs over the years. Beds were lumpy . Room was large and reasonably clean. Hosts were very friendly and food was good. Convenient to walk around town.

Reviewed by
Ruth D

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Star?
Not worthy of 3 star. How often do the Welsh Council review their star ratings? When the landlady came to try and fix the t.v. she commented that she should have bought a duster with her when she saw the dust on it !! But never came back with one When I arrived there was a discarded chips carton by the front door and it was still there when I left. Outside of the house badly in need of a good brush, the windows had not been cleaned in ages. Only had toast and tea for breakfast so I cannot comment on the food. The room was so small a clothes rail was located in the much bigger bathroom. The shower was not very clean and only a trickle of water. Did not go bare foot anywhere. That says it all. Very,very dissappointed. Will not be staying again.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Brynrefail, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy road
Busy road. Could do with black out curtains.
Excellent hospitality.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
Very friendly and welcoming. Ideal location.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, basic with good breakfast
Stayed as we were at a wedding in the area. Llangollen is a classic case of demand outweighing supply and so hoteliers can charge high prices for nothing special. Don't get me wrong, it's perfectly adequate, but tired. Decent size room and a very comfy bed actually (which is the most important thing). Basic bathroom. There was a good choice at breakfast. I think the rates are a bit high for what you get but pretty much average for the area.
I would stay again, if I had to. I think if you're passing through/staying for one night and just need a bed, then it will be fine.

Reviewed by
L Allen

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Welsh Guest House
The Cambrian is a welcoming guest house.The proprietors are friendly and attentive...rooms are clean and comfortable.Breakfast is excellent...No..it's not 5 star but it's clean,friendly and comfortable and that's what's important to me ..Stayed there twice and will be back !

Reviewed by
Jennifer Powell

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, lovely owners and yummy breakfast
Stayed here on a one nighter so I didn't have to drive so far when climbing snowdon. Nice b&b, very close to the town. Lovely couple who made a tasty breakfast.
Next to a fairly busy road so no good for people looking for complete quiet. The facility is quirky and has a homely feel. I thought it was great value and would stay here for an overnight again.

Reviewed by
Jason N

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Llangollen Railway Steam Gala
Very convenient for Llangollen station. Reasonably priced, free wifi, friendly people

Reviewed by
David L

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Gem
I visited Llangollen to do some walking and was really glad I booked this hotel for my stay. Llangollen is a lovely place to visit and is very safe for a woman travelling on her own. The hotel is a small B&B in the heart of the town with friendly staff and a homely atmosphere. There is a small bar and restaurant, although I only had the breakfast (full english) which was very good. There is also parking to the rear of the building if you are driving.
It was great value for money and I will definitely be booking another stay here in the future.

Reviewed by
C Collins

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick overnight stay
Very very last minute booking. Booked at 4pm and arrived at 8.30pm.
Customer service was excellent.
Food was first class both evening meal and breakfast.
Guest house a bit dated but so what, the bedroom was clean and the bed very comfy.
Would we go back ? yes we would.

Reviewed by
Roy Gallagher

From Salisbury, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next