No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Anchor

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street, Beer, Seaton, EX12 3ET
The Anchor Inn Beer near Seaton in Devon is perfectly situated overlooking the sea in the delightful Devonshire village of Beer only a short drive from the historic market town of Seaton on the stunning East Devon coast.

The Anchor is an informal, friendly Hotel offering attractive accommodation with traditional West Country hospitality and is renowned locally for its excellent food and fresh fish dishes. It is an excellent base for exploring the local area - superb cliff top walks, fishing and scuba diving. Dartmoor and Exmoor are within a few miles.
Picture of The Anchor, Seaton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Beutiful position and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Pauline V

From Wedmore, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely peaceful traditional seaside village Inn.
I took my wife here to the Anchor Inn for something special on her birthday. We had a great stay and were made to feel very welcome. I would certainly recommend it if you are loooking for a quiet yet interesting place to stay. Beer still has that ' time stood still ' fishing village feel about it.

Reviewed by
Dave N

From Corfe Mullen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks for helping us to celebrate our wedding anniversary
No complaints re hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. What was a real pain was having to pay for 24 hour parking. No access to level parking due to essential works which closed the only level accessible parking area in and around the hotel. Tried to get a permit for 4 nights and couldn't as there was a fault with the machine. Without Jim's (the managers) help we would never have managed to get up to the car park at the top of the hill.

Reviewed by
Lorraine G

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good breakfast, no hotel parking
no car parking at hotel and staff unclear on limits re parking in road outside hotel. parking will be problematic and pricey in summer, ok in winter though.
staff unsure about security of wifi which i could not get working.
on the credit side the breakfast was very good with a wide range on offer

Reviewed by
michael p

From cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice room wonderful seaview very clean and tidy. staff very helpful and breakfast choice and quality was excellent

Reviewed by
barry barwick

From Ledbury, Regno Unito
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good beer
Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent crab suppers and good beer

Reviewed by
roger b

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside break
Nice place,dated room with nice sea views,very busy at dinner,with slow(1hr+) service.Would stay again at £69.00,would have been disapointed at £125!

Reviewed by
c grierson

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Address Seaton but hotel actually in Beer. Would have been difficult if we had to use public transport. Quality of food very poor.

Reviewed by
J Hatton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute luxury
we were very negative about online booking after a bad experience so decided that we just needed a `head down` space and resigned ourselves to low expectation. Delighted! Really lovely room, excellent location and friendly helpful staff. Beer is lovely and the perfect place for a relaxed mini break. would come back again and recommend to others.

Reviewed by
d smith

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.