No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Inn On The Green

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Stane Street, , , Ockley, RH5 5TD
As 'The Good Pub Guide' recommends; The Inn On The Green is a place for all the family. Accommodating a large bar area with multiple tables, sofas and traditional pub games. The Inn also boasts a large dining room with an additional dining area in the spacious conservatory. It doesn't stop there, as outside great care has been taken for the newly built and greatly appreciated children’s' play area. Parent's needn't fret as we also host an all weather shelter outside with infrared heat lamps for the bitter English weather. Formally The 'Red Lion', The Inn On The Green is nestled in the heart of the beautiful and tranquil setting of the Surrey Hills. A superb collaboration of 'olde world' and contemporary design. A popular destination for weddings and many private hire events; it's not to be missed.
Picture of The Inn On The Green, Ockley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub
Room 1: Bit tired and needs updating. No double glazing and very rusty towel rail in bathroom.
On the upside the bed was very comfy and you couldn't hear any noise really considering it was on a main road. The shower is also very powerful which I liked. The floorboards are very squeaky aswell, but this also adds to the character you don't tend to go in an old building and expect a 5* hotel. The only thing I would recommend is replacing/ re upholstering the red chair would be good, the White chair in the room was lovely and comfy.
The area: not much going on, but beautiful surroundings and the nearest shop we could find was a petrol station which was about a 5min walk away.
The bar and resturant was lovely, beamed ceilings and looked like a general pub, decor was very outdated but it gives you character of the place. There's plently of choice with the drinks and the food was lovely, I would particually recommend the sea bass!
The staff are friendly and always willing to go that extra mile.
One bad thing which has no reflect on the place at all is the amount of the cab fares. You really need to drive. We stayed there for a wedding at Gatton Manor bare in mind that it is apprx 3/4miles in a return journey. This trip cost us £50, because there are no cab offices, so they come from Dorking to do the journey, so you basically pay for them to do the return journey to get to you as well.
Would I stay again, 100% yes and the pub dog is very cute boxer!

Reviewed by
Verity Read

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
I was surprised a venue with an average review in the mid 70's let me down. Room number 4 had a lot of mould around shower, carpet stains, a tv positioned on only available wall space (high and gave a crick in the neck). I also spent most of night listening to road noise as room was at front. Bar area meal and breakfast being only plus points.

Reviewed by
Martin W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

inn on the green
really friendly comfortable place, I only had a single room but it was ok, bed was the most comfortable single I have slept in.
room was a little small but adequate, no hairdryer in room but I believe if requested one then it would of been sorted one way or the other, they just wanted you to feel welcome.

Reviewed by
a sidwell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one night
Stayed here end of June'14 and had no complaints at all. Very quiet, room excellent although décor a bit dated, clean with a good continental breakfast. Management very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately we used this as an accommodation only as we were attending a function nearby and did not get chance to sample the restaurant and bar. Good value for money. My wife and I are going to make a point of going back to enjoy this very beautiful part of Surrey.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
We enjoyed our stay. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Being a Friday night there was some music in the bar but we were not troubled by this. We enjoyed an evening meal in the bar and the continental breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Frost

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful service
Lovely place to stop and great service for breakfast. Very friendly and glad to be going back on 21st April.

Reviewed by
Sara Wake

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Inn on the Green
A very spacious room that was clean and tidy but was a little dated, not that this was an issue to me.
Excellent customer service and very good quality food.
The room was Excellent value for money and situated in beautiful country side surroundings..

Reviewed by
Barry Todd

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Very helpful and friendly staff, good range of beers to be had. The menu is varied and the meals are excellent. Room was comfortable but a bit noisy from passing traffic. Suited my needs for working in London.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From Wymondham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap small room
the room small but clean and functional.
the service was good and friendly
the food was very good but not the largest range

Reviewed by
mike rawlinson

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly but shame about the cleanliness
This was a very friendly establishment but it needs to be cleaned properly and that means the rooms as well as the public areas. One of the problems was that the big dog sat on all of the soft furnishings. The seats were really dirty and smelled. It would be OK if you were a dog person but otherwise it was quite off putting. I am also allergic to dogs and my asthma got worse. Breakfast was cereal and toast/croissant/muffins - fine for us but if you expect a fried breakfast you would be disappointed. It's a shame as it could be really nice with a bit of tender love and care.

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next