You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 105.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (61)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gregg C

  • October 2016

pleasant hotel in lovely grounds

this was a very pleasant hotel, with friendly staff and free WiFi.

the rooms were comfortable and kitted out

the shower was excellent, although the head holder (and the towel rail) were a little loose

dinner was good, but not great - quality ok, presentation ok, a little "standard hotel" for m e, maybe I didn't make the best choice

breakfast ok overall, buffet style, nice choice of teas and fruit - sausages excellent, fried egg tray was empty when I went up, but filled quite quickly, good choice of mushrooms, tomatoes and black pudding - the bacon was weakest part, dried up and overdone

  • K Impey

  • October 2016

Gipsy Hill Hotel

When we arrived we had a friendly greeting and the main hotel looked nice and was warm.

Unfortunately we stayed in a bungalow outside in the car park, our room was no. 21. The room was very cold when we arrived and had quite large patches of damp. If it was earlier in the day I would have liked to have been moved but we were so tired from travelling that we just went to bed. This isn’t somewhere I would ever recommend but perhaps if you get a decent room in the actual hotel you’ve booked you might have more luck.

  • Michelle H

  • October 2016

One night was enough

Let's start on a positive note - On arrival there was not a soul to be seen.

We rang the bell for attention as requested. We did not have to wait long to be greeted by a very friendly member of staff. She was very informative about timings, ordering of food etc. We stayed in a room with a four poster bed overlooking the gardens. The room was very tired looking, bits of wallpaper hanging off. Patches of damp in the bay window area. The room was very hot, we were unable to turn the heating down. Sunday morning breakfast. We went to the dining room to find we had to queue, wait for a table to be vacated before we could sit for breakfast. I strongly objected to this, when staying in a hotel I do NOT expect to queue for breakfast. There was only one member of staff serving, clearing and cleaning the dining room. To end on a positive note - the cooked breakfast was of good quality. The bacon and sausages were tasty. I requested poached eggs which arrived in a very short time - delicious

  • Benn M

  • August 2016

Very friendly staff, great location.

We only stayed one night, but it is perfect for families of 5 with 3 full size single beds and a huge double, breakfast was excellent and the dinner menu was also very good.

We will definitely be back.

  • A East

  • July 2016


We stayed in Room 12.

Bathroom had no towel rails, floor was extremely slippery and only towels for 1 person and no bath mat although this was requested and brought extremely quickly. The bed was not made up to standard on our 2nd night and the head board needed a hoover. Room was dated in all areas. On the good side the staff were all extremely pleasant and the breakfast was good but we would prefer fresh tea/coffee served.

  • Sarah Langton

  • May 2016

Relaxing, friendly and a perfect base.

Loved everything about our stay, friendly helpful staff, made us feel very welcome.

Clean and cozy, our room was perfect, nicely decorated with a lovely comfortable bed, big bathroom and soft fluffy towels. It's the perfect base for touring the extremely beautiful area, and we shall defiantly return. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip so memorable.

  • Rebecca S

  • May 2016

nice enough

A nice enough hotel, but some stains on the bedding.

Shower curtain very stained, missing towel rail. Been filled in where it fell off. But told to put towels on there to save washing. Tiles on bathroom Floor very slippy. 3*** at the end of day. Staff nice.

  • Nick P

  • May 2016

First class stay

Impossible to fault - Thank very much!


  • May 2016

Some great staff, but no noiseproofing means we won't be back

I have to say that I was really disappointed that no-one from the hotel bothered to warn us that there was a disco booked for the first night of our stay, and that we would not be able to hear ourselves think before almost 1am.

When I emailed at 11;45pm (as no-one was answering the phone) I didn't even get a 'sorry'!!. The lack of soundproofing is also evident in the mornings when you can hear the staff talking in the dining area (also directly below). It's a real shame, as there are some lovely staff working very hard, but I couldn't recommend the hotel, especially not the 4 poster room, to anyone unless you sleep like the dead or are hard of hearing.

  • P Larner

  • May 2016

Gipsy Hill Hotel

We stayed overnight with 4 other couples for a reunion.

The staff were welcoming, the room (in The Coach House) was ok. The furniture was new, but some of the decor needed refreshing (some bit of wallpaper peeling. The bathroom was fresh and modern. Most importantly the room and bedding were all clean. We did find that check-in was a bit of a lottery and one couple had a room with a 4-poster bed. The hotel staff were apologetic about this and gave us 2 bottles of wine for dinner. We had a lovely afternoon sat on the terrace, and opted to dine at the restaurant in the hotel. The hotel were happy to accommodate this, despite hosting a wedding that day. We had a nice table for 10. The menu choices were ok and portions fine, and the staff were more than welcoming in terms of food orders that were 'off menu'. The food worked out at £22 per head excluding drinks. The quality of the wine was a bit below average. Despite backing onto the M5, you could hardly hear the cars, even when we were sat on the terrace. More prominent was the one plane that took off from Exeter airport. Breakfast was buffet-style. Again, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. They had reserved a table for all 10 of us. The food was good although fresh tea/coffee (not from the Thermos jugs) would have been nice. I don't think there were any facilities such as a pool, etc., but there was a swingball on the lawn. Overall, a great stay, made better by the company we had, but the hotel was fine for us, and we'd probably return for a similar reunion.