No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night stay
excellent value for money, but paid at the reduced offer rate.
staff very helpful, would stay again

Reviewed by
richard s

From Sturminster Newton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Start
We were shown a very average double room which smelled of smoke (despite being a non smoking room - thank you previous guests!)
The staff quickly offered us a very nice alternative room (why not the better room initially?)
Staff were friendly & efficient.
Breakfast room was spacious & an excellent buffet breakfast (full English) was available.

Reviewed by
Paul Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gipsy Hill Hotel
Thank you. Your hotel was clean and comfortable, and good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

facilities were very basic and dated but food was ok and staff were helpful but facilities very dated and the room was noisy.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here plenty of times over the passed few years and always enjoyed our stay,
Was greeted by staff who remembered us which was lovely , had a fab meal really enjoyed our stay untill 5.30 in the morning we where woken by children running around in the above room , so we where up at the crack of dawn ! My hubby and I was hoping to get away for a quiet weekend and a lie in on a Sunday morning , but was not to be ! So we headed for breakfast at 08.00 and who was there the family with 4 young children who enjoyed smearing yogurt on there hair and taking photos at the breakfast table , it was such a shame it spoilt our weekend away , we where so gutted as we don't get much quietly time together . When we checked out the lady in reception asked about our stay said about the noise in the room above , the the eating habits at breakfast , she replied next time we book as for a room which isn't near a family room , I replied I wouldn't be coming back again , ruined our weekend away , lost a customer who did come back at least ever 6 months gutted

Reviewed by
L Goddard

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly clean comfortable
We had a great weekend the staff are very welcoming accommodation is good cleanliness is great all in all a great place for a weekend

Reviewed by
David C

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was spacious but a little dated. Bed was comfy and shower worked with hot water so basic requirements met! Did arrive to only one set of towels so had to go and request another set and only got two hand towels! Staff really friendly, breakfast was tasty with good variety - proper sausages! Good value for money as a late booking.

Reviewed by
Philip C

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

large room good service
Stayed on uni recci with son in a large sized twin. Similar price to some of the chain hotels but nicer as lots of communal space in bar / lounge. Room was very generous size but as other reviews say dated and chintzy but very clean. Nice comfy beds, good standard of buffet breakfast and excellent customer service. Great access to motorway with easy access to a local train station which I assume runs into Exeter if you do not want to drive. Had nice large grounds but too wet to sit outside when we went

Reviewed by
A Melhuish

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's stay
was a comfortable room to stay in no issues, good value for money basically. work purposes only

Reviewed by
naveed b

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean room, comfy bed, good breakfast and friendly staff. only staying for one night, so cant ask for much more than that

Reviewed by
simon a

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next