No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel although our room was the smallest in the hotel (we looked on the floor plan) it was clean but the bathroom was very dated, the staff were all fantastic and the food was excellent, we would definitely stay again but ask for a different room.

Reviewed by
P Bradstock

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We just stayed the one night but were welcomed and adjustments readily made to charge for stay as they had charged more than quoted on the booking site. Room comfortable and spacious enough for the 3 of us. Lovely pleasant surroundings and overlooked whilst having breakfast and then sat on the terrace to enjoy our cup of tea. Could not believe the M5 was at the bottom of the grounds.

Reviewed by
Deborah M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Gypsy Hill Hotel. We arrived and there was a fabulous receptionist on duty who was very welcoming and helpful. The room itself was great. Very clean and tidy. It was really hot due to the current heat wave but we asked the lovely receptionist and she arranged for a fan to be put in the room. Breakfast at this hotel has to be one of the best we have ever had. It is all fresh and is replenished regularly to keep it fresh. Plenty of choice and HOT!! Brilliant. All the staff are so polite and helpful but a special mention must go to George who is just wonderful and seems to cover every job in the hotel. Brilliant hotel and would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
Maggie A

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
This hotel had it all, the staff was really helpful and friendly, the views was lovely and it was very relaxing. It was lovely seeing the rabbits in the garden.

Reviewed by
emma e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday
Friendly and well maintained hotel

Reviewed by
John Appleton

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short over night stay
Hotel could do with a bit of TLC a lick of paint and new fittings would go a long way to making this place so much nicer, staff polite and helpful and a very good breakfast after a disappointing evening meal,hotel easy to find and in a quiet location down a very narrow single track road.

Reviewed by
R Bartlett

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly hotel
Great hotel, though a little dated in places. Close to the motorway, not that you notice. Great views and a large garden to relax in. An amazing warm and welcoming staff, couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
phillip p

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine
Gipsy Hill is fine - out-dated décor, and some rooms are nicer than others (I have stayed here three times). Staff are lovely, WiFi is difficult to get hold of from your room if you are staying on business as I was. Breakfast was fine. Had a big hot bath which was great. Its quiet too.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Laterooms. Here at the Gipsy Hill Hotel we strive very hard to provide the best levels of customer service, exceptional food and a relaxing and peaceful stay, all wrapped up in a warm and independently run hotel. I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations with regards to your stay on these fronts. The Hotel is currently under going a renovation process, though as you can imagine this takes time and we have continued improvements planned over the remainder of this year and into the next. Sadly with regards to the Wi-Fi we have had a few issues with the system, but are striving to rectify these issues. A new line is being fitted into the coach house to improve the stability in that building , upgrading of many of the routers / switches and will be moving to BT Infinity once the local exchange has been updated. Kind Regards, John

Reviewed by
ruth b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Surprise
It was £65 for a double room for the night and I wasn't expecting much but upon entering I was taken aback. The reception was presentable ad the member of staff who greeted us was really polite. Upon Getting to the room, the size took me totally by surprise. The best nights sleep I've had in a long time!

Reviewed by
Thomas L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful grounds but hotel rooms are very old fashioned as well as reception area. bed was very old and shaky with no air conditioning

Reviewed by
fiona t

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next