Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M S M

  • November 2013


Exceptionally friendly staff.

Wonderfully helpful night porter, (couldn't ask for better). Clean, fresh rooms. Excellent breakfast. Good parking. Lovely hotel.

  • T Parkinson

  • November 2013

good place to stay

I found this hotel to be of a very good standard for the price, the rooms are a little dated but other than that ok, the food served at both breakfast & dinner were fantastic, also the staff were the most friendly I have come across.

  • lorainne b

  • November 2013

You get what you pay for.

The room rate was reasonable due to booking at such short notice.

The staff were friendly. The room was of an ok standard, Good quality TV, clean bedding and room. The had been water damage across the hotel, which needed some attention. We had a meal in the bar, the food was not the best but cooked and tasted ok. Breakfast was another matter. Not very impressed scrambled eggs like rubber, mushrooms swimming in fat. Best option for breakfast was cereal, fruit, yogurts- eg things not cooked by the chef. But again for the short notice and we just needed a bed for the night the hotel fit the purpose.

  • Matt Guy

  • November 2013

Simple, clean and friendly

I stayed for one night and the room was fairly basic but clean.

The staff were friendly and the Breakfast was great. The staff were engaging and I would stay again.

  • Tom Hughes

  • October 2013

Good value for money.

Adequate for what I wanted

  • Elizabeth R

  • October 2013

Excellent size room.

Comfy bed. Value for the price I paid. Some tattiness to the bedframe and staining to the carpet but nothing too dire. Clean and comfy. Good breakfast

  • D Hill

  • October 2013

Friendly staff, good food.

Plenty of parking, the internet connection is decent and dinner was really good.

Breakfast is fine, but being buffet style the food tends to go cold quite quickly. The lights outside stay on all night and the curtains are thin; lighting in the room however is dim and not really adequate for working. Overall good value and I would definitely stay again.


  • October 2013

Not bad at all, actually pretty good!

There were very bad reviews and a picture showing poor quality of bedroom so I would have avoided this hotel if I could.

but my impression was that they actually seem to be unfairly bad, or maybe the hotel has improved very much after those reviews were left. the bed was real single and small, but as clean as it could be and reasonably comfy. the room was facing to the car park which was being used over night so was a bit noisy, but not overly so. bathroom was large and bright and clean. the breakfast was great and it has a view to the large lawns where we could have breakfast if weather allows. the lobby and the common space may smell like an old hotel but very slightly. so I would say this hotel may not be excellent or luxurious, it is pretty good for the price. for this price it will be hard to find a better accommodation.

  • L Lockyear

  • October 2013

We have a lovely stay, staff were very helpful. We will booking again