No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
Can't fault this hotel, we were made to feel very welcome, our room was excellent with an ensuite bathroom complete with bath and shower. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent and the service very good. We relaxed in the lounge after dinner with a couple of drinks and then off to bed. We were going to an event in Exeter the next day and the guy on reception kindly printed off a route for us to follow which was perfect. We will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Roy Smith

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel but Value for money
The hotel is a little tired, but at a discounted rate of under 50% of normal this made a very good buy.
The staff were friendly, the rooms clean. Bit of a late 1980's time warp. Great location with nice gardens.

Reviewed by
david thacker

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent food, very friendly staff. Very clean and bright room, a bit small but, adequate and comfortable. A very nice place to stay the ambience of the whole thing was so nice. I will definitely stay there again when I next work in that area. Good value and, again, excellent food.

Reviewed by
B Gray

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we will book this hotel in the near future

Reviewed by
kenneth c

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel itself could do with a makeover but the rooms were comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was very good but could be made available from 7.00 am
Evening meal was good value for money, bar was comfortable with friendly staff

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Upminster, England
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Very comfortable hotel, amazing to look out of the window and see rabbits on the lawn first thing. We would stay again when in the area.

Reviewed by
M Ryan

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value budget hotel
Hotel decor is a dated badly in need of a bit of investment.
Bedroom and bathroom clean and more modern than the entrance and dining room. Bid flat screen tv. Although the room overlooked the car park.
Buffet breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly,the room was large and comfortable. We loved the grounds as we wanted a quiet "chill out" and spent afternoons lounging in the gardens. The food was superb, with good service. Easy access to Exeter with nearby Park and ride.

Reviewed by
Eileen F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would stay there again
It's old-fashioned but everything was clean and in good order. Bed was comfortable, wi-fi was good, modern bathroom and quality toilet paper! Breakfast was simple but delicious and staff were really courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
KAREN V

From WORCESTER, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tired hotel in need of renovation - excellent breakfast and good family friendly atmosphere.
Overall good value for money in a quiet location, just off of motorway. A little difficult to find as older GPS navigation systems send the driver back 10 miles up the motorway. ( Happens quite frequently).
We had a large family room, with one double and three single beds. A good sized room which was comfortable enough but in need of modernisation. The bathroom was very old and tired and shower was no more than a trickle. We arrived at 1 am, in the morning and was immediately welcomed by night porter. In the morning breakfast was good quality and plentiful in a welcoming atmosphere. All in all a good one night stopover, that was better value than travel lodge nearby. If looking for a more modern hotel then Holiday Inn just down the road, probably a better bet. However I would also recommend this hotel as we had an overall good experience.

Reviewed by
J Morgan-Smith

From 4085 Hundvag, Norway
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next