No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we will book this hotel in the near future

Reviewed by
kenneth c

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel itself could do with a makeover but the rooms were comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was very good but could be made available from 7.00 am
Evening meal was good value for money, bar was comfortable with friendly staff

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Upminster, England
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Very comfortable hotel, amazing to look out of the window and see rabbits on the lawn first thing. We would stay again when in the area.

Reviewed by
M Ryan

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value budget hotel
Hotel decor is a dated badly in need of a bit of investment.
Bedroom and bathroom clean and more modern than the entrance and dining room. Bid flat screen tv. Although the room overlooked the car park.
Buffet breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly,the room was large and comfortable. We loved the grounds as we wanted a quiet "chill out" and spent afternoons lounging in the gardens. The food was superb, with good service. Easy access to Exeter with nearby Park and ride.

Reviewed by
Eileen F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tired hotel in need of renovation - excellent breakfast and good family friendly atmosphere.
Overall good value for money in a quiet location, just off of motorway. A little difficult to find as older GPS navigation systems send the driver back 10 miles up the motorway. ( Happens quite frequently).
We had a large family room, with one double and three single beds. A good sized room which was comfortable enough but in need of modernisation. The bathroom was very old and tired and shower was no more than a trickle. We arrived at 1 am, in the morning and was immediately welcomed by night porter. In the morning breakfast was good quality and plentiful in a welcoming atmosphere. All in all a good one night stopover, that was better value than travel lodge nearby. If looking for a more modern hotel then Holiday Inn just down the road, probably a better bet. However I would also recommend this hotel as we had an overall good experience.

Reviewed by
J Morgan-Smith

From 4085 Hundvag, Norway
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would stay there again
It's old-fashioned but everything was clean and in good order. Bed was comfortable, wi-fi was good, modern bathroom and quality toilet paper! Breakfast was simple but delicious and staff were really courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
KAREN V

From WORCESTER, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated decor but lovely.
Decor dated but the room we had was lovely, comfortable and quiet.

Reviewed by
Brian W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick trip
Very good service overall room. A bit dated and shower not very good

Reviewed by
mark c

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Welcome to Exeter
The Hotel on first appearance looked in need of some external attention, however as soon as we enterd we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient member of staff. The internal decor and carpets have been well maintained. Our room was large and comfortable with deep carpets, extra heating and blankets for the chilly weather. The buffet breakfast was fine with very helpful welcoming staff. Thank you for our pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
J Millington

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next