No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room with friendly staff
Enjoyable and relaxing time. Staff really helpful.

Reviewed by
Matthew D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brief stay at the Gipsy Hill Hotel
This was a tucked away place, which completely suited us. The room was really generous sized, lovely and clean and quiet. We arrived quite late, but this didn't faze the lady at reception at all and we checked in very quickly. Breakfast the following morning was very tasty and the lady serving was a bit overworked, but immensely capable.
We would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sarah R

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service. Good value
Stayed over night on route to Cornwall. Overall, service very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is dated and needs modernisation but the rooms were clean and very spacious. Easy to park. 10 minute drive into Exeter town centre. Lovely gardens. Breakfast was good. Got a good nights sleep and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was not as remote as I first thought from booking and had an old world charm seldom found nowadays. The car park was full when I arrived in the evening but the welcome and attentiveness of staff more than made up for it. The view of the lawns from the dining room and bar are spectacular. I chose to eat from the bar as it was after 8 when I arrived and found a lovely seat outside to relax and take in the views.
The communal areas of the building are filled with fascinating furniture and decoration but my room was a little disappointing.I had booked a single room but had been upgraded to a double and the room was comfortable and clean and had adequate facilities but was a little small and dated in terms of decor (avocado bathroom suite!). A treat was to have a window that I was able to open fully as it was a very warm night. the bed was lovely and overall it was a perfect place to stay for a night or two.
I had asked for a 7am call but found there was an alarm clock in my room. just as well as I received my alarm call at 7.45???
the hotel does have a real charm and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. All were very welcoming.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Huyton with Roby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Tired Hotel
We stayed at the Gypsy Hill 20 years ago and going back was like entering a time warp! It used to be good but now really needs money spending on it to bring it into the 21st century.

Reviewed by
Neil Tolan

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok Hotel - Nothing Special
My room was rather small and the bathroom certainly needs to be re-decorated. The restaurant in the evening is nothing special to speak about but perfectly functional. Breakfast was the usual hotel rubbish of pre cooked food kept vaguely warm.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Blewbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit
The Staff were very helpfuland efficient.
The Hotel is popular with contractors and visitors passing through. Good Value.

Reviewed by
M Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired.food not up to much. poor value.

Reviewed by
P Blackmore

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Food and Staff
Food all locally sourced and really tasty, good choice on menu. Staff very helpful. Grounds beautiful. Room looked tired but comfortable bed - think I would have been upset if I had paid the full price for the room.

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor staff
A very clean hotel, staff were ok,
However, reception area was poor, and the service in the restaurant at breakfast was the worse I have ever had, slow, bad attitude, complaining about their job, it ruined a pleasant stay,next time book room only.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Grayshott, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next