No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mr &Mrs Sellars 0verall veiw of Gipsy Hill Hotel.
We found our stay very comfortable and pleasing .Staff were very helpful.Our evening meal was spendid as was our breakfast,we really enjoyed the garden veiw.

Reviewed by
Kenneth Sellars

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, staff very welcoming and friendly.
Breakfast great
Bed really comfortable - room very clean

Reviewed by
K Wright

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for Family of 5
As a travelling family of 5 it was great value. The staff let us view the room first and could not have done more for us. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, which again was great. Would certainly recommend this hotel. Easy to find and close to the motorway for easy departure the next day but still with the feeling that you were in the countryside.

Reviewed by
C Sauerwald

From Prospect, Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gypsy Hill Hotel Exeter
We've stayed here before and enjoyed it. The area is much changed and you will have a bit of difficulty in finding it without a sat nav as it is not well sign posted. The staff are friendly, polite,and attentive. We were certainly made to feel very welcome. The room was comfy and spacious and the en suite was clean . We had the window open all night as it was warm and it was quite noisy from about 6.00am onwards with planes overhead and the kitchen in full swing below.The breakfast was from a buffet. As always the upside is you can eat whatever quantity you like. The downside is that potentially it has been sitting around for a while going cold. At £8.00 per head it was reasonable value for money and decent fare. One grumble we do have is that the wi-fi worked only sporadically. We were connected for no more than 5 minutes before we were "out of range".
In conclusion,all in all we enjoyed our brief stay. We got a good deal from LR and doubtless we shall stay again some time soon but wouldn't really want to pay much more than we did.

Reviewed by
Denis O'Shea

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay.
Hotel is in a nice location, own grounds and gardens and not far from main routes although I never explored any nearby walks to local village or shops etc. Staff all friendly and helpful. Ample car parking. Room was clean and comfortable for the rate I paid. Only gripe was that the shower head fitting was positioned for someone 5' and under !!!. Had evening meal on arrival which was nicely cooked etc. prices for some items maybe just a bit too high...4.50 for a slice of cheesecake !! Lovely breakfast in the morning. All in all a pleasant stay for my purpose and would use again.

Reviewed by
K RONALDSON

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great garden for kids
Great staff and good staff

Reviewed by
keith b

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing fancy,but helpful friendly staff.Needs updating main building,but very clean.Rooms to the standard of travelodge,holidy inn etc.rooms clean and not too far from Exeter city centre,would definately use again

Reviewed by
R Sydenham

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
Can't fault this hotel, we were made to feel very welcome, our room was excellent with an ensuite bathroom complete with bath and shower. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent and the service very good. We relaxed in the lounge after dinner with a couple of drinks and then off to bed. We were going to an event in Exeter the next day and the guy on reception kindly printed off a route for us to follow which was perfect. We will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Roy Smith

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel but Value for money
The hotel is a little tired, but at a discounted rate of under 50% of normal this made a very good buy.
The staff were friendly, the rooms clean. Bit of a late 1980's time warp. Great location with nice gardens.

Reviewed by
david thacker

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent food, very friendly staff. Very clean and bright room, a bit small but, adequate and comfortable. A very nice place to stay the ambience of the whole thing was so nice. I will definitely stay there again when I next work in that area. Good value and, again, excellent food.

Reviewed by
B Gray

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next