You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3

Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (80)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • phillip p

  • July 2014

friendly hotel

Great hotel, though a little dated in places.

Close to the motorway, not that you notice. Great views and a large garden to relax in. An amazing warm and welcoming staff, couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended.

  • ruth b

  • June 2014

fine

Gipsy Hill is fine - out-dated décor, and some rooms are nicer than others (I have stayed here three times).

Staff are lovely, WiFi is difficult to get hold of from your room if you are staying on business as I was. Breakfast was fine. Had a big hot bath which was great. Its quiet too.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Laterooms.

Here at the Gipsy Hill Hotel we strive very hard to provide the best levels of customer service, exceptional food and a relaxing and peaceful stay, all wrapped up in a warm and independently run hotel. I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations with regards to your stay on these fronts.

The Hotel is currently under going a renovation process, though as you can imagine this takes time and we have continued improvements planned over the remainder of this year and into the next. Sadly with regards to the Wi-Fi we have had a few issues with the system, but are striving to rectify these issues. A new line is being fitted into the coach house to improve the stability in that building , upgrading of many of the routers / switches and will be moving to BT Infinity once the local exchange has been updated.

Kind Regards,

John

  • Ken D

  • June 2014

Nice, but a bit old fashioned.

Close to the M5 & Exeter, a bit old fashioned & could do with facelift both inside and out.

I would stay again, but it wouldn't be my 1st choice.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review on Laterooms.

Due to our close proximity to the M5, Exeter and the airport we are often one of the 1st choices for those wishing to use us as a base for business or travel.

We will never be a indenti-kit chain hotel and enjoy the fact that we are independently run and the building has some unique charms. We are an old fashioned hotel, however we are currently in the process of a long period of renovations and improvements to the building and services.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

John

  • Thomas L

  • June 2014

Pleasant Surprise

It was £65 for a double room for the night and I wasn't expecting much but upon entering I was taken aback.

The reception was presentable ad the member of staff who greeted us was really polite. Upon Getting to the room, the size took me totally by surprise. The best nights sleep I've had in a long time!

  • A Smith

  • June 2014

Exeter Escapade

Clean, friendly, helpful, nice evening meal, decent breakfast.

The room was fine although the bathroom could do with an update. I couldn't figure out how to use the shower. The hotel was a bit hot. Our bikes were safely acccommodated.

  • fiona t

  • June 2014

beautiful grounds but hotel rooms are very old fashioned as well as reception area.

bed was very old and shaky with no air conditioning

  • Brian G

  • June 2014

Very good hotel

Great service, very friendly, very clean, good standard of accommodation.

  • Mark Roberts

  • June 2014

Visit to Lympstone Commando training centre.

We booked two rooms while visiting our son at the commando training centre.

Both rooms were clean and well equipped, although I thought our room could do with a lick of paint. Breakfast was buffet style and of a good quality with plenty of choice. The grounds are great to relax and have a drink. We got a taxi into Exeter £12 and were very impressed with the city.

  • Kevin R

  • June 2014

Enjoyable stay

Just spent one night here for a shopping trip to Exeter.

Hotel was as expected, and food excellent, both evening meal in restaurant and breakfast. It's not a 'modern chain hotel', which in my view is a good thing. Large room, clean and adequate with friendly polite staff. Lounge area a little dated, but all in all, a good experience. Would stay again.

  • Chris King

  • May 2014

Chris

Convenient location for a business traveller.

Quality of the room was very good despite Hotel entrance, bar restaurant etc. looking a bit "tired" - in need of refurbishment. Friendly, helpful staff.