Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Clarke

  • March 2014

Excellent food & service - would highly recommend!

  • Janet T

  • February 2014

Well looked after in Exeter

Very friendly and welcoming hotel.

Spacious comfortable rooms - very clean. Food excellent and staff helpful and attentive.

  • James G

  • February 2014

comfortable but dated,

Decor could be better, room comfortable but cold.

Windows drafty in restaurant. Stayed in the Coach House section. Dirty water from taps initially. Duty manager did check to see if water had cleared. Food and food service good. Reasonable value for money and well situated for M5

  • A Chadderton

  • February 2014

I dont normally leave reviews....

but I thought I had better for this hotel.

Lovely welcoming staff, basic, but very comfortable room, great value for money, excellent food. My friend and I stayed here just for one night, but the hotel staff where lovely, very welcoming and friendly. We chose to eat at the hotel, and I can only say we were very glad we did as the food was of a very high standard. comfortable room, with a courtyard that will allow dogs to stay. Far enough away from the city centre to not be disturbed by rowdy fungoers, and close enough to access the town if needed. Plenty of parkinG

A good basic hotel, would be happy to stay again

  • Martin Whelan

  • January 2014

Hotel Stay

Friendly staff.

Nice hotel but slightly dated. Plenty of Parking. Ideal for the airport

  • h jermey

  • December 2013

It was a cold night and we were in a large room which felt quite cold.

The bathroom was very cold with no heating. We seemed to be over the kitchens and this was very noisy with plates rattling and what sounded like a dishwasher vibrating mixed with peoples voices which could be heard quite clearly. The grounds looked nice from the dining room, but not very inviting as it was winter

  • A Bryson

  • November 2013

I found the hotel quite tired in appearance and decor and the food was very average.

Not great value for what I paid.

  • Paul W

  • November 2013

Unexpected Surprise

we booked this room at quite short notice and got an excellent rate - so low we didn't know what to expect, Anyway the stay was excellent!.

The staff were most welcoming and could't do enough for you. The room was clean and well furnished - not like a plastic chain hotel - the beds being very comfortable. The breakfast was also good in a pleasant dining room overlooking the garden. The WiFi worked in the bar/reception but couldn't connect in the room - good signal but their router wasn't set up correctly. I would recommend the hotel and stay again

  • susan m

  • November 2013

pleasant and courteous staff really comfortable and spacious room did not expect a four poster bed and lovely buffet breakfast Would certainly stay there again

  • kevin Pickett

  • November 2013

needs a refurbishment

very noisy guests kept us awake past 2.30am