No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 105 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit
The Staff were very helpfuland efficient.
The Hotel is popular with contractors and visitors passing through. Good Value.

Reviewed by
M Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired.food not up to much. poor value.

Reviewed by
P Blackmore

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Food and Staff
Food all locally sourced and really tasty, good choice on menu. Staff very helpful. Grounds beautiful. Room looked tired but comfortable bed - think I would have been upset if I had paid the full price for the room.

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor staff
A very clean hotel, staff were ok,
However, reception area was poor, and the service in the restaurant at breakfast was the worse I have ever had, slow, bad attitude, complaining about their job, it ruined a pleasant stay,next time book room only.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Grayshott, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel in Devon
The allocated room was excellent although there was no air conditioning which one could have done with because of the heat wave and humid weather. Nevertheless it was very comfortable. The quality of the food was not commensurate with the hotel. Otherwise a good evening's stay.

Reviewed by
Roy Winn

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An odd experience - management need to test run the rooms themselves to see what needs addressing
Hmm, how to sum it up? This place is an odd mixture. The staff are very polite and seem keen to help. The family room was a good size, with a large area with a double bed, table, chairs, TV and wardrobe, and a separate section with a desk area, and another separate area containing two single beds for the kids. However, it seems as though the hotel management haven't test-run the rooms themselves (they should). 1: There are no accessible plug sockets at the desk - so if you've got a laptop and various technical bits, where do you plug them in? 2: The bath taps were broken so we had to fill the bath using the shower attachment. 3: The bath was chipped. 4: The shower curtain looks ancient and unclean (mouldy). 5: The curtain linings were mouldy. 6: The bathroom decor needs refreshing. Although it must have looked luxurious in 1985, it really needs bringing into the 21st century. 7: We were given 3 towels for 4 people. 8: The hotel from the outside is quite unappealling when you approach it from the carpark - we nearly turned round. 9: The decor in the family block is really quite revolting: burgundy painted walls and wooden bannisters and skirting that has really seen better days. In all: too expensive for the experience.

Reviewed by
Rachel O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gipsy hill hotel exeter.
stayed here multiple times when working in Exeter, good customer service rooms ok,decor starting to look a little tired.saying that I am sure the owner knows this & has to balance refurbishment with earning a living in the economic climate. food & beer excellent could do with a few more local real ales as there is many in the area. all in all good job will stay here again & again.

Reviewed by
D Mason

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation week
Beautiful weather, special occasion and lots of expectation! Unfortunately the hotel was very hot, no remote for the TV and we had to ask for a fan after being told that there was one in the room (which there wasn't ). The M5 motorway did however lull us to sleep as it can be heard when the windows are open! Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant staff were very helpful as we needed an early start for our sons graduation ceremony. The hotel needs modernisation but it is clean and the staff helpful.l

Reviewed by
stuart e

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and food.

Reviewed by
J Andrew

From WOOLSERY BIDEFORD, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A deserved break in lovely suroundings

Reviewed by
Ricky C

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next