Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 144.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (76)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John Appleton

  • July 2014


Friendly and well maintained hotel

  • R Bartlett

  • July 2014

short over night stay

Hotel could do with a bit of TLC a lick of paint and new fittings would go a long way to making this place so much nicer, staff polite and helpful and a very good breakfast after a disappointing evening meal,hotel easy to find and in a quiet location down a very narrow single track road.

  • phillip p

  • July 2014

friendly hotel

Great hotel, though a little dated in places.

Close to the motorway, not that you notice. Great views and a large garden to relax in. An amazing warm and welcoming staff, couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended.

  • ruth b

  • June 2014


Gipsy Hill is fine - out-dated décor, and some rooms are nicer than others (I have stayed here three times).

Staff are lovely, WiFi is difficult to get hold of from your room if you are staying on business as I was. Breakfast was fine. Had a big hot bath which was great. Its quiet too.

  • Ken D

  • June 2014

Nice, but a bit old fashioned.

Close to the M5 & Exeter, a bit old fashioned & could do with facelift both inside and out.

I would stay again, but it wouldn't be my 1st choice.

  • Thomas L

  • June 2014

Pleasant Surprise

It was £65 for a double room for the night and I wasn't expecting much but upon entering I was taken aback.

The reception was presentable ad the member of staff who greeted us was really polite. Upon Getting to the room, the size took me totally by surprise. The best nights sleep I've had in a long time!

  • A Smith

  • June 2014

Exeter Escapade

Clean, friendly, helpful, nice evening meal, decent breakfast.

The room was fine although the bathroom could do with an update. I couldn't figure out how to use the shower. The hotel was a bit hot. Our bikes were safely acccommodated.

  • fiona t

  • June 2014

beautiful grounds but hotel rooms are very old fashioned as well as reception area.

bed was very old and shaky with no air conditioning

  • Brian G

  • June 2014

Very good hotel

Great service, very friendly, very clean, good standard of accommodation.

  • Mark Roberts

  • June 2014

Visit to Lympstone Commando training centre.

We booked two rooms while visiting our son at the commando training centre.

Both rooms were clean and well equipped, although I thought our room could do with a lick of paint. Breakfast was buffet style and of a good quality with plenty of choice. The grounds are great to relax and have a drink. We got a taxi into Exeter £12 and were very impressed with the city.