No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected Surprise
we booked this room at quite short notice and got an excellent rate - so low we didn't know what to expect, Anyway the stay was excellent!. The staff were most welcoming and could't do enough for you. The room was clean and well furnished - not like a plastic chain hotel - the beds being very comfortable. The breakfast was also good in a pleasant dining room overlooking the garden. The WiFi worked in the bar/reception but couldn't connect in the room - good signal but their router wasn't set up correctly. I would recommend the hotel and stay again

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant and courteous staff really comfortable and spacious room did not expect a four poster bed and lovely buffet breakfast Would certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
susan m

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs a refurbishment
very noisy guests kept us awake past 2.30am

Reviewed by
kevin Pickett

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for.
The room rate was reasonable due to booking at such short notice. The staff were friendly. The room was of an ok standard, Good quality TV, clean bedding and room. The had been water damage across the hotel, which needed some attention.
We had a meal in the bar, the food was not the best but cooked and tasted ok. Breakfast was another matter. Not very impressed scrambled eggs like rubber, mushrooms swimming in fat. Best option for breakfast was cereal, fruit, yogurts- eg things not cooked by the chef.
But again for the short notice and we just needed a bed for the night the hotel fit the purpose.

Reviewed by
lorainne b

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to stay
I found this hotel to be of a very good standard for the price, the rooms are a little dated but other than that ok, the food served at both breakfast & dinner were fantastic, also the staff were the most friendly I have come across.

Reviewed by
T Parkinson

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Exceptionally friendly staff. Wonderfully helpful night porter, (couldn't ask for better). Clean, fresh rooms. Excellent breakfast. Good parking. Lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
M S M

From Northern Ireland
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. Adequate for what I wanted

Reviewed by
Tom Hughes

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent size room. Comfy bed. Value for the price I paid. Some tattiness to the bedframe and staining to the carpet but nothing too dire. Clean and comfy. Good breakfast

Reviewed by
Elizabeth R

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple, clean and friendly
I stayed for one night and the room was fairly basic but clean. The staff were friendly and the Breakfast was great. The staff were engaging and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Matt Guy

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, good food.
Plenty of parking, the internet connection is decent and dinner was really good. Breakfast is fine, but being buffet style the food tends to go cold quite quickly. The lights outside stay on all night and the curtains are thin; lighting in the room however is dim and not really adequate for working. Overall good value and I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
D Hill

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next