You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 143.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (61)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mark G

  • March 2015

Breakfast woes

I have stayed at this hotel and will no doubt do so again.

I have always found this a good hotel for my business trips to the area and in general the staff are always friendly and helpful. However, on my recent stay I found the breakfast experience to be really poor. The breakfast is a cross between table service and self service buffet and seems to vary by day. The first day I found the breakfast room with not a single clean table, no staff for several minutes and lengthy waits for coffee and juice refills on the buffet, not to mention very little hot food available and no sign of a chef with any interest. The second day there was a different member of staff who was friendly and showed me to a clean table quite quickly, however this time no jug of coffee was offered, instead a single cup was poured and no return to offer more coffee. Also, the toast had been pre-toasted and left to dry under the warming lamps making it very brittle and not particularly pleasant. Such contrasts but neither showing that they have a good understanding of what customers actually need in the morning, i.e. brisk, organised and friendly service.

  • Jenny K

  • March 2015

I needed to stay close to the hospital at short notice whilst a relative was extremely poorly.

The staff at Gipsy Hill Hotel were all very kind and supportive and made my stay as pleasant as possible in the circumstances. I hope to visit again for happier reasons.

  • Dennis Freeman-Wright

  • March 2015

Stop over

If I knew it as a Best Western I wouldn't have stayed there

  • Rachel L

  • March 2015

Home away from home

What a lovely break, the hotel is comfortable and welcoming and the staff are a cut above.

We were welcomed by Sue and she was absolutely lovely. We had a nice relaxing drink in-front of an open fire in the bar and relaxed in the peace and quiet. Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated with dark tasteful furniture, The food was good, we had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast was very good too. We would have loved to stay longer, looking forward to going back.

  • P Worsfold

  • March 2015

Excellent experiances

Booked for one night stayed two , every one very friendly and accommodating .

Rooms were clean and once heating turned on at radiators warm !.

  • Elaine Andrews

  • March 2015

Great hotel

We needed to go to Exeter to look at a house and wanted somewhere inexpensive to stay I found this hotel online and it looked cosy and it met my budget.we were warmly welcomed and our room was lovely everything we needed and I had the best sleep the bed was really comfortable and in the morning the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food excellent.

The only criticism I have was it seemed a bit tired and in certain areas needed updating. Would I recommend it to you and would I stay there again Yes in an instant.

  • J Jeffery

  • March 2015


This hotel was very clean, staff was really helpful and great with the children making them feel welcome.

Breakfast was really nice and our room was amazing lots of room for kids to run about, we will be booking again loved every minute.

  • D Burn

  • March 2015


Excellent accommodation and the food and service was first class.

Everyone was very polite and helpful

  • Jenna B

  • February 2015

What a lovely little hotel!

Stayed for last minute valentines get away.

Absolute bargain at £96 for a very lovely, spacious room, a three course dinner and breakfast for two people. Staff were lovely, although the lady who served us at breakfast seemed a bit put out that we were there but I did recognize that she worked the evening before until late. There was a problem with my dessert and as a chef myself, I completely understand that these things happen and staff were kind enough to offer my partner and I complimentary cocktails (which I am blaming my hangover on) Food was fantastic, one if the nicest bits of beef I've had. Will be back!

  • phil m

  • January 2015

cold room , lumpy bed

so cold I had to watch TV in bed with my clothes on.

Could feel every spring in the bed. Nice staff. Hotel needs a complete refurb.

Response from hotel

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments regarding your recent stay, feedback is important to us. I am sorry that you found your room to be cold, we received no complaints from other guests about the building being cold and portable heaters are available in all rooms. If you had let us know you found your room uncomfortable and cold we would have tried to resolve your problems or move you to a different room.