No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. Adequate for what I wanted

Reviewed by
Tom Hughes

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent size room. Comfy bed. Value for the price I paid. Some tattiness to the bedframe and staining to the carpet but nothing too dire. Clean and comfy. Good breakfast

Reviewed by
Elizabeth R

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple, clean and friendly
I stayed for one night and the room was fairly basic but clean. The staff were friendly and the Breakfast was great. The staff were engaging and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Matt Guy

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, good food.
Plenty of parking, the internet connection is decent and dinner was really good. Breakfast is fine, but being buffet style the food tends to go cold quite quickly. The lights outside stay on all night and the curtains are thin; lighting in the room however is dim and not really adequate for working. Overall good value and I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
D Hill

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad at all, actually pretty good!
There were very bad reviews and a picture showing poor quality of bedroom so I would have avoided this hotel if I could. but my impression was that they actually seem to be unfairly bad, or maybe the hotel has improved very much after those reviews were left. the bed was real single and small, but as clean as it could be and reasonably comfy. the room was facing to the car park which was being used over night so was a bit noisy, but not overly so. bathroom was large and bright and clean. the breakfast was great and it has a view to the large lawns where we could have breakfast if weather allows. the lobby and the common space may smell like an old hotel but very slightly. so I would say this hotel may not be excellent or luxurious, it is pretty good for the price. for this price it will be hard to find a better accommodation.

Reviewed by
MASARU Y

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have a lovely stay, staff were very helpful. We will booking again

Reviewed by
L Lockyear

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute booking
We have stayed at this hotel several times. The setting is lovely.
We had the nicest room yet, huge and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very pleasant successful gamble on a budget stop over.
From the welcome this was good. The staff love their job and it shows. The room was comfortable, very clean and looked after. Buit the surprise of the stay was to book for Dinner! This was a seven+ star meal from a very busy kitchen in a five star budget hotel. Value for money? you can't be beaten, Well done! Great breakfast too!

Reviewed by
w Firth

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very nice
Room was ok, not bad, but ok. Looked over car park, so could hear anyone going to their car etc. Also over bar area, and therefore a function went on late and could hear the bingo being called. to plug in kettle you either have to put on floor under the tea and coffee facilities, and un plug tv, or take to dressing table. main communal areas are dated, pink draylon furniture and 70 / 80 's style decor. Staff were very nice and very helpful. Buffet breakfast was very nice, although when I got there most of the hot dishes were empty, and it took a while to be replaced. two members of staff were extremely rushed off their feet. They did well considering.

Reviewed by
Lesley B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel close to airport
Ideal hotel for onward flight

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next