Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 127.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Liz V

  • October 2014

Service and accommodation very good

Quiet location with large garden

  • Rob R

  • October 2014

Rob's review

Stayed here as part of a University recce for my daughter.

The hotel is well located near Exter City Centre and good value for money with friendly service and a decent cooked breakfast. I did book thinking it was a Best Western - it isn't, and the hotel is tired, but renovation would be hugely expensive for the owners. Nonetheless, they work hard here to put guests at ease - a decent deal.

  • V Wright

  • October 2014

A large hotel with generous sized single rooms (the type I stayed in) and well appointed.

The evening meal was excellent. My only concern was the window which couldn't be properly closed.

  • Kevin Whelan

  • September 2014


Great stay

  • Ruth B

  • August 2014

Overnight stay

I have stayed at Gipsy Hill several times - it is a very convenient overnight stay.

I booked a single room and had everything needed. Only criticism is a lack of electric sockets - impossible to have the kettle or computer plugged in unless I moved it over to the bedside table, and working at the desk proved to be difficult because of the lack of lighting/ electric socket. Breakfast was very good; evening menu not as easy to find a healthy option.

  • Ronnie B

  • August 2014

Beautiful Surroundings

The gardens are lovely,there is a background noise from the nearby road and aircraft, however getting to the hotel via the motorway is very easy.

The quality of food was excellent with specials at dinner. Equally breakfast had a good selection and plentiful. The hotel is very well placed for touring the area and there is plenty of parking. Rooms in the main building stemmed to be larger. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • P Bradstock

  • July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel although our room was the smallest in the hotel (we looked on the floor plan) it was clean but the bathroom was very dated, the staff were all fantastic and the food was excellent, we would definitely stay again but ask for a different room.

  • emma e

  • July 2014

relaxing break

This hotel had it all, the staff was really helpful and friendly, the views was lovely and it was very relaxing.

It was lovely seeing the rabbits in the garden.

  • Deborah M

  • July 2014

One night stay

We just stayed the one night but were welcomed and adjustments readily made to charge for stay as they had charged more than quoted on the booking site.

Room comfortable and spacious enough for the 3 of us. Lovely pleasant surroundings and overlooked whilst having breakfast and then sat on the terrace to enjoy our cup of tea. Could not believe the M5 was at the bottom of the grounds.

  • Maggie A

  • July 2014


My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Gypsy Hill Hotel.

We arrived and there was a fabulous receptionist on duty who was very welcoming and helpful. The room itself was great. Very clean and tidy. It was really hot due to the current heat wave but we asked the lovely receptionist and she arranged for a fan to be put in the room. Breakfast at this hotel has to be one of the best we have ever had. It is all fresh and is replenished regularly to keep it fresh. Plenty of choice and HOT!. Brilliant. All the staff are so polite and helpful but a special mention must go to George who is just wonderful and seems to cover every job in the hotel. Brilliant hotel and would definitely stay there again