No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chris
Convenient location for a business traveller. Quality of the room was very good despite Hotel entrance, bar restaurant etc. looking a bit "tired" - in need of refurbishment. Friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Chris King

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So comfortable
The hotel might be a little dated but it more than makes up for it by being clean warm and friendly. The gardens are fabulous and it was great to sit on the terrace and watch the wildlife. Staff were great and despite the rooms being a little dated they were spacious,clean,warm and had tea/coffee etc. What we really enjoyed was being able to open the windows wide and enjoy the fresh air which you aren't able to do in the modern hotels. Would definitely go back again

Reviewed by
S Tustain

From Onchan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definately return
I agree with previous reviewers that this hotel is looking a little dated. However, I felt that the price I paid more than compensated for this. The accommodation was absolutely spotless and situated in beautiful well-kept grounds. The breakfast was delicious, made with quality ingredients and served with a smile. In fact, all the staff appeared friendly and welcoming. Would definitely go back

Reviewed by
Debbie W

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hmmm up and down with this one....
I have stayed here 3 times with mixed reviews, first time I stayed it was excellent but the last two times have been disappointing so doubtful I will stay again...

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel décor is very tired and needs updating, however all the areas we used were clean and comfortable. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful and seemed eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Reviewed by
Denise G

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real gem near Exeter
Great location for Exeter and surrounding area. Directions take you through an modern office estate but don't let this put you off as 2 minutes later you're in the open country and in a quiet location.
All staff were incredibly friendly and willing to help out / go the extra mile for us which really counts for a lot.

Reviewed by
Laurence M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a birthday
Nice location and garden, views but very dated but not traditional and could do with a lick of paint.

Reviewed by
Garry C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, but a bit old fashioned.
Close to the M5 & Exeter, a bit old fashioned & could do with facelift both inside and out. I would stay again, but it wouldn't be my 1st choice.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent review on Laterooms. Due to our close proximity to the M5, Exeter and the airport we are often one of the 1st choices for those wishing to use us as a base for business or travel. We will never be a indenti-kit chain hotel and enjoy the fact that we are independently run and the building has some unique charms. We are an old fashioned hotel, however we are currently in the process of a long period of renovations and improvements to the building and services. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, John

Reviewed by
Ken D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gipsy Hill Hotel
An intermediate size hotel that gives the service only seen in family run businesses. Good value for money in both accomodation and food.

Reviewed by
Graham Willoughby

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really pleasant stay
This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a long time. They ticked all the odes for me. All the staff were very attentive, polite and friendly.
The room was well decorated and larger than I expected. The location is perfect too.
The food was extremely good and I would undoubtedly recommend this hotel for a business or leisure stay. 10/10

Reviewed by
Christine White

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next