No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a birthday
Nice location and garden, views but very dated but not traditional and could do with a lick of paint.

Reviewed by
Garry C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, but a bit old fashioned.
Close to the M5 & Exeter, a bit old fashioned & could do with facelift both inside and out. I would stay again, but it wouldn't be my 1st choice.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent review on Laterooms. Due to our close proximity to the M5, Exeter and the airport we are often one of the 1st choices for those wishing to use us as a base for business or travel. We will never be a indenti-kit chain hotel and enjoy the fact that we are independently run and the building has some unique charms. We are an old fashioned hotel, however we are currently in the process of a long period of renovations and improvements to the building and services. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, John

Reviewed by
Ken D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gipsy Hill Hotel
An intermediate size hotel that gives the service only seen in family run businesses. Good value for money in both accomodation and food.

Reviewed by
Graham Willoughby

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really pleasant stay
This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a long time. They ticked all the odes for me. All the staff were very attentive, polite and friendly.
The room was well decorated and larger than I expected. The location is perfect too.
The food was extremely good and I would undoubtedly recommend this hotel for a business or leisure stay. 10/10

Reviewed by
Christine White

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food & service - would highly recommend!

Reviewed by
M Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked after in Exeter
Very friendly and welcoming hotel. Spacious comfortable rooms - very clean. Food excellent and staff helpful and attentive.

Reviewed by
Janet T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable but dated,
Decor could be better, room comfortable but cold. Windows drafty in restaurant. Stayed in the Coach House section. Dirty water from taps initially. Duty manager did check to see if water had cleared. Food and food service good. Reasonable value for money and well situated for M5

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I dont normally leave reviews....
but I thought I had better for this hotel!
Lovely welcoming staff, basic, but very comfortable room, great value for money, excellent food!
My friend and I stayed here just for one night, but the hotel staff where lovely, very welcoming and friendly. We chose to eat at the hotel, and I can only say we were very glad we did as the food was of a very high standard. comfortable room, with a courtyard that will allow dogs to stay. Far enough away from the city centre to not be disturbed by rowdy fungoers, and close enough to access the town if needed. Plenty of parkinG
A good basic hotel, would be happy to stay again

Reviewed by
A Chadderton

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Stay
Friendly staff. Nice hotel but slightly dated. Plenty of Parking. Ideal for the airport

Reviewed by
Martin Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a cold night and we were in a large room which felt quite cold. The bathroom was very cold with no heating. We seemed to be over the kitchens and this was very noisy with plates rattling and what sounded like a dishwasher vibrating mixed with peoples voices which could be heard quite clearly.
The grounds looked nice from the dining room, but not very inviting as it was winter

Reviewed by
h jermey

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next