You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel


Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 105.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (61)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Nathan S

  • April 2016

Cosy English Hotel

We had a great stay here, even stayed an extra night than we planned.

It is a cute old hotel that is well looked after well and holds a typical English feel about it. From the second we got there the staff did everything they could to make sure our stay was as enjoyable and easy as possible. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Peter Taylor

  • March 2016

Review of hotel

The staff were exceptionally effective and friendly as was the service.

Breakfasts were excellent and liked the buffet style. Did not have any other meals. Great value for money overall and would not hesitate to go there again (as indeed we did for one night on Friday). Hotel probably needs a little modernisation here and there.

  • Ruth H

  • March 2016

Delightful Return Stay

This hotel is so handy being just off the M5 and really handy for Exeter Chiefs' Sandy Park Stadium.

Staff always friendly, and once found up the small lane, the surroundings and setting are stunning. Definitely recommend it.

  • Claire P

  • March 2016

Close to airport

Decent hotel close to airport - probably difficult to find if on foot as appeared to be down a long lane in a business park.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel a bit tired but bed comfortable and nice fire in bar.

  • m taylor

  • March 2016

Friendly staff, Very dated hotel needs updating

Was greeted by friendly and helpful staff, was informed which room I was staying in, went immediately to the room and found a vert dated room, wardrobe, carpets and wallpaper very very dated and old fashioned.

There was also a musky damp kind of smell in the room, it was also very cold in the room, there as a heater in the wardrobe (portable) but radiator was turned on a little later. The headboard in room 31 was stinking dirty, bedding clean and there was a door stop on the floor, kind of in the middle and very easily to tread on and stand on.

  • Jeremy Storey

  • February 2016

A little dated but excellent hotel

On the surface the place is looking dated, but the staff and the layout of the rooms more than make up for this.

I'd rather stay here than in a PremierInn. It was excellent value for money, and the staff are great. I had a single room, but it was well laid out, and had everything you needed without having to ask. The heating was a traditional radiator, but allowed perfect control of room temperature. It was also nice to eat in the informal surroundings of the bar (including a real fire), and the breakfast was very good.

  • linda jones

  • February 2016

Great hotel

We had very warm welcome which lasted until we booked out.The food was very good with nice selection.Sue made a wonderful job of decorating the valentines tables.well done.Would deffinetly go again.

  • Ruth B

  • January 2016

Delightful stay

A warm welcome and very friendly staff at reception.

Room was impeccable, and food excellent. Definitely on my list of favourite places to stay in Exeter!

  • Leo W

  • December 2015

Good traditional Hotel. Wonderfully quiet.

  • w denman

  • December 2015

Gipsy Hill Hotel

The staff were wonderful, the atmosphere relaxed and the food was great.

I would definitely go back there again.