No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gipsy Hill Lane , Exeter, EX1 3RN
Set on the outskirts of the cathedral city of Exeter, the Gipsy Hill Hotel is a 19th century country house set in 3 acres of its own beautiful landscaped gardens. From the moment you arrive you can be sure that our friendly, welcoming staff will make your stay as comfortable as possible

We are ideally located, being only 1 mile from J29 of the M5, 3 miles from Exeter International Airport and 3 miles from Exeter City Centre. Also within easy reach are the stunning Dartmoor National Park, Crealy Adventure Park and also the south Devon coast with some of the best beaches and walks in Britain.

We offer free hi-speed wireless broadband throughout the hotel's public areas and bedrooms. Alongside the spacious & recently refurbished bar and lounge area is the popular Lawns Restaurant which serves quality food with friendly service.

Picture of Gipsy Hill Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room great food
Room and en-suit were a nice size. Plenty of storage space. Food is of good quality with a reasonable amount of choose which suits everyone's need, bar food (I highly recommend bacon cheese burger) and more sophisticated restaurant food, breakfast was also of good quality.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Russell

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
andrew c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise!
As a 3 star hotel I was expecting the basic. However our room was lovely, with soft towels, and a very comfortable bed.
The staff are friendly and helpful (recommending local restaurants...etc)
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
M Wright

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service and accommodation very good
Quiet location with large garden

Reviewed by
Liz V

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A large hotel with generous sized single rooms (the type I stayed in) and well appointed. The evening meal was excellent. My only concern was the window which couldn't be properly closed.

Reviewed by
V Wright

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rob's review
Stayed here as part of a University recce for my daughter. The hotel is well located near Exter City Centre and good value for money with friendly service and a decent cooked breakfast. I did book thinking it was a Best Western - it isn't, and the hotel is tired, but renovation would be hugely expensive for the owners. Nonetheless, they work hard here to put guests at ease - a decent deal.

Reviewed by
Rob R

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Great stay

Reviewed by
Kevin Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
I have stayed at Gipsy Hill several times - it is a very convenient overnight stay. I booked a single room and had everything needed. Only criticism is a lack of electric sockets - impossible to have the kettle or computer plugged in unless I moved it over to the bedside table, and working at the desk proved to be difficult because of the lack of lighting/ electric socket.
Breakfast was very good; evening menu not as easy to find a healthy option.

Reviewed by
Ruth B

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Surroundings
The gardens are lovely,there is a background noise from the nearby road and aircraft, however getting to the hotel via the motorway is very easy. The quality of food was excellent with specials at dinner. Equally breakfast had a good selection and plentiful. The hotel is very well placed for touring the area and there is plenty of parking. Rooms in the main building stemmed to be larger. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Ronnie B

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel although our room was the smallest in the hotel (we looked on the floor plan) it was clean but the bathroom was very dated, the staff were all fantastic and the food was excellent, we would definitely stay again but ask for a different room.

Reviewed by
P Bradstock

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next