Reviews - Gipsy Hill Hotel

3

Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 120.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (77)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • H Griffiths

  • August 2015

Very enjoyable couple of days

The title says it all.

Stayed for just 2 days but would be happy to go again.

  • S Coombes

  • August 2015

Gipsy Hill Hotel

Very reasonable cost for room and breakfast..

However rooms need updating. Walls very thin and floor boards creaky so a lot of noise from other rooms. Breakfast was great but they were slow offering tea or coffee.

  • Richard C

  • July 2015

Weekend Away

Hotel is set in its own grounds.

Very typical of English old house hotels. Looks a little worn but full of character. Good friendly staff and well appointed bedroom.

Access to Exeter and roads for visiting the local area are very good.

  • Gillian C

  • July 2015

An excellent place for a motorway break

I found the hotel near to the M5 junction 30.

It was ideal for a single person travelling far. I found comfort and friendliness. The staff were helpful. Early breakfasts provided for getting on your way promptly.

  • catherine b

  • July 2015

could do with some T.L.C a bit isolated staff friendly and helpful.

  • D HANSON

  • July 2015

Lovely welcome, clean and spacious rooms.

Will happily recommend and visit again

  • Colin S

  • July 2015

Good for a passing visit

Just needed a one night stay and this was in the right place.

Fight your way through an industrial estate to find the hotel, but very pleasant environment when you get there. Helpful at reception who had managed our request for a ground floor room. Bedroom very nice and the bed comfortable, but the bathroom needed an update and the cold taps on bath and basin were almost immovable.

Fish and chips in the bar was our evening meal. The fish was excellent but the chips less so. Breakfast looked good but the heat lights on the buffet needed a bit more power as the food was nowhere near hot enough. All the staff were very pleasant but more of them were needed. They all seemed to be doing several jobs. You wouldn't expect to be standing in a queue at an unattended bar on a Saturday evening.

  • J Coates

  • June 2015

Beautiful rooms with character and friendly, helpful staff

Rooms were very large with plenty of space to move around, with tea / coffee facility.

Comfortable bed. We had a meal on Sunday eve on which day there is a limited menu. Meal was excellent and glad we made this choice. Breakfasts are help yourself buffet style for full English - eat as much as you like. Very nicely prepared. Friendly, helpful informal staff. Will definitely go there again. Nice gardens including wildlife.

  • Samantha R

  • June 2015

Gipsy Hill Hotel

We had to leave early in the mornings so did not get a very good idea of the catering, but what we had was acceptable ans we were allowed to dine early.

The room was tidy and had all the necessaries - not very much milk though if we had asked, I'm sure that it would have been provided. The views and gardens were pleasant. There was some noise from other hotel users but this was minimal. The hotel owner was very friendly and informative but other staff could do with more of a smile. There was some dust on the stairs on the way to the upper level but everything else was clean and tidy.

  • Steve M

  • May 2015

Attacked by shower curtain and pole

I don't really want to criticise any business but its difficult to complement this hotel.

I stayed in room no. 23 to be honest I can only describe the smell has a 'creosote' smell, quite fusty and wasn't really nice. The hotel looked ok but I stayed in an annex. To top it off after pulling the shower curtain open the whole thing fell on me. The reason for me doing this review was the fact I wanted to see if the receptionist asked how my stay was but they didn't.