No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
83 Avenue Road, Torquay, TQ2 5LH
Crown Lodge is a small welcoming Visit Britain 4*with added Silver Accolade guest house which has recently acheived an excellence award by Tripadvisor for the third year in sucession, for it's excellent guest reviews.
With six beautifully decorated bedrooms ( 1 twin and 5 doubles )the atmosphere is homely yet professional and appeals mainly to discerning couples and single business people who appreciate the comfort, flexibility and extra care not found in large national chain hotels.
Picture of Crown Lodge, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lo me

Reviewed by
Thomas P

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations :)
Whilst you generally get what you pay for in life, the proprietors provided exceptional value in all aspects. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Reviewed by
Chris Iles

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our short break at the Crown Lodge, the information the owner gave us was brilliant, she cooked a lovely breakfast both mornings, our room was spotless and good facilities in the room, both of us would certainly recommend the Crown Lodge to our friends and family, we would return here on visiting Torquay again, couldn't fault it. This was a last minute decision to have a short break away, and a great choice all round.

Reviewed by
N GRIMSHAW

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfying all round experience comfortable bed excellent breakfast
Enjoyable stay nice room found cool box usefull along with drinks facilities, we did experience a little noise from road traffic otherwise satisfactory

Reviewed by
b hallam

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great b&b
Had a wonderful stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
terry pilkington

From Witham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

crown lodge torquay
made to feel welcome and given alot of good advice regarding eating out.
first class breakfast.

Reviewed by
Gordon C

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay
We stayed for one night at the Crown Lodge, next time we will stay longer. We were made very welcome and the room was lovely. What can I say about th
e breakfast but WOW!!

Reviewed by
d murphy

From sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything about Crown Lodge was excellent from the moment we arrived to be met by the owner who went out of her way io explain what they could do for us, from booking seats for the Theatre to booking evening meals. The room was perfect from cleanliness to comfort and we look forward to going back in the near future.

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The Crown Lodge was excellent. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day of our stay. During the whole 3 days i did not find a speck of dust or any soap stains on the shower. Our toilet was also cleaned every day.
The food is actually the best I have ever tasted in a hotel. The breakfast menu is extensive and imaginative without having too much choice (sometimes having too many choices spoils it too) if you want something extra special you just let them know the day before, and you can pay a little extra for an evening meal too! Linda is a fantastic chef and John makes a very friendly waiter :-)
When you arrive in the room you instantly notice how clean it is, the ensuite is lovely and there are black out blinds on the windows just incase the curtains don't make it dark enough. There was also a mini fridge and we were asked if we'd like fresh milk! We were gobsmacked and grabbed the chance!
I would definately recommend The Crown Lodge, room 5. I loved the layout of the room.
If we go to Torquay again we will be going to this hotel and requesting room 5 again :-)

Reviewed by
Rebecca B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Total relaxation
A weekend away with my best friend was required, and the Crown Lodge was fab. John and Lynda were amazing. A small guest accomodation of very high standard. Little things in the room. for example...real tea bags, a TV with a DVD player,and an IPOD docking station. We could come and go as we pleased and they couldnt do enough. The breakfast was the best I had had for a long time when staying away from home. All freshly cooked, unlike the 'buffet style' you now experience in large hotel chains.
The accomodation was around ten minutes walk from the town and around 10-15 from the beach. This can be walked in a 'circular' way if you wanted. The room felt like a little hideaway from the stresses and strains of life. Just lovely.
Would most definately stay again, and would choose over a large chain like I have stayed in previously in Torquay.

Reviewed by
r killen

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next