No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Soar Mill Cove Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malborough , Salcombe, TQ7 3DS
Devons finest A real Hidden Gem, just 22 bedrooms, but with a Grand Hotel feel without the need for any old fashioned pretentiousness. Modern London service standards coupled with a reassuringly traditional welcome that only a privately owned hotel can provide. Bathe in our 88 degrees warm indoor pool fed by natural spring water and then be pampered in the Ocean Spa, followed by a truly excellent dinner in elegant surroundings. Explore the local delights of picture postcard villages, ancient pubs, castles, famous gardens, National Marine Aquarium, Dartmouth, Pilgrim Fathers Steps, Barbican or the further attractions of The Eden Project. Chill out with the hotels complimentary libraries of CDs, Books and DVDs, enjoy a lazy evening in with Quincy Jones and Ingrid Bergman as you enjoy dinner served to you with complimentary room service always on call.
Picture of Soar Mill Cove Hotel, Salcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire hideaway
This secluded hotel was beyond our expectation. The hotel is very well managed, with all staff being very friendly and welcoming. There is a general atmosphere of relaxation about the place, nothing is too much trouble and nothing has to be done to a strict set pattern.The hotel location is quite breathtaking and local walks exhilarating - wonderful views every way you look. The hotel provides well considered family facilities, tennis, snooker, p&p golf, etc., and a very nice swimming pool. The only downside, for me, though very comfortable, was the bed. We are used to a 6ft double bed; this was a bit on the small side. Overall, an extremely good hotel. Wish we had stayed longer. Next time we will.

Reviewed by
graham f

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nicely welcomed by deputy manager who was very helpful throughout stay.
Nice surprise of a complimentary cream tea on arrival. Only thing is we didnt like having to choose what we wanted to eat for the evening soon after arriving and would have preferred to have done it at table.

Reviewed by
EILEEN CROWTHER

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love staying here. It's like home from home.
Wonderful salt swimming pool too.

Reviewed by
Veronica A

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

honeymoon
Our honeymoon experience at soar cove mill was 1st class, all the people who work there were friendly and intentive towards us.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Stuart Quigg

From Southfields, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, friendly, responsive and hospitable attention during a two night stay.

Reviewed by
Alistair Voaden

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chill out time
Absolutely loved staying here as nothing was too much trouble, all the staff very friendly. We had a great room with our own patio and seaview and the best bit was the complimentary cream tea!! Definately would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sarah Quintrell

From Fraddon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not worth the cost
Very good size room.good beds, disappointed that for the price we paid there were no good quality toiletries in the bathroom.very standard rate bathroom .more in keeping with a travel lodge hotel,
Breakfast room had no atmosphere ..worst English breakfast I have ever had ,we went to the cove for a stroll and were confronted by a charging bull which caused my partner to injure herself. There were not signs warning one of any dangers. All in all a very disappointed stay would not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quality hotel experience in beautiful Devon, couldn't wait to leave and what a waste of money .

Reviewed by
r benardout

From Kingston upon Thames, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Soar Mill Cove
I have never written a review before but our stay at Soar Mill Cove warrants a special mention. This was probably the most perfect weekend break my husband and I have ever had! We were celebrating my 50 th and our wedding anniversary. From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out nothing was too much. We enjoyed a complimentary cream tea and a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a birthday card were waiting for us in our room. The food was divine. The staff were so friendly and attentive down to promptly delivering fresh milk ( no plastic milk allowed in the hotel) to our rooms. Becky and Sylvester were awesome! Thank you to the whole Soar Mill Team!

Reviewed by
Elaine W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breathtaking views
We only stayed the one night but the staff were helpful and the accommodation excellent. Would love to come and stay for longer.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Staddon-Smith

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing break in lovely surroundings
Tip: take stout walking shoes for steep in parts but glorious walks around the cove and headland. Complimentary cream tea on arrival a lovely touch. I found the bed quite hard but my husband didn't so matter of choice.

Reviewed by
Jon C

From Bucks, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next