You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hendon Hall Hotel

4

Ashley Lane, London, NW4 1HF

Price From 205.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Michael P

  • July 2016

Good Up to a Point

Stayed here as attending a funeral next morning, and the gathering after was at the hotel.

The room was clean and not bad, had what you needed. The garden was pleasant and a good place to relax in the sunshine. We dined in the restaurant but used the bar menu as this was more what we fancied, the food we had was good. However next morning breakfast was a different matter, the food was lukewarm, the bacon and the eggs were either over cooked or had been standing under lamps to keep warm. They were dried out, the bacon could not be pierced with a fork without it splintering into pieces, the yolks of the fried eggs had the consistency of boiled eggs. There is the continental option but we didn't experience that. We booked breakfast included, otherwise the cost of breakfast is the ludicrous price of £19.95 per person. Drinks were on the expensive side but probably to be expected. The hotel itself is situated in a residential area so going for a walk is not interesting in the locality. The gathering after the funeral was well organised and the buffet food very good. We would stay again only if we had the unfortunate experience of another local funeral.

  • Martin B

  • May 2016

Service not as good as it has been

I've stayed here a few times - it's a lovely building, and very handy indeed for arriving in London by car - but my loyalty was tested a bit this time.

Lots of problems with service - had to wait ten minutes for someone to appear at reception when I arrived; had to wait half an hour for someone to provide the iron which was supposed to be in my room; service in the restaurant (at breakfast especially) was slow too. My booking hadn't properly been recorded (so when I rang down to ask about the iron I was greeted with "how did you get into that room?"). Cold poached eggs with breakfast as well, and they had taken so long to arrive, I didn't have time to complain. I'll probably give it one more chance, but just the one.

  • Martin B

  • August 2015

Favourite place to stay in London

This was our third stay at Hendon Hall, and we'll certainly be back for a fourth.

Quiet, comfortable, friendly, and easy to get to, both from the M1 and from central London via the Northern Line. The only hitch was at breakfast, where both the coffee and the scrambled eggs arrived lukewarm. But everything else was what you'd expect from a hotel as good as this.

  • C White

  • May 2015

Was great apart from a terrible breakfast which was very expensive with very poor/slow service.

  • S O'Boy

  • April 2015

This was a very mixed experience - the hotel itself was lovely and clean (although the beds almost too soft) and the staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly.

If that were it, I would have given this a great rating. However, we were on the 3rd floor and it was very hot and humid in our room. We had air conditioning, but that did not work. My husband went down to reception - who were helpful - and fixed it. But, it wasn't fixed. So, they sent up a fan. The next day my husband complained again and they said they would fix it while we were out (all day). We got in and no, it was not fixed. The day we checked out my husband informed them again about it being broken (flashing wrenches on the screen usually mean 'broken'). I think if they had just said it was broken and offered to move us or at least say they could not have fixed it this would have made a difference. Two other issues - travel into London. We were there for two days and while it is easy to access the hotel from the M1, it is not close to amenities and had about a 20 minute walk to the nearest pub (which was not great) for some informal food. If you are only going to stay in the hotel, this isn't a problem, but if you are not, then dining or local resources are not easily at hand. They did provide a shuttle to the Hendon Central tube station in the morning - this was a great service considering we stayed there so we could park our car but then take the tube into London. However, it was not available in the evenings (even if you knew when you would return) and we tried to get a taxi back to the hotel. This turned into a 40 minute waiting disaster. I was travelling with my elderly parents (who are spry for their late 70s but after a 12 hour day in London were a bit flagging) and we decided since we didn't know our way back to the hotel, we would get a taxi. We arranged it at the station and waited.... we went back to the stand and they said they would send a different taxi to arrive sooner... and we waited. Finally on the third complaint they found one. Not what we expected to be an issue even in suburban London. Last comment - while the staff were nice and friendly, the breakfast in the morning was so generic and industrial - the fruit looked just ever so sad, the 'potatoes' were hard little triangles you give children and the coffee/tea portions small. The toast was cold and it all seemed like corners were trying to be cut. So, building lovely, rooms clean, staff friendly - but the other issues would not make me recommend this place.

  • m barnard

  • April 2015

excellent.

Had lovely time.

staff very polite and helpful. Room very clean. In other words really enjoyed the stay.

  • Peter R

  • March 2015

relaxing stay

what a wonderful place to stay and and only a short trip to the centre of london.

the staff at hendon hall made us feel so welcome . The room was beautiful ,well laid out and comfortable. we will be returning. well done hendon hall

  • Alan green

  • January 2015

Have stayed before, some years ago.

Remembered how much previous visit had been enjoyed

  • D Haynes

  • September 2014

Friendly & efficient staff, freshly cooked english breakfast very good.

Reception, bar, restaurant staff friendly, helpful & efficient.

I particularly enjoyed the English full breakfast.

  • Diane Richards

  • September 2014

Excellent Hotel, ideal for visiting London.

One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Accommodation, food and staff first class. would definitely stay again. Lovely building, very quiet and only half an hour from the centre of London by tube. Complementary transport to local train & tube stations. Very highly recommended.