No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holmwood House

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
114 Holgate Road , York, YO24 4BB
A luxury 4 Diamond Silver Award Bed and Breakfast Hotel. Non smoking establishment.Rooms available include Kingsize four poster rooms with twin spa baths for special weekends away. Some rooms with beautiful views over York.

Business travellers will have access to wireless internet. Currently free of charge.Situated near to the city walls walking distance to all attractions, restaurants,shops and railway station.Gourmet breaks are available with top quality restaurants. Own private car parking. Licensed premises.
Picture of Holmwood House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family short break
The location of this hotel was excellent and was within easy walking distance to the centre of York and all it's attractions. The room was large enough for a family of 4 but the bathroom was very basic with a small shower and no extraction so that it steamed up. We had difficulty in getting wi-fi in the room but could get it in the bathroom. The service and food were excellent and we were well looked after!
I would look to stay there again as they were refurbishing the hotel and we did not spend a great deal of time in the room.

Reviewed by
Patrick F

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and friendly. Well situated.
Good accommodation. Bed and pillows uncomfortable for my personal preference. Nice full English breakfast. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
shane jeffrey

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in York
Stayed at the Holmwood House for a 2 night break over Christmas and enjoyed the experience. Our room was in an annexe at the back of the hotel and was modern and very clean. The hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and does a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter Jones

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holmwood House
Great location very clean great breakfast good value for money.

Reviewed by
Alexandra J

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Nice short walk into York centre. Clean accommodation and lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Sharon F

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas market visit
Spent two nights there very comfy bed excerlent breakfast handy for the bus into town all in all a very nice time we stayed in room 4 would use again if staying in york

Reviewed by
brian robinson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
This establishment was well located and had ample parking facilities of which prior to arriving I was a little nervous about given the size of my vehicle. The room was clean and of more than ample size with nice decor. I would be more than willing to stay here again and was impressed with the value for money. Truly 4-star accommodation at 3-star prices.

Reviewed by
D Hughes

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treet for the missis
The only bad thing was not staying longer.this place ticks all the boxes. Good location,lovely period Victorian house,lovely decor ,lovely hosts & a cracking breakfast.We first stayed here 5 years ago.We had a great time then & a great time last week.The owners Jackie & Paul are always on hand and the servis is second to non.looking forward to our next stay.

Reviewed by
C Oldham

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Delightful place , lovely friendly people and top quality breakfast , the room was clean and warm we asked for a room with a view and got one looking out over to york and the minster , we definately will stay here again ideal location too.

Reviewed by
susan robinson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful
Owner and staff were all very pleasant and helpful .
Our room was very serviceable, but could of with an up grade.
The owner is planning upgrades of areas , so should be fine soon.
Car park is very tight getting out .
All in all it is an ok bed and breakfast , with no real concerns.

Reviewed by
s blyth

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next