No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holmwood House

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
114 Holgate Road , York, YO24 4BB
A luxury 4 Diamond Silver Award Bed and Breakfast Hotel. Non smoking establishment.Rooms available include Kingsize four poster rooms with twin spa baths for special weekends away. Some rooms with beautiful views over York.

Business travellers will have access to wireless internet. Currently free of charge.Situated near to the city walls walking distance to all attractions, restaurants,shops and railway station.Gourmet breaks are available with top quality restaurants. Own private car parking. Licensed premises.
Picture of Holmwood House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Nice short walk into York centre. Clean accommodation and lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Sharon F

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas market visit
Spent two nights there very comfy bed excerlent breakfast handy for the bus into town all in all a very nice time we stayed in room 4 would use again if staying in york

Reviewed by
brian robinson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treet for the missis
The only bad thing was not staying longer.this place ticks all the boxes. Good location,lovely period Victorian house,lovely decor ,lovely hosts & a cracking breakfast.We first stayed here 5 years ago.We had a great time then & a great time last week.The owners Jackie & Paul are always on hand and the servis is second to non.looking forward to our next stay.

Reviewed by
C Oldham

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
This establishment was well located and had ample parking facilities of which prior to arriving I was a little nervous about given the size of my vehicle. The room was clean and of more than ample size with nice decor. I would be more than willing to stay here again and was impressed with the value for money. Truly 4-star accommodation at 3-star prices.

Reviewed by
D Hughes

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Delightful place , lovely friendly people and top quality breakfast , the room was clean and warm we asked for a room with a view and got one looking out over to york and the minster , we definately will stay here again ideal location too.

Reviewed by
susan robinson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful
Owner and staff were all very pleasant and helpful .
Our room was very serviceable, but could of with an up grade.
The owner is planning upgrades of areas , so should be fine soon.
Car park is very tight getting out .
All in all it is an ok bed and breakfast , with no real concerns.

Reviewed by
s blyth

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Holmwood house is a very nice Hotel, lovely hosts with a quality breakfast and awesome coffee. it's situated very well for visiting the railway museum and a 15 minute walk from all the main attractions of york.

Reviewed by
paul d

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, nothing was to much trouble, stayed in the 4 poster room which had a twin jacuzzi bath which was amazing, walking distance two york centre, really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing 4 star
Arrived at 1400 check-in time but room not ready until 1430. Parking area limited to about ten cars and very tight. Hotel Interior in need of updating. Overall cleanliness not up to 4 star standard.

Reviewed by
S Lincoln

From Watton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointed in the size of the double room, no city views as stated. Car park was ver small.

Reviewed by
p watson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next