Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
47% would recommend it to a friend
Close to town, cheap
Its a simple guest house, clean but no frills and in Cambridge the only thing cheaper is a park bench.
Checking in you need to ring in advance and have cash. Perfectly pleasant owner, but you get what you (don't) pay for. Curtains are there simply to stop people looking at you, so take eye shades with you if you want some sleep.
Good value, basic accomodation
My room was clean but rudimentary.
I was only looking for somewhere cheap to sleep the night and have no complaints. Others may expect more from their holiday accommodation.
no good experience
The owner was friendly but this is the only good thing to say.
We stayed for one night together with some other (I think working people) and had to share a bathroom, which was very old and had a dirty bathtube. None of the other "guests" obviously knew, how to use and clean the toilet. This was a really ugly experience. The sidebed for our son was uncomfortable and the furniture is old and the carpets are taped
at some parts. We had to pay 80 pounds per night - cash. We paid a very high price for this experience.
Very simple room.
No reception desk. Everything in the house is simple and old. It is not a proper hotel or guest house, in my opinion
Response from hotel
Thank you for your feedback. We do not profess to be a four star guesthouse.
We advertise the Abbeyfield as a Budget Guesthouse. We offer standard accommodation and we also advertise that we do not have a 24 hour reception hence the very low prices that we charge for the accommodation.
Wouldn't go back.
Booked in with no issues but found a half drunk can of Stella on our wardrobe.
The shower was useless and barely got you damp let alone clean and the beds were uncomfortable. Would not come back.
Response from hotel
Thank you very much for the feedback. I don't believe it is a fair comment as you would have noticed on the date you checked in the whole guesthouse was at the final stages of a total refurbishment throughout. The beds are all brand new, all the rooms are
freshly painted throughout! The showers are all electric powered and rely on the mains pressure. We never made a claim that we have power showers!
Basic but clean.
I had several phone calls from the owner to check my time of arrival- which I had put on the internet booking at 10 pm. I was told I had to be there before ten as he was leaving. Then called again to check on me and told me at this point I could only pay in cash which delayed my arrival time having to wait in a long queue at the station, and then needed to get a taxi ( I had booked this accommodation as it was walking distance from the station) But felt rushed and was told be the owner to get a taxi to ensure I wasnt a minute late. When I arrived (before 10). I had to wait outside for him to travel to the guesthouse and let me in. He was perfectly pleasant. I had no other contact with any staff and let myself out the next morning. The room was very basic but clean. Bed not particularly comfortable. Shower was warm but very little power at all.
There was little finesse (light shades) but a pleasingly helpful and relaxed management.
Owner needs to put up a sign to enforce quiet time so that other guests do not slam their bedroom door EVERY time they enter and exit their rooms.
This happened during my stay every every evening and every morning.
nice value for money
The room was nice and clean.
The bathrooms were ok, clean enough. I appreciated the towels. The only drawback was the neighbours, I was welcomed by a host of nice but very loud guys and the guys in the next room went to bed really late and left early in the morning, which would have been ok with me if they hadn't been really loud and the sound insulation really poor. Good value for money though.
I think there should be opportunity for breakfast.
At some periods of the day especially in the morning; dawn; it gets too cold in the rooms.