Reviews - Abbeyfield Guesthouse


2 Rustat Road, Cambridge, CB1 3QT

Price From 104.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (23)

35% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Angelika S

  • May 2015

no good experience

The owner was friendly but this is the only good thing to say.

We stayed for one night together with some other (I think working people) and had to share a bathroom, which was very old and had a dirty bathtube. None of the other "guests" obviously knew, how to use and clean the toilet. This was a really ugly experience. The sidebed for our son was uncomfortable and the furniture is old and the carpets are taped

at some parts. We had to pay 80 pounds per night - cash. We paid a very high price for this experience.

  • D Kong

  • April 2015

Abbeyfield Guesthouse

Very simple room.

No reception desk. Everything in the house is simple and old. It is not a proper hotel or guest house, in my opinion

  • Peter W

  • March 2015

Wouldn't go back.

Booked in with no issues but found a half drunk can of Stella on our wardrobe.

The shower was useless and barely got you damp let alone clean and the beds were uncomfortable. Would not come back.

  • Amy P

  • March 2015


Basic but clean.

I had several phone calls from the owner to check my time of arrival- which I had put on the internet booking at 10 pm. I was told I had to be there before ten as he was leaving. Then called again to check on me and told me at this point I could only pay in cash which delayed my arrival time having to wait in a long queue at the station, and then needed to get a taxi ( I had booked this accommodation as it was walking distance from the station) But felt rushed and was told be the owner to get a taxi to ensure I wasnt a minute late. When I arrived (before 10). I had to wait outside for him to travel to the guesthouse and let me in. He was perfectly pleasant. I had no other contact with any staff and let myself out the next morning. The room was very basic but clean. Bed not particularly comfortable. Shower was warm but very little power at all.

  • Sally Festing

  • February 2015

Pleasingly helpful

There was little finesse (light shades) but a pleasingly helpful and relaxed management.

  • R Sankey

  • February 2015

Owner needs to put up a sign to enforce quiet time so that other guests do not slam their bedroom door EVERY time they enter and exit their rooms.

This happened during my stay every every evening and every morning.

  • Emeric B

  • February 2015

nice value for money

The room was nice and clean.

The bathrooms were ok, clean enough. I appreciated the towels. The only drawback was the neighbours, I was welcomed by a host of nice but very loud guys and the guys in the next room went to bed really late and left early in the morning, which would have been ok with me if they hadn't been really loud and the sound insulation really poor. Good value for money though.


  • January 2015

Abbeyfield Guesthouse

I think there should be opportunity for breakfast.

At some periods of the day especially in the morning; dawn; it gets too cold in the rooms.

  • d humphries

  • October 2014

cheap and cheerful

Exactly as described and expected.

Good price, good location, much cheaper than others in similar walking distance.

  • Ivan Lim

  • September 2014


Good service