No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chelsea Guest House Hotel

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
372 Wandsworth Road , London, SW8 4TE
Our charming and contemporary Guest House is located close to the centre of London in SW8. Our rooms are available at budget prices however the accommodation on offer is of a high standard, with calm and relaxing décor throughout. Your comfort is of utmost importance to us and our excellent staff offer a warm and personal service, catering to your needs in order to ensure that your visit to London is everything it should be.

Please note Reception opening hours:
Mon-Sat: 24 hours (CHECK IN FROM 12.00)
Sun: from 15.00 (CHECK IN FROM15.00)

The guest rooms at Chelsea Guest House have been recently refurbished to a high standard. Each room is well appointed with en suite and an inviting and spacious interior, including luxury beds and televisions.

We cater not only for tourists on shopping or theatre breaks in London but also the professional businessman or businesswoman on a short or extended assignment, providing single, twin and double rooms, in addition to family suites.

LOCATION:
There is no other more conveniently located Guest House in this price range in all of London. We have excellent transport links with the centre with buses bound for the centre passing the Guest House every 3-5 minutes. In addition to this we are a very short walk away from an Overground station, offering quick links to Clapham Junction and East London. The Guest House also offers convenient access to the world famous music venue, the Brixton Academy which has hosted everyone from Bob Dylan to Madonna, to Faithless, Motorhead and the Mighty Boosh. We are also a short commute from the popular Clapham, the new ‘up and coming’ area of London with great restaurants, cool bars and impressive stores and boutiques.
Picture of Chelsea Guest House Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service and spotlessly clean!
I stayed in a single room for one night only. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was spotless. Bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage - a cupboard and a chest of drawers. Wi-Fi was excellent and free and available in all areas of the guest house including bedrooms. Would recommend to anyone looking for a short stay!

Reviewed by
Lynsey M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable no frills hotel
Easy to find & helpful staff no kettle in room, the actual accommodation is fine but the hotel is on a busy road next door to a McDonalds restaurant and train noise is heard. Wifi is free and breakfast can be obtained from a cafe just down the road but the food was not great and service sloppy so would recommend somewhere else!

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but nice
The accommodation was very basic, but that was what I expected for the price that I paid. The room was clean, although it was very hot in the room.

Reviewed by
Zoe W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we needed!
Great customer service, clean, reasonable sized room with modern and lovely bathroom. Tea, coffee, biscuits, hairdryer all provided in the room. Only negative would be the 2 thin pillows between 2 of us which were not comfy. That said, it was exactly what we needed for an inexpensive weekend away and much better than we were expecting for the price! Would definitely stay again! Short walk to Clapham North tube and the over ground is even closer so a really handy location too. Very happy!

Reviewed by
Alice H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price - can't fault it
Me and my boyfriend currently spent 2 nights at this hotel. I had read the previous reviews and really think some people moan for the sake of it!! Yes there is near by building works happening and yes the hotel is situated on a main road, but I can honestly say noise wasn't much of an issue. I was awoken in the morning due to cars/buses but I'm a light sleeper and nothing some ear plugs wouldn't sort out!! The bedrooms are basic - twin bed, wardrobe, tv and bathroom but it's what we paid for. We didn't expect 5* luxury rooms, but what we got were comfy clean beds and plenty of space. We didn't actually see/hear any other guests during our stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly and can direct you in any bus/train/tube you may need.
Location - was pretty good, we got the Northern line from kings cross to Vauxhall and then walked, it took us around 15/20 mins but for anyone with iPhones you should get the 'city mapper' app as it's amazing for getting anywhere in London. Alternatively you can get the 87/77 from the bus station which takes you right outside the hotel. I can't really say anything negative about this hotel. Our trip was a last minute decision and it was a reasonable price to pay which good links to Central London and also close to Clapham where we went for an amazing Italian !!!!
If like us, you only really need a room to sleep in and nothing else - than this is the place to stay. If your the kind of person that takes a picture of a faulty door handle and uploads it to trip advisor then this hotel isn't for you.

Overall a good hotel :)

Reviewed by
J Burke

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the nicer rooms for a London stay
Booked a superior triple was nicely surprised to be fair. The room looked fairly newly decorated was mostly clean except bathroom and cups nothing a good wipe round didn't sort although I'm sure if I had said something it would have been sorted as soon as possible. Not a great place if you want peace as on the edge of a busy road which stays busy 24/7 however we were so tired at night from being out all day did not affect us . Looks like whole place is being redecorated. We stayed here for a long weekend liked the hotel however was furthest from London center we had ever stayed and probably too far out for us to be honest although train station close by if it closes it can be a bit of a trek as we found out and would advise to study the tube/overground map if planning to stay here so as you can plan ahead. Or know what buses go where as when tube shut at midnight or just after the buses will be cheaper than a cab ride.. Beds were very comfy and room cleaned? And checked daily for towels etc. Would probably stay again if we were going for a longer break and could spread out our planned activities. Good budget hotel if your looking for a comfy bed and decent place to stay near London

Reviewed by
K Thorpe

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location and could not expect more for price
Hotel was a little run down but thirty five quid for a single room in central London you cannot really expect that much.
With London you have to lower your expectations then lower them again and you will not be disappointed :)

Reviewed by
P Miller

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised
On arriving our room wasn't what I was expecting after speaking to reception it was upgraded immediately for a very minimal charge...nothing was to much trouble & everyday bedding towels etc were changed..will definitely book this hotel again

Reviewed by
elaine a

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend for budget travellers
I found the hotel to be well presented, clean and tidy. It wasn't full of amenities but if you do not require them and are happy for something affordable and basic on a short tr budget stay then it is perfect.
The location is good with Wandsworth Road overground a 2 minute walk away and Clapham Common and Clapham High Streeth within walking distance.

Reviewed by
L Hodgson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and good value for basic need
This hotel is basic but provides good value as well. My needs are basic - sleep, shower and easy transport options, so it definitely met my needs and a very low price for London. At £35 for 1 night, you won't find that anywhere else for london.
It's very close to a train station, and maybe 20 mins to an underground station, but easily covered by bus routes.
For those who are picky, particular about standards and want quality, then this is not for you. If you want a place to rest your head, clean up, rest and explore the capital, then this provides good value for money. I will definitely use this again.

Reviewed by
Femi A

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next