No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chelsea Guest House Hotel

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
372 Wandsworth Road , London, SW8 4TE
Our charming and contemporary Guest House is located close to the centre of London in SW8. Our rooms are available at budget prices however the accommodation on offer is of a high standard, with calm and relaxing décor throughout. Your comfort is of utmost importance to us and our excellent staff offer a warm and personal service, catering to your needs in order to ensure that your visit to London is everything it should be.

Please note Reception opening hours:
Mon-Sat: 24 hours (CHECK IN FROM 12.00)
Sun: from 15.00 (CHECK IN FROM15.00)

The guest rooms at Chelsea Guest House have been recently refurbished to a high standard. Each room is well appointed with en suite and an inviting and spacious interior, including luxury beds and televisions.

We cater not only for tourists on shopping or theatre breaks in London but also the professional businessman or businesswoman on a short or extended assignment, providing single, twin and double rooms, in addition to family suites.

LOCATION:
There is no other more conveniently located Guest House in this price range in all of London. We have excellent transport links with the centre with buses bound for the centre passing the Guest House every 3-5 minutes. In addition to this we are a very short walk away from an Overground station, offering quick links to Clapham Junction and East London. The Guest House also offers convenient access to the world famous music venue, the Brixton Academy which has hosted everyone from Bob Dylan to Madonna, to Faithless, Motorhead and the Mighty Boosh. We are also a short commute from the popular Clapham, the new ‘up and coming’ area of London with great restaurants, cool bars and impressive stores and boutiques.
Picture of Chelsea Guest House Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Clean Business Friendly Hotel
One night stay, good and clean new refurbished room. Bit of a walk from Tube Station / Over Ground (at least 10-12 minutes).

Reviewed by
P Lad

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chelsea guest house
Good value, clean basic accommodation convenient for central London. Room was clean and had the essentials - towels, shower and comfortable bed. The rooms on the floor share a toilet, but that was also very clean. I would stay here again if I needed accommodation near to Battersea.

Reviewed by
Glyn H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brixton night out
For a night out in Brixton this hotel was great, only stayed one night, but the room was clean and comfortable with good beds. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Brixton Academy a half hour walk, past some good pubs on the way!

Reviewed by
M Sharman

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unexpected delight
This hotel is not, in my view, in the nicest part of town. And the stairway looks in need of a refit. But the important staff is excellent. I had a room on the second floor (no lift but not a problem, the receptionist offered to help me with my bag) which was clean, well furnished with a huge bed, small warderobe and desk and a small but clean and functional shower room. Best of all it was well lit (I hate dark rooms where I can only read under an inadequate light on the bed or in the bathroom) so I could read anywhere in the room. The free wifi worked fine. It doesn't do breakfast: I was offered a voucher for £5 to eat at a cafe but I preferred to eat at the office. They gave me a recommendation for a nearby restaurant but I am too big a wuss to walk around in the dark round there. I'd probably have gone for it in the summer. They gave me a leaflet for a local pizza place which delivered. The food was a little expensive but okay for one evening. I'm sure there were more choices: you could even go to the McDonald's next door. I slept well despite being in a room overlooking the main road. It was quiet though very brightly lit outside. The reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I don't often bother to write these reviews any more but this hotel deserves recognition.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in places
Good points was that the staff were very good, I had a room beside McDonalds so has free wifi. The room was fine and had a TV. Bad points was that the mattress was very worn and lumpy, only one pillow and not sure how clean the bed linen was.

Reviewed by
eamonn q

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget option
Third time I've stayed here, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and easy access to Central London. Quiet considering there's a drive thru Macdonalds right next door which is handy if you like that sort of thing!

Reviewed by
Neil S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accessible, comfortable, affordable
Stayed here for the 2nd time this year. Hotel staff are welcoming and very friendly and always available. The location of the hotel is good with the overground situated a couple of minutes walk away and buses running very frequent. If I was booking another break to London, this would definitely be my first choice.

Reviewed by
Z Richards

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
I was travelling to London for two nights and looking for somewhere inexpensive to stay. I found the Chelsea guest house fitted that criteria. After arriving late evening I was checked in by very friendly staff and was provided swiftly with the extra pillow I had requested.
I then set about preparing for the night. The shared toilet was very clean as was the room. However, I did not deem the shower at a satisfactory level of cleanliness as there was obvious grime between tiles and on the base of the shower.
The room was very basic, but I did not expect much more for a budget room. The single bed was adequate but obviously aged as the mattress creaked something terrible and sagged in places.
My room was also situated next to noisy neighbours which impeded on my nights sleep.
All in all though I would return as it was the standard I paid for and the staff was faultless!

Reviewed by
Fiona Church

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't normally write a review
I don't normally spend the time writing a review, but I found the staff very helpful in this hotel. It is basic but clean. I asked for a hairdryer and they supplied me with none. There was no tea and coffee in my room but I came back at around 12.30 and asked the reception if they could make me a cuppa and they bought a tray to my room with biscuits . They were also very helpful with travel and anything else I needed advice on. Cheap and cheerful is how I would describe. Location makes it easy to get around London too.

Reviewed by
maggie f

From Liphook, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good budget bed and breakfast with good connections to Westminster
I would definitely stay there again in appropriate future trip to London.

Reviewed by
Michael Kirby

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next