You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Edgbaston Palace Hotel

3

198-200 Hagley Road, Birmingham, B16 9PQ

Price From 84.94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (48)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Hamilton

  • August 2016

From sleepless to bliss...

I had a mixed experience staying at the Egbaston Palace Hotel in Birmingham last weekend.

The first night was spoiled by the constant humming of an extractor fan sat outside my room. The humming was incessant, resulting in no sleep that night. The following morning I reported this to the front desk staff on duty, who happily offered to have me relocated. As I was on my way out to enjoy the day in Birmingham, I relished the thought of catching up on restful sleep that night. After a full day and night in the city, I returned to changed accommodation and a welcome drift off into slumberland happened within minutes. Many thank to the courteous staff.

  • Craig A

  • July 2016

Had to pay twice without notification!

The amount for the hotel was debited from my account, I presumed this meant the hotel was paid for, when we arrived we were quite abruptly told by the manager on hand that the money taken was a 'pre-authorization' so we had to pay again, he further explained and if we didn't we couldn't stay and the funds wouldn't be released for 5 working days.

It was a very well rehearsed script. There is no notification of this at the time of booking or in any of the details. I didn't budget for this so we were left very short and it completely ruined our stay. I did eventually get the pre-authorization money back 2 weeks later. This shouldn't be allowed. Avoid like the plague!!!

  • K Porter

  • July 2016

Convenient stay

Good location, but beds are tiny!

  • Lorraine A

  • June 2016

Sparkling weekend

Booked as a last minute thing.

Easy to find. Lots of off road parking a beautiful old main building with lots of original features. The bar manager was a mind of local information and pointed out some great bars and restaurants in and around the jewelry quarter. We had a good room with everything we needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was good and well worth booking in advance. All in all s great weekend, will be visiting Birmingham again and hopefully will get on at The Edgbaston Palace Hotel.

  • C Davies

  • May 2016

The Edgbaston Palace Hotel

I would return to this hotel again, good late room choice.

  • L Jones

  • May 2016

Decent, comfortable accommodation

Decent, comfortable accommodation not too far out from the city centre

  • a paling

  • April 2016

Palace? 'I think not'.

I was accommodated in the Annex.

Noisy, tiny bed and the room smelt of cigarettes. £70.00 without breakfast (shocking)!

  • Emily P

  • April 2016

Great rooms - Reception Staff need to smile a bit more than the so mechanical facial expression

High class room, even better than we thought we could have when compared with the general outlook of the hotel.

One disappointment and embarrassment was when my sister in law who booked at the hotel opposite this one crossed over to see us and the staff rushed to stop my brother and sister in law to enter into our room telling them visitors are not allowed for guests. This inconvenienced me as my sister in law was to help me do my hair and make up in readiness for the function we were attending that evening.

When I asked a Receptionist the following morning when checking out she confirmed that the hotel doesn't allow guests to have visitors and she also confirmed that this was written in their conditions of occupancy. However, when we checked we couldn't find it written anywhere, unless it's for certain types of people like us and not others.

I still feel we need an explanation as another couple who stayed there said they had had visitors in their rooms.

Another point is that the Reception staff should be taught to smile and show a pleasant face as that's what makes guests feel welcomed more than the mechanical body language they portrayed. Except for the Ladies who waited on us at breakfast on the 17th April. Those two were superb and know Customer service.

  • T Jones

  • March 2016

Edgbaston Palace

Average quality, decent value for money.

  • Rachel H

  • March 2016

Great stay - exactly what we needed

Perfect room, had everything we needed.

Great location with loads of parking space. Very quiet so we had an excellent night's sleep. The staff were very friendly and helpful.